All member reviews for Fight Club

Common Sense Media says

Lurid, twisted, and violent. Not for kids.
 

Users say

(out of 76 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byscob October 27, 2009
 

I liked it.

I saw this when I was 14, and honestly I think it's one of the best movies out there. Only thing that bothered me when I first saw it was the unconventional sex.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byLiliElza26 March 18, 2011
 

Don't die without seeing this film.

I watched this film when I was 13 years old. The violence and other 'explicit' content didn't bother me, as the plot is brilliant and the messages are deep. Also, the acting is just mind-blowing. This is a film you can definitely quote from everyday.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byMarilynManson March 12, 2010
 

Awesome

This is one of my favorite movies. It made me want to live my life to the fullest.
Teen, 16 years old Written byjmikhail August 5, 2012
 

you DO NOT talk about fight club

No positive role models in this movie, sex, drugs, language, and violence. But all in all a freaking awesome movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn March 31, 2012
 

David Fincher's surreal cult classic is a definite no for children of all ages

David Fincher's Fight Club is as relevant, well made and undeniably entertaining as it was when it first came into theaters in October of 1999, where in pretty much polarized critics, made a meager box office earning and than fell from the grips of cinema goers. Until, that is, of course, it found new life on DVD and video, where over the years it developed and kept developing until it has become what it is today: A cult classic. But, it is not just a cult classic. That is only one word that you could use. There are so many other pones that you could use instead to explain it. For instance, one could say such words as: Masterpiece...Innovative...Clever...or, if you really just wanted to sum it all up, you could say that Fight Club is an american classic, and it also may be one of the strangest and most rebellious mainstream motion pictures ever made. David Fincher uses the characters of Brad Pitt and Edward Norton to his great and intensely devilish advantage, all the while keeping the chemistry savage and the volatility of the characters inept,until the very end, which still sends chills down my spine as we learn one of the most intricately clever twists I have ever seen in a movie. Add to that some very detailed and complicated visual effects, a great supporting cast, some awesomely brutal fight scenes, and even a few hidden surprises here and there, and you can tell that this is a movie pretty much genuinely manufactured to watch over and over again. But, with all of that being said, this film is Rated R, and barely. Honestly, it is actually rather surprising, when you look at all the content in the film, that this movie didn't score closer to a NC-17 Rating, but here goes: There is strong brutal bloody violence throughout the film, but also in many different forms, as well. There are dozens of graphic fight club sequences, with characters being brutally beaten to the point of incomprehension. Also, there is some very unnerving and disturbing psychotic, anti-social and terrorist behavior int h movie, from public beatings, to bombings, to secret missions to bring down companies, and even still, there is plenty of infamously explicit imagery involving several seriously twisted characters. Also, the sexual content is very strong here, with a extended sequence which allows us to overhear a couple having outrageously loud and crude intercourse, but, w also get to see some of this in a few quickly cut but also very explicit shots. And, probably the most infamous, and explicit of all, a extremely brief shot of a penis during the films last real, which has become something of a legend. Also, there is frequent drug use, with plenty of pill popping, medicating and prescribed drug using. And, finally, there is plenty of strong language throughout the film, which about 88 F-words and its derivatives, but milder words are also included here, including sh-t, hell, d-mn, g-dd-mn, pss, a--h-le, g-dd-mn, b-tch and more. So, after going through all of that, I really must say, Fight Club is one film that never ceases to amaze me. seriously, it really just get's better every time I watch it, so if you honestly haven't seen it yet, than definitely check it out. Reccomended.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 16, 2011
 

i rate this title IFFY for ages 15+

What to watch out for * Messages: The plot is pretty much an album of calculated, anti-social acts, from pointless brawls and hazing to impersonating leukemia victims and organized vandalism sprees, all explained as rebellion against a desolate consumer society. * Violence: Graphic hand-to-hand fighting. One character, judged uncommonly handsome, gets his faced brutally battered as a result. Extensive bombings of property. * Sex: A twisted love triangle, and so-called subliminal flashes of pornography in a subplot (if not in fact). Much talk of the breasts that grew on a male supporting character because of hormone treatment. * Language: Graphic expletives. * Consumerism: Not an issue. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Drunkenness and frequent smoking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 6 and 12 year old Written bySharkfit. April 11, 2011
 

18 and up.

Do not let your kids see this movie. It is a great movie But it's rated r for many good reasons. I saw it when I was in my 20's. 18 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byInception97 March 17, 2011
 

A perefect masterpiece, but definantly not for kids

Despite the movie being very violent, it has some strong messages about society and our lives. While some people say this is pointless violence, they're obviously not seeing the importance if this masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheCritic14 January 3, 2011
 

MUST WATCH!!!!

Teenagers are perfectly allowed to see this, but caution cause the sexuality is this film is a bit iffy (somewhat graphic sex scene) Besides that, a bit of language. The violence is very graphic (hence the title: Fight Club) If you want a smart film, watch this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byespngy15 October 24, 2010
 

Violent, food for thought for older teens

this movie is one of the best movies i have ever seen. by far brad pitt's best movie. it is super violent. it does not skip on the blood, if you dont mind blood and you can follow movie see this movie and read the book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byDaNosk August 18, 2010
 

A movie most loved by (mature) teens and young adults.

This is a movie that younger people can enjoy, but only if they understand that it is satirical. If your kid is the dumb, monkey-see, monkey-do type, then they are the targets of this film, and probably wouldn't enjoy it anyway.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bymshotstuff February 5, 2010
 

This Is A Man's Movie..

Once in a while you come across a film that can change the way you see your own place in life. Fight Club is that kind of movie. Ed Norton portrays a “nameless” character that almost every person watching can relate to. Brad Pitt makes the most of his character to its maximum potential with the guy that every male watching wishes he could be. The supporting cast is incredible, the film’s dark humor and grainy atmosphere sets the viewer in their world which strong resembles the one we live in. Every line that Brad Pitt’s character “Tyler Durden” voices makes worthy of an instant quote for years to come. Words cannot explain the power the movie hold and only all of your senses can take in this terrific masterpiece.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEntropy January 6, 2010
 
Great movie, amazing plot, and excellent execution. The Violence is actually not as bad as one would think, there is constant use of strong language, many sexual innuendos and references, some pretty bad nudity. Mostly it was just a brief flash, but there are a few sex scenes. I would recommend this for kids over 14.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009
 

funny bloody violence 16 over

the movie is okay cool fighting some parts and alot of funny parts truth is 16 and over because it has some scenes of nudity and bloody violence worth watching not worth buying
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... June 27, 2009
 
One o
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byhaithurmiranda May 20, 2009
 

Amazing movie, but difficult to understand at a young age.

I watched it first when I was 11, and loved the plot twist, and I watched it again when I was 13 and understood it much better. Performed the chemical burn scene with my best friend for my 8th grade graduation speech. The violence is symbolic for something much deeper than just being a "man" and as a girl, i enjoyed it more than most of my male friends. amazing movie. the sex isn't anything that 12 year olds haven't seen before (the internet, their friends even), and i'm kind of desensitized to violence in general. great movie... just, great movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written byAngelina98 May 1, 2014
 

A twisted masterpiece

It's definitely not for teens under 15.It has a deeper meaning and messages which can be easily misunderstood by young teens.It has a lot of graphic violence and swearing.In my opinion it's a masterpiece and it has an amazing twist ending.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymariyah97 January 6, 2014
 

16 years old

Great film, thought provoking and interesting concepts portrayed, but really no-one younger than 16 should see it; it could be disturbing for younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMostlysane June 23, 2013
 

Great FOR THE RIGHT AUDIENCE

While the movie was entertaining, I believe this movie would be difficult for teens (even older) to watch unless they are very mature. Obviously *SPOILERS* there is an abundance of violent fighting, but there is also sexual nudity of both males and females, loud off-screen sex, distorted on-screen sex, violent non-fighting acts such as arson/chemical burning/gun threats, morbid job of collecting human fat to make soap, and excessive swearing (including the F word, but I found this trivial among the other events). I disliked the main characters whimsically committing crimes. *END SPOILERS* Please, anyone looking for advice, read my review and wonder whether or not you or another viewer would be okay with viewing this. All this said, IT IS STILL a good movie for those who can handle it. It's very entertaining and thought provoking. But please, don't take teens 14 y/o or younger.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bysnubbrendan December 17, 2012
 

One of my favourite movies!

I'm 17 and I watched this film today. It truly is a fantastic film, and can be rewatched and rewatched, to great benefit and entertainment. It also benefits from intriguing philisophical debate, inspired by Frederick Nietzche and postmodernism, to do with our current society, and the values and virtues which we reward. It is a great choice of film for anyone who 1) can stomach some pretty gnarly violence and blood 2) is mature enough to appreciate the film for its underlying messages, which are not necessarily the views of the Narrator or Tyler.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages