Parent reviews for Fight Club

Common Sense says

Lurid, twisted, and violent movie has mature themes.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 50 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 98 reviews
Parent of a 10 and 13-year-old Written bySuperParent August 31, 2009

THIS MOVIE RULES!!!! HIS NAME IS ROBERT PAULSON!

Good beat em up film! with a suprising twist! it is quite violent and has few brief sex scenes and one really long one

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byMovie Man August 15, 2009

Spectacular Film with a Novel Twist, but Way Too Graphic and Disturbing for Under 16.

This is a fantastic film; one of my favorites. The performances were astoundingly good. The story was amazingly thourough. And the twist... oh man! Mind-blowing! Up there with spectacular twists like the ones in The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Identity, etc. I enormously reccommend this film to any movie fan!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bythefallen49 May 19, 2009

Super awesome!

I watched this movie when I was 12 and loved it. A few parts it was gruesome, and a brief sex scene. However the deep story and twist ending along with the brilliant characters make this one of my top 5 films.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written bycheyennex March 30, 2009

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14-year-old Written bythejokerspencil January 28, 2009

Graphic Dark Comedy is Entertaining

If you hate sex, violence, and language skip this one, if not enjoy yourself its pretty funny.
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byMr. Boxbox April 9, 2008
this would be ok for 13 and up. the worst part is the social behavior (which is very antisocial) and violence and language. sexual content is moderate and drug content is mild. for violence there are 2 graphic scenes.
Adult Written byYankeeman242003 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byquest13 April 9, 2008

Amazing but graphic in every way

Such a grea movie a twist and drama. WARNING THIS FILM IS NOT FOR KIDS I AM NOT JOKING. Sexual content not to bad we breifly glimpse a breast but is fuzzy so it's hard to catch. iolence brutal and graphic, males are repeatedley punched, tortured, and killed and all of them enjoy this "fight club". Langauge is explicit filled with inneundos, f words, and others. Ending I won't spoil but amazing plot a must see but the ending you can't tell if it's good or bad so 15 and under won't undersand and will most likely think bad wins so very very bad message.
Adult Written bycinemaniac April 9, 2008
Adult Written bybroadwaybaby April 9, 2008

Brilliance, if it floats your boat.

The book was fantastic on its own, and the movie Fight Club simply wraps both up into a nice soapy and satirical package. If the acting, the philosophy, and the infamous ending plot twist aren't enough to get you snared into this story, then there's always the flashes of Tyler (the deranged political activist of this story) and his pornography, the very original music, and even Ikea tables to reign you back in.

Needless to say, this flick isn't for kids, unless you know them well enough. I first saw it at thirteen, and, not being easily shocked, got a grasp of the philosophy quickly enough and was able to look past the flashes of porn and the swearing and drinking and smoking and even the twisted characters to understand what was behind it.

So, if your kids are more intellectual and you don't mind them seeing things such as this and think they're mature enough to handle it, then go ahead. It all, of course, depends upon personal opinion, but this movie is rated R for a reason, is all I'm saying.

It's a thoroughly enjoyable movie, and don't let the title deceive you: this fight club is more than the usual testosterone battle that you'd expect - it's a whole world of testicular cancer, beautiful and unique snowflakes, and, of course, soap.

Pages