All member reviews for First Blood

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymetalhead867 November 13, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

just the swearing.

the violence isn't too bad. only one person gets killed, but many injured. the only issue is the language. there are about 4 f--ks. but if you don't mind some violence and swearing then check this movie out.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 26, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

awesome

Let me set you strait, First blood is fine for 13+ you can handle a little blood. First of all, Rambo never kills directly, so there is only one death, second of all there is no gore other than a bloody corpse and a bullet wound, and third, the language isn't horrible (though there are some F-words) That's all i have to say.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 6, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for Action-lovers

A decent movie. Lots of entertaining action. I would recommend this to action lovers. Suggested MPAA rating: R for strong violence including some torture, language and brief partial nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 June 1, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Very sad movie, made me cry a little bit. On for ages 14+.

I thought this movie was OK, but it got very sad towards the end. The violence is nothing compared to many other movies, but it still might be enough to bother children. Heck, this movie might have been rated PG-13 today if not for the F words. There is also a bare butt shot of rambo.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy January 18, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Rambo's first movie

First blood isn't as violent as common sense makes it out to be, there is only 1 particularly bloody and graphic scene, and Rambo really doesn't kill many people. If you don't have a problem with the excessive swearing, than this should be a good pick for 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustin1312 July 31, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

ITS NEVER OVER!

This movie is not like the other Rambo movies, this one has Rambo getting arrested by a town sherif for a bad reason, getting abused, escaping, and having a war with the cops where only one dies. The movie has a bit of swearing with a couple F-bombs, Typical action violence that is not very gory at all, and can be quite emotional at times. The movie has good characters and dialogue with just enough action that isn't too grisly to keep you entertained. Kids 11 and up should be able to handle this movie alright. The most bloodiest scene is when John has a flashback to Vietnam where a Viet-cong soldier slices at his chest with a knife, but that's as far as it goes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 4, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

first blood

this movie is full of action that a 10 yr old con handle
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byfilm geek March 2, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A great movie but I wouldn't recommend for anyone under 13

I love this movie with a passion. I never really used to watch action movies but I just think First Blood is brilliant. Swearing and violence is constantly used through out the movie in means of letting out aggression. In all honesty, I saw this movie when I was 12 with my dad and he was fine with it but I know plenty of parents who would never let their kids see it until they were at least 15 so it really depends on what you let your kids watch. In conclusion, great movie but very violent. I highly reccomend it if its your type of movie though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byliam17623 August 19, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

totally fine not as bad as newer pg 13 movies

ok look, this movie has basically 2 understandable f-bombs. practically all of these "newer" pg 13 movies have about 2. its NOT a movie just for 14 year olds, this movie is appropriate for a twelve year old. there is one nasty part where rambo knocks a cop out of a plane with a rock and it is shown what h looks like. that parts bloody. but everything else i fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymiles12345677A. June 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

one of the best action movies

A very good movie. The language is rough, but for R the violence isn't bad (a flash back is seen a couple times were Rambo is cut with a knife resulting in some blood, a police officer is injured by a device resembling a bear trap, Rambo is shot once later he removes the bullet; no gore but some blood, Rambo shoots at some police officers and blows up a building; but never kills, numerous attempts are made on Rambo's life. This movie does not really promote violence, and it shows the brutal effects of war.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byChicken100 April 8, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

rambo is epic!

this is an amazing movie and one of the best of it's time. the violence isn't that bad but there is language including the f word but just mute it at certain times.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byStrategist101 April 3, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

First Blood

A well-made movie with good actors, a good story, and good characters. Violence is an issue, although Rambo doesn't ever officially kill anybody. Profanity is only used by the "Bad-Guys" and once by Rambo's former commanding officer. One shot of Rambo from behind which shows his backside while he is being sprayed down by a high-power water hose.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag December 31, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

First Rambo is impressive, with a message. Too intense for younger viewers.

"First Blood" is a post-vietnam drama released in 1982, and the first movie of the "Rambo" franchise. --------------------------------- Even though many people believe that "First Blood" is a pro-vietnam action flick, you need to know that this is a false fact. People who say this are most likely talking about the more infamous sequels, both of which are a complete contrast to the original. If you watch this first installment, you will find a drama about a traumatized man who simply couldn't handle what he experienced in vietnam. Basically, viewers expecting a right-hand pro-war action movie will get quite the opposite. Yes, there are action-ish scenes as well, but overall, it is a thoughtful and gentle look at a vietnam veteran's attempt to escape his traumatic experiences he had. You can tell that Ted Kotcheff really did everything to make this movie a good one. Also, Sylvester Stallone, though being quiet for most of the movie, gives a terrific performance once he starts talking, proving he IS a good actor, even though being known for mostly playing uninteresting roles. Overall, "First Blood" is a well-made, thoughtful drama and should not be confused with its uninspired, war-fetishizing sequels. -------------------------- (SPOILERS may follow:) There are some intense, violent scenes including one bloody corpse that is seen after a helicopter crashed into some rocks. There is a scene involving a graphic injury being stitched up. There are shootouts and spearings. Rambo slits some officers with a knife. Police dogs are shot, but off-screen. In a flashback, Rambo is tortured by being slit with a knife (there is some blood). Overall, the violence is not even that strong. There is one disturbing dialogue between Rambo and a soldier, involving Rambo to tell how Vietnam was and how friends of him died, including VERY detailed discription. There are 10 uses of the f-word and some milder profanity. Comparing this movie to other action movies of that period of time, like "The Termiantor" or "Aliens", the violence in "First Blood" is more graphic, more serious. It is not even that action-like, it feels more realistic and can be too much for some. But since the violence does not dwell on too much detail, older teenagers around 14 will be able to handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bynikkimonster89 September 2, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

very good but there is somethings to know before hand :)

hello i am an11 year old and personally loved the movie but it could be too graphic to some children. even though i am 11... i still would recomend this for mature 12 yr olds and up. the viewers must be able to handle violence and some cruel language. other wise it is very good. be prepared to explain to your child because it can be kind of confusing at some points hoppe this helped :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byleviticus923 July 9, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not that Bad

Even Though it is ver violent, there are still PG-13 Movies nowadays that are more violent than this movie. But still really great film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 30, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

best rambo

First and best rambo
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 22, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT

I love this movie.
Teen, 14 years old Written byquickbuild2345 February 29, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Solid action movie with a little too much language.

This is a good action movie with a fairly unique plot and a nice cast. Violence: a man falls out of a helicopter and we see his mangled body. Some men are injured when they are shot in the knees, but it is hard to see because it is dark. There are some explosions and hand-to-hand combat scenes. Sex: we see Rambo's rear for a few seconds. Language: about a dozen f-words and at least that many of the rest: "s**t," "h**l," "d**n," "b**ch," and more.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. February 20, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Sylvester Stallone action not for younger kids.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

not bad!

not bad really.yes its rambo but not bad

Pages