All member reviews for Flight

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Excellent but mature drama about alcoholic airline pilot.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 6 year old Written by2Eboys November 4, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Great movie for adults, NOT FOR KIDS OR TEENS!

Nearly excellent movie for ADULTS. Zemeckis made a timely, plausible movie presenting multi-layered ethical dilemmas. In the opening sequence you are introduced to Whip, the main character, as he is waking up from a night of binge drinking, drugs and sex.There is full frontal female nudity for 10 seconds or more and strong curse words from the get-go. We had two kids sitting near us in the movie theater. One was probably 8-10 and the other was 10-12. The mom of the older child was trying to cover his eyes for the first two minutes of the movie and the younger child was in his parent's lap after the extremely intense plane crash scene, which almost had me in tears. I heard the boy say to the mom, "What would happen to us if we were on that plane?" The crash is too intense for kids and even teens. The ethical issues are way above children's heads and too thick for teens to understand without several discussions before and after the movie. I do not recommend this for families unless your children are grown and about to head off to college, where they will face decisions about drinking and its consequences on their own.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byTeenBoyzDad November 3, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for kids, but excellent.

The opening scene depicts full nudity of a gorgeous young lady, several times. If you can get your son to wear a blindfold for the first 5 minutes, the rest is OK for 15 and up. The movie provides good conversation fodder about alcoholism and drug addiction.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNoprudehere November 22, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

"Flight" crashed for our group

The previews for this movie are deceptive, to say the least. We went in expecting an exciting adventure/courtroom drama centered around a heroic pilot a la "Sully" Sullenberger of Hudson River fame. Were we ever wrong. The movie opens with a good five minutes of a totally nude woman prancing around a bedroom, bending over and exposing her rear end to the Denzel Washington character, and audibly urinating. It includes scenes of "morning after" drinking and coke snorting. (I couldn't stop wondering how Denzel Washington's wife feels about her husband appearing in scenes like this.) The action then switches to a female addict who is being pressured to appear in a porn film; explicit sexual activity is visible in the background. I don't know if the movie improved after this point because we left. The movie should have been rated NC-17, IMO. It was absolutely unnecessary to include the gratuitous nudity and sexual content in order to get across the point that the Washington character is morally challenged and substance dependent. Upon returning home I read several reviews of the movie - I should have done this first, but on second thought, none of them would have adequately prepared me for what I saw. I discovered that the main theme of the movie is addiction. I sure wish the trailers and TV ads had made this clear before I wasted part of an afternoon. At least the theater was gracious in returning our money - apparently we were not the first group who had walked out.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFamilyofSix February 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Good movie, but for adults only

Unfortunately the film opens with full frontal nudity... not just a glimpse ... you can see EVERYTHING for quite a while. There's also lots of drunkenness, drug use, language, etc. As an adult, I found the plot to be interesting and very different from the average thriller. The story was a realistic depiction of a tragic situation. If it wasn't for the nudity, I'd probably overlook some of the other stuff and let my older teens watch it so they can see the damage that drugs and alcohol does. But, as it is, the "R" rating is correct, and I'd say leave this for those that are 18+.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMomofboyz November 13, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Well done but watch out!

Without spoiling the plot: families need to know that this is a lifestyle movie. It shows how far down a functioning alcoholic & drug reliant person has to fall before they may (or may not) look for help to get back up. This is shown in EVERY aspect. Sex (prolonged nudity), drugs (cocaine & pot) and alcohol. Smoking and the F bomb are as prevalent as breathing. That being said, it is as well done, if not better than, "Bar Fly" of the 1980s. Not appropriate for young children or anyone who is depressed!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovie loving teen November 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

A Gripping But Very Mature Drama.

This is one of the best movies of the year so far. The main reason this is not for kids is that the very begging has nudity. But throughout the movie the character is seen drinking and snorting cocaine. It had alot of bad language too.But a must see for adults.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byJohn Sleknavik February 3, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

TWO WORDS: DENZEL WASHINGTON

Brilliant performances, pacing, directing, writing, and virtually everything. However, graphic and shocking uses of drugs, full frontal nudity, dark themes, bad role models, make this movie hard to watch. Though sometimes hilarious, it is also a movie that will amaze all who are mature enough to watch it. There is a silver lining though: I'm never doing drugs after watching this movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 18, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

"Flight" elevates its materials!

"Flight" is a mature movie for sure. I wasn't expecting exactly what to expect from Zemeckis, who did the gorgeous "Beowulf" and "Polar Express" and of course the beloved "Forrest Gump," you can't say the man doesn't pick his projects with great diversity. Anchored by the beaten-down, booze-soaked Washington in another great role fit for an actor of his caliber, he's hoisted up by colorful characters from the likes of John Goodman, the beautiful Kelly Reilly and James Badge Dale as a cancer patient. The script is tight, and the opening sequence is especially heart pounding. CSM is right: it's Hollywood 100%, but this is no throw away Oscar bait flick.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 June 10, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Flight is very well made

Flight is a good movie. It is funny and intense. You'll need a suspension of disbelief but you'll be into it. It is not like a lot of other movies but I still enjoyed it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 27, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

FLIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great film! Includes a lot of drugs and alcohol, but nothing you cant see. On the edge of your seat drama, and graphics. Outstanding film.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written bycupcakestudio February 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

A terrible movie

We watched this movie last night with our 15 year old son. It's terrible! Shame on you, Denzel. From the opening shot of the completely nude woman, all the way through the scenes of up close and personal drug use, this movie is not even for 'mature' teens. While it does have a positive ending, it's a day late and a dollar short. Don't waste your two hours.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykoujokakyuu November 5, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great film for adults

I chose to review this film on Common Sense Media because no matter how clearly adult-oriented films are, I always see parents dragging their kids into theaters. Then there's always the tricky teen viewing decisions. This film is definitely not for children. In fact, good luck ever taking one on a plane if they see this movie. The crash landing was very intense! Older teens could probably watch the film with you if you are all right with nudity, language, death and destruction, and are really prepared to discuss alcohol/substance addiction. Our main character is really put through the wringer. I feel that the film glamorized the drug use a little, even as it hit us over the head with the difficulties people face overcoming their addictions. I loved the music throughout the film (the elevator music is AWESOME). The acting was superb. I really liked how the film portrayed people of different racial backgrounds interacting respectfully. I especially enjoyed Tamara Tunie, although I wish we would have seen more of her.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew February 15, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Emotional drama has lots of violence and drugs

My rating:R for violence,language,drug use and some sexuality
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Cheap Seats June 20, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

From the Academy Award Winning Director of "Forrest Gump"

Flight is one of the year's best and is fueled by the performances. It really is a character study, wrapped by this tragic event. You care for Denzel Washington's character and it's frustrating to see him fall back into his drinking and drugs when he keeps trying to sober up. A large amount of this movie is Denzel's character, Whip, drinking and sometimes snorting cocaine. There are a few instances of nudity and one character is a prostitute. Flight has its share of the f-words among other profanities and the plane crash scene is intense and leaves people bloody. There is also a lack of positive role models and good choices made by almost every character. A-.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byLSU Mom March 3, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

For Adults, Not for Kids or Teens

Very realistic portrayal of a functioning alcoholic/addict (more than one scene snorting coke). Movie opens with nudity, language, and pot-smoking; language, drug and alcohol use continues throughout. Those big considerations aside, this movie is very worthwhile for adults. The most interesting aspect of the story may be how a "miracle landing" of a doomed aircraft is viewed with a vast difference when the pilot is both drunk and high, albeit also highly functioning. Imagine if Capt. "Sully" had landed as beautifully as he did on the Hudson; then it was later learned that he had done so under the influence. The miracle truly becomes a miracle, some might say (I would)-- or not. It's an interesting thought process the movie takes you through. Must-see performance by Denzel Washington. John Goodman knocks his role out of the park, as usual.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byStevie111 March 1, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Blah drama dissapoints

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodreviews101 January 12, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing!!!!!

This is a nearly flawless movie. I wanted to see it for a long time and my parents agreed to let me see it. The plane crash was actually not as intense as I was expecting it to be. The part where someone shoots heroin is probably the most intense part of the movie. The drinking was not really a problem. The drugs were sometimes graphic, but not too bad. This film has a positive message about learning from your mistakes. Whip actually becomes a good role model at the end of the film. I think this is a great choice for teens who can handle the drinking and drugs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMovie Kids Count January 5, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing movie, but not appropriate for most tweens and early teens

This movie about a damaged hero starring Denzel Washington is amazing, yet inappropriate for children under 15. Violence is a minor concern, as the flight crash sequence could be intense for some kids, but it wasn't that bad. Sex is a concern though. Even though no acts were shown, the opening sequence featured Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington)'s girlfriend completely naked, and full frontal and rear nudity is shown for about a minute or two, but the scene is dimly lit. Language is also a bit of a problem, as there are many uses of the F word, some S words, D ect. Even though the makers of the movie intended for no commercialism to be shown by only showing alcoholic beverages once, brands are on display including Budweiser, Corona, Smirnoff, etc. The main concern of the movie is alcohol and drug use. The main character is an alcoholic and drug addict, and is shown heavily drinking in which he is portrayed as drunk and he is occasionaly passed out. Then the drug use is horrible because they show the main character snorting cocaine and smoking cigarettes many times. Then a female character in a brutal scene is shown injecting herself with heroin, in which she overdoses and passes out sending her to the hospital. This is an excellent movie though, and should be viewed by everyone that it's appropriate for.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written bycitabriajohn December 19, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Gargling with broken glass would be more enjoyable than this movie!

Stay Away! Worst movie ever made. Offensive to God, Women, and Christians. Awful. Waste of money.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byembeau November 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Life out of control

I work in the airline industry so the movie resonated with me. The themes of drugs, alcohol, sex and a life out of control should be reserved for adults only. The crash scenes are realistic-so much so, that I have had the movie on my mind for days. Denzel is fantastic, so is Don Cheadle. A film worth seeing for the character study and redemption.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages