All member reviews for Forrest Gump

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 136 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bywhyhellomister144 February 23, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all/most teens....fantastic overall :)

Okay, I'm going to start on a positive note; this is one of the GREATEST movies of the '90s, maybe of all time :) Everything about it is great; I don't even need to name the specifics. That being said, my parents didn't let me see it until I was 11, and even then I didn't get some of the content (ex, AIDS, what's that white powdery stuff on the mirror?, the strippers, etc...) that I got later. But if your kid gets that stuff and isn't too sensitive...they're sure to fall in love with it :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump

I loved this movie when I saw it for the first time with my 11 year old cousin and her friends, but I had some concerns. Morgane (my cousin) is the type who askes questions about romance and other topics she's too young for, and being the eldest of the group, I didnt know how to answer. By the way, THIS MOVIE RULES!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byuhya May 30, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

excellent , but sad and has sex.

very good, but there's war violence, sex and language.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byBrown Norway August 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

skip the sex scenes

My 12 year old daughter liked this movie alot and found it funny and heart warming. I had forgotten how much sex is in this, between troubled Jenny, porn magazine, and prostitues with Lt. Dan. I watched with my kid, and skiped over those parts that things I'm not ready to have her see.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bySinfoniarc August 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Life Is Like A Box Of Chocolates...If You're Old Enough To Understand

Forrest Gump is a great commentary on American life from the 1950s-1980s. You can easily take a tour of history through the people that Forrest encounters (Elvis, JFK, LBJ, Black Panthers, etc.) and events (Vietnam, Attempted Ford assassination, invention of Apple Computers, etc.). I question whether or not even a 13 year-old will fully get this movie as they may or may not know about some of the events that take place. Having said that, because Forrest is such an affable character and has such a true love for Jenny, even an 11 year-old will find this movie fun to watch. If there are any disturbing scenes in this movie, you can easily imagine as to what they are--the suggested abuse Jenny gets from her father (even thought it doesn't show anything), Forrest's encounter with the Black Panthers and former Alabama Governor Wallace (the N---word IS used), and the violent war scenes from Vietnam. Forrest is a great friend and has the most pure and innocent love one can imagine. Good values children can take away are things like: the value of friendships, the value of true love, respecting one's parents and elders, serving our country, nobody likes to be teased, and to treat others like you would want to be treated.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byMovie Man December 11, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

An Excellent Achievement! Bravo!

This is a brilliant film and a wonderful achievement! Tom Hanks is absolutely awesome as Forrest Gump. PARENTS: In my opinion, I believe this should have been rated R for War Violence and Images, Sexuality, brief Nudity, Language, and some Drug Use. It contains particularly graphic war violence and peril, frequent sexual themes, nudity, language, and some strong depictions of drug use. Despite it's violent and sexual content, it is a beautiful movie, and it should be viewed by everyone at some point. Thanks for reading - Movie Man
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMal1960 July 4, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A great movie, but not for young teens

What the Common Sense review does not mention is an early scene in which Forrest's mother has sex with the school principal to get Forrest into public school, and Forrest hears plenty of noise from the principal while that's happening. Also, the "foreplay" scene is not appropriate for young teens or children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

simply horrible!

I don't know why anyone would want to watch this a second time! It pokes fun at mentally challenged people and isn't humorous in the least. Certainly not for children.
Kid, 10 years old August 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Recommend for mature teens

This movie was a masterpiece. Tom Hanks played a good role as Forrest. Parents should be warned that the there is some inappropriate content like drug use/smoking (I remember there are several scenes of smoking and one of scene of cocaine use)sexuality and curse words that should not be used like the f word, the s word and the d word is used too many times and I was suprised by the racial remarks on African Americans. overall,it was a good movie and deserved to be awarded for best piture. Thank you for reading my review.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague December 14, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump

A moving, powerful, and funny movie the whole family will charish for years and years to come. Tom Hank's greatest role ever played in his acting carrer by far.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieFreak101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

"Run Forrest, Run!"

He certently did! This flim is just to good for words. Tom Hanks acting was god-like. So was Gary Sinese! (Sp?) Goodness me, He was brilliant. Cheated out of the Oscars. Best supporting acting i've seen. Ever. When I say, "Life is a box of chocletes" every looks at me and nods. And the people who don't need to taste the choceletes for themselevs! Magic.....pure magic. Best Wishes, MovieFreak101 This movie is ok for: 11+
Adult Written bykerriokie April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Movie Full of Great Lessons and Great Acting

I was sad to see the negative adult reviews on this movie. No, it is definitely not for young children. I watched the edited television version with my 10-year-old and talked to her about what we were seeing as we went; but I won't let her watch the unedited DVD. That being said, I think 14-year-olds and up can learn a lot from seeing this with their parents. It addresses issues from drugs to sex to war to people who are mentally challenged in a compassionate, (movie)-realistic way. What a great starting point for a talk with my son!
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 April 24, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Beautiful tale of love and adventure

I absolutely love this film that I viewed in my world history class!!! It is so intersting, sad, sweet, and funny. Even though it is so good, there is ALOT OF INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT FOR A PG-13! CONTENT: Violence- war scenes depict bloody and graphic deaths, people's legs are blown off and they are insinetated. People die in sad ways. A father physically and sexually abuses his daughters. Sex- a young girl is sexually abused as a child, a mom has sex with a man in order to get her son into school(sexually explicit sounds are heard from the bedroom), a woman takes off her bra and places a mans hands on her breast(the sides of her breats are seen and he stutters and it is heavily implied he had an erection and later an orgasm), a woman performs in a club and sings with a guitar naked(she is cover by the guitar, but is seen from the back and her rear in a thong is seen and then she storms away and you can see a distant shot of her naked breats), a porn magazine features bare breats for a brief second, a woman is shown to have slept with many men, a man and a woman have sex. Language- scattered uses of damn, he'll, shit, bitch, Bastard, and more. A character says "f**king Vietnam" and a couple of muffled f-bombs are heard. Drugs- a woman take cocain in one breif scene MY RATING: PG-13/ for thematic material, war violence, nudity, sexual material, langauge, and brief drug use
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written by3rdPersonPerspective March 22, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A beautiful masterpiece and must-see

Forrest Gump is indubitably a film that should be seen by all people. Tom Hanks delivers his incredible Oscar-winning performance as a simple man who sees the world for what it is. He narrates the audience through the major events of the late 20th century, giving new perspective to each. However, the content is a little mature. While there is no explicit nudity, multiple sex scenes permeate the film and a character contracts AIDS. Violence, too, appears, mostly through the war in Vietnam, although it remains fairly tame, never lingering or becoming too graphic. Cocaine is briefly shown and snorted. There is one very forceful F word, and multiple uses of the S word. On the whole, the film stays within the parameters of a PG-13 movie, and the overarching themes are very redemptive. It is one of my favorite movies of all time.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written byedklat August 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 15, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Greatest movie ever!

I thought it was an excellent movie, despite infrequent sex content, a great deal of drug usage, language, and gorey war violence in the vietnam scene, its a great movie with good messages and positive role models. I wouldnt let kids under 7 see it, 7-10 is your decision, 11 and above is a-ok. Also some parts are very emotional such as when bubba dies in battle, forrest mom dies, jenny attempts suicide and later dies because of a virus. And there is foreplay in the movie along with stripping, and making love. There is also a great deal of war violence. Other than that a great movie, go see it!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieGuy23 June 13, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump is a lovely masterpiece.

Forrest Gump is the moving tale of a simpe-minded man who floats through life much like a feather. The movie ingeniously combines satire and melodrama into a seriocomical film that is hard to beat. Hanks gives the performance of a lifetime and Gary Sinise and Sally Field are just as admirable. Note to parents: The movie, although the characters are admirable and the messages are strong, still contains a good amount of content. There are sequences of war violence, a strip club scene, partial nudity, and a reference to an abusive father "touching" his young daughter. If teens can handle it, be prepared to be swept away by one of the sweetest films ever made.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bykelsey805 April 18, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good movie but way to much language......

ok so i LOVE this movie and all but the thing is, it has a lot of language as well as some sexual content, i wouldn't suggest this for younger kids (unless you have a censored version or whatever) but other than that it's amazing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 21, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
i watched this movie because my dad kept telling how good it was. so i watched one day and i loved it. i would watch it again.it was funny but also sad. i cried in it.very interesting. lots of people at my school like it too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 28, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

More for 11,mabey 12+

I Love this movie ! Tom Hanks Is a great actor. It has alot of Drugs, which is not my biggest conserne. I dont like the laungeuge at all and I dont like the sex realated stuff in the movie. I think Forest Gump(Tom Hanks) is a great role model,has positive highlights but dose to much to get Jenny(Robin Wright).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models

Pages