All member reviews for Forrest Gump

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 110 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Movie about Forrest Gump, on the first look stupid man

I saw this movie for the first time when I was about 4 or 5. It's great, through there is some blood and explosions in the part with the war in Vietnam. Every kid thought the Forrest is too stupid and they loved to provocate him. But when he grew up, he showed that he IS clever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 5, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great for ages +8

OMG LOVED IT! Forrst is a good role model, not good GREAT. He may be stupid but he never stop for what he goes for. the move does not show anything of sex and is the on my top 3 movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byHaydimi July 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Run, Forrest, run!

This is a must see. I cried at the end of this; it was so touching. Jenny is a stripper and takes drugs and talks about suicide. No nudity, but she is naked but never on camera. One make love scene, several more kiss scenes. A little bit of profanity. Forrest goes to war so suggestive violence. SEE THIS MOVIE! Minus the negative choices Jenny makes, any age could see it with parental monitoring.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bychrisissocooldude July 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

spectacular

very amazing classic. super enjoyable. Rated PG-13 for language, some drug use, sexual material, graphic images, violence, and a bloody war scene.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bymongofa July 15, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This movie is great! I love Tom Hanks. It was a bit iffy for PG-13 but it was not worthy of an R rating either.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best Movie Ever!!!!!!

This might be the best Tom Hanks movie ever. The part when Jenny was singing on stage naked was inappropriate. Also when Jenny and Forrest were getting it on in the bed.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bybobbeta30 June 10, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

..................................

I'm watching this movie as I type this, and the thing that disturbed me most was what Jenny's father did to his daughters. : (
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byasam May 26, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

no little kids

THE BEST MOVIE EVER. too mutch for little kids. (ages 12+)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlinaW. May 20, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A definete must-see!!

This is a fabulous movie, one of my favourites of all time, and that's saying a lot! It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me feel the character's pain, especially Tom Hanks' exceptional performance as Forrest! Some of the stuff, like drugs, drinking, and adult-like things like strippers might be inapproprite for younger kids, OR they might just not get it, but they probably will ask questions like "What's AIDS? What's that white stuff on the mirror?". I at 12 was mature enough to handle it though, so consider it for mature tweens and teens. Overall, good prevails the bad stuff in this movie, making it a must see for everyone!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

I saw this movie a few months ago. (It might have been when I was 11) I was a bit worried at first, but after watching it I absoulutly loved it. There are many places where Jenny does drugs. Also many places with smoking and drinking. I am not as concerned with sexual behavior knowing it is only in a few scenes. You simply can just cover your eyes if you feel it is to graphic. Violence is a bit graphic, but I could watch it. Again if you feel it is to graphic cover your eyes. I suggest this movie for mature pre teens or 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 1, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

awesome!!

AWESOME!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for teens

It's a family movie just some things the vitianam war the relationship between Jenny and Forest and heavy language including the four letter word two times
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old December 1, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

very good!!!

i love it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Tweens and u[

I loved this movie. It tells a great story with some good role models. But L. Dan is a alcholic so he is drunk at times. F--k is used twice.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymarisa444 November 28, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER!

OMG i thought this was one of THE BEST movies ive seen... I cried when Bubble and Jenny dies (and momma) but it showed how great a mentally disabled person can be and how great their lives can be if they are like Forrest. The only semi-bad parts were when Jenny has Forrest feel her boobs and he says he feels dizzy, and when she shoots up grugs , but other than that...GREAT MOVIE and you have to see it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byanimerulz112 November 21, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
i cried when mamma, bubba and jenny died, but it was a verry funny and smart movie. forest gump is not stupid, he is smart. i like the historical aspect of the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPoison Ivey October 10, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Entertaining!

I was really impressed by how good this movie was. Everything fit together so nicely. I watched it three times in my life, and I still cry at the ending every time I watch it. There is one violent war scene. Lots of language. And there is some sex but I'd say anyone over 11 can and SHOULD see it. I can't believe I waited so long of seeing it on the shelves before fianlly picking it up! A must see.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It didn't win 6 academies for nothing! Forrest Gump is a touching film of a mentally retarted child telling his stories to whoever will listen. Susprisingly good, this movie contains sex scenes, themes children won't understand, and copes with death. However, kids will love it, and there is also a very important lesson to be learnt. A must see!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr581 July 27, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 18, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models

Pages