All member reviews for Forrest Gump

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 133 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great

Good for kids 12+
Adult Written byOr April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 April 24, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Beautiful tale of love and adventure

I absolutely love this film that I viewed in my world history class!!! It is so intersting, sad, sweet, and funny. Even though it is so good, there is ALOT OF INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT FOR A PG-13! CONTENT: Violence- war scenes depict bloody and graphic deaths, people's legs are blown off and they are insinetated. People die in sad ways. A father physically and sexually abuses his daughters. Sex- a young girl is sexually abused as a child, a mom has sex with a man in order to get her son into school(sexually explicit sounds are heard from the bedroom), a woman takes off her bra and places a mans hands on her breast(the sides of her breats are seen and he stutters and it is heavily implied he had an erection and later an orgasm), a woman performs in a club and sings with a guitar naked(she is cover by the guitar, but is seen from the back and her rear in a thong is seen and then she storms away and you can see a distant shot of her naked breats), a porn magazine features bare breats for a brief second, a woman is shown to have slept with many men, a man and a woman have sex. Language- scattered uses of damn, he'll, shit, bitch, Bastard, and more. A character says "f**king Vietnam" and a couple of muffled f-bombs are heard. Drugs- a woman take cocain in one breif scene MY RATING: PG-13/ for thematic material, war violence, nudity, sexual material, langauge, and brief drug use
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written by3rdPersonPerspective March 22, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A beautiful masterpiece and must-see

Forrest Gump is indubitably a film that should be seen by all people. Tom Hanks delivers his incredible Oscar-winning performance as a simple man who sees the world for what it is. He narrates the audience through the major events of the late 20th century, giving new perspective to each. However, the content is a little mature. While there is no explicit nudity, multiple sex scenes permeate the film and a character contracts AIDS. Violence, too, appears, mostly through the war in Vietnam, although it remains fairly tame, never lingering or becoming too graphic. Cocaine is briefly shown and snorted. There is one very forceful F word, and multiple uses of the S word. On the whole, the film stays within the parameters of a PG-13 movie, and the overarching themes are very redemptive. It is one of my favorite movies of all time.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bysarahlayhay March 20, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing movie

Appropriate for mature tweens and older. Really good movie, shows different parts of history in the 60s,70s,80s. There are some sexual scenes and at one point one of the main characters is addicted to drugs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFathomT February 16, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny moments, still stunning effects, great cast save overrated movie

Leading up to when I saw this movie, I had heard all kinds of raves from everyone, from my parents to my friends to my teachers. After I watched it, I wondered, "why?" The only reason I didn't storm the Internet with negative rants is for great performances, still great effects, and funny moments scattered throughout. At this point, you may wonder, "what else is there to a great movie?" Others will note that I didn't mention story. The story is moderatly rediculous, although, thanks to Tom Hanks and his now legendary performance, it is made a tad easier to believe. Robin Wright is great as Jenny, and the rest of the cast is perfect in their roles. The main issue with Forrest Gump is that it tries to be deep and insightful, when really, it just isn't. Honestly, this didn't deserve to win Best Picture at the Oscars, esspecially since it was up against one of the most influencial movies of the 20th century, Pulp Fiction, and, a movie that may be better than Pulp Fiction, The Shawshank Redemption. These three movies all try to have layers in their story: the only difference is that all of them but Gump succeeds. Kids will undoubtedly be interested, but this is not a movie for the youngest ones. There's a little bit of everything bad in this (I honestly don't think commercialism is an issue), including the good stuff. Part of the movie takes place at war, and there are sad deaths. A porn magazine is seen and there is a love scene. There is relatively infrequent language that mixes in things that could be said on network TV to s--t and f--k. In one scene, a character sniffs cocaine. The shot is brief and from a distance so it will fly over young one's heads. All in all, Forrest Gump is a hopelessly overrated movie with a few redeeming factors and large appeal.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 1, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

"Life is like a box of Chocolates"

I have never seen a movie as profound as Forrest Gump. It addresses some of the biggest problems and changes of America’s history, while also looking at the problems of people’s everyday life. Forrest Gump follows the life of one very interesting man. As a kid, he is bullied because of his mental development delay, and he also falls in love with Jenny, a young abused girl he meets on a school bus. The setting is the ‘60s, and later on in his life, Forrest goes to Vietnam and experinces the horror of war, while Jenny becomes a drug-addicted prostitute. But Forrest always shines a light on everyone he meets, and he remains a great role model throughout (he influences Jenny to become a better person and sees life as just waiting to be changed for the better). While one of the best movies I have seen, Forrest Gump adresses all kinds of mature topics from war to sex to drugs to racism, and doesn’t gloss over any of those subjects. The war violence is very intense, with huge explosions and at some moments lots of blood, and cocaine, heroin, and cigarettes are all used (though actually the drug content so realistically portrayed the horrible effects of drugs that I am convinced more not to do drugs by this movie than by any health lesson someone can throw at me). Jenny at one point almost commits suicide, and some scenes do address sexuality rather frankly, though most of it is PG-13 level. There is no way to really express how truly brilliant Tom Hanks was, and Gary Pinese (as the army general) was also excellent. This movie is utterly unforgetable, and anyone who can handle the mature content should consider this an absolute must-see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old October 21, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best movie ever!

Violence- 3 Sex- 3 Swearing- 4 Drugs- 2
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAvengingSon98 October 15, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan September 25, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump movie review

This movie was like a box of chocolates. You never knew what was going to happen in the film." Forrest Gump" is hands down my favorite drama of all time. This movie was excellent. From the minute the feather was on screen, I was totally invested. The movie's synopsis is brilliant. The basic message throughout the film is that you don't have to be a genius in life to accomplish amazing things. The story of "Forrest Gump" is amazing. What the man accomplishes is wonderful. From football star to Vietnam War hero to ping-pong master, he can do it all. Tom Hanks was magnificent as the protagonist. He is such a likable guy despite the fact that he isn't a genius. The supporting characters played by Robin Wright and Gary Sinise were brilliant. All of the supporting characters make "Forrest Gump" a phenomenal movie. The characters could have been handled horribly, yet they were not and that was one of the biggest surprises I had with this movie. Not one minute was I bored in this movie. A couple of people tell me that they absolutely hate "Forrest Gump" because it was too sad and boring. I don't know what to tell them. The movie does get depressing at the end, but I think this movie truly is amazing. Another message in the film was finding our destiny and finding our selves in the world. "Forrest Gump" is one of the most memorable movies of all time. For sure this movie goes into my top 20 list and gets an A+. If you have not checked out "Forrest Gump", you really should. Warning: If you don't like depressing movies, I recommend not watching this. Also, parents might want to check out the movie before showing younger children because this movie does have some adult themes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written bynuenjins September 9, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Emotional buttons pressed but to what end.

So it's a happy so called "feel good" romp through history. It is fun and awkward sometimes to a Napoleon Dynamite degree but the content of a boys teacher having sex with his mother is nowhere near appropriate for any young teenager. These 'moments' seem to be glossed over by the heartwarming moments but are still there and kids will catch them and notice that this 'will' send messages to and/or disturb your kids and saying nothing to address these moments for innappropriate audiences can leave them with unattended thoughts and feeling of being disturbed by the content. The movie is strung together in an amusing way and there are lessons to be learned from it, but keep in mind impressionable minds will remember the bad ones too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byDuncanDerund September 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

PG-13 for language and sexuality+war violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 11 year old Written byedklat August 27, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byBrown Norway August 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

skip the sex scenes

My 12 year old daughter liked this movie alot and found it funny and heart warming. I had forgotten how much sex is in this, between troubled Jenny, porn magazine, and prostitues with Lt. Dan. I watched with my kid, and skiped over those parts that things I'm not ready to have her see.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byLulay August 8, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Mostly For Teens

I watched this today, and I cannot say that I was disappointed. Parts that contain certain content can be a bit iffy, but the movie in itself exceeded my expectations.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byEthan511 August 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the Best Movies Ever

This is one of my favorite movies. They couldn't have chosen a better actor for the role of Forrest. It's rated PG-13 for language, drugs, some violence, and some implied sex. A must see for 13 and up. Maybe 11 and 12 if very mature. Forrest Gump is a great role model because he does things he believes to right and doesn't care what other people think.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlexThaReviewer July 9, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

My Personal Favorite

In my opinion, this is the best movie ever made, and i will proceed to go into details why. The acting is brilliant, tom hanks best performance undoubtedly. All the supporting cast also meets the bar of excellence the film required. The story: a beautiful tale of someone with a disability who overcomes the odds and becomes successful. Some might complain the story is sappy, but then why didn't they complain with the shawshank redemption? (Also an amazing film) overall, this film is perfectly directed, acted, written and edited. It absolutely gets a 5/5 the only "problem" some parents would have showing this to younger audiences would be MILD sex and language, but if your kid has a MIND they'll definitely appreciate this must-see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 31, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Lookoutforit!

Good movie, but a bit iffy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 30, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

its' one of my favorite movies, it needs to be ****** stars

Forrest Gump is a movie that has lots of positive messages, positive role modles but it has also some violence, bad language smoking and some sexual content.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 20, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great Movie but not for young kids

Forrest Gump is my favorite movie, It has allot of positive messages, positive role models and bit of inappropriate scenes, violence, language drug use drinking and smoking.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages