All member reviews for Forrest Gump

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Users say

(out of 144 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written bykelsey805 April 18, 2011

good movie but way to much language......

ok so i LOVE this movie and all but the thing is, it has a lot of language as well as some sexual content, i wouldn't suggest this for younger kids (unless you have a censored version or whatever) but other than that it's amazing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 21, 2011
i watched this movie because my dad kept telling how good it was. so i watched one day and i loved it. i would watch it again.it was funny but also sad. i cried in it.very interesting. lots of people at my school like it too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 28, 2010

More for 11,mabey 12+

I Love this movie ! Tom Hanks Is a great actor. It has alot of Drugs, which is not my biggest conserne. I dont like the laungeuge at all and I dont like the sex realated stuff in the movie. I think Forest Gump(Tom Hanks) is a great role model,has positive highlights but dose to much to get Jenny(Robin Wright).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byCooldee April 25, 2010

Beware!

There is some bad stuff such as war violence, swearing, drug use, and child abuse. Recommand this movie to children to ages 13 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviegeek97 February 25, 2010
one of my favorites but may be iffy for younger kids
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byGrandmoi January 31, 2010
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byPunkchic May 15, 2009
I loved this movie! Forrest Gump is a great character. And it teaches you not to do drugs. The only iffy parts I saw were one part where it's kinda bloody and another where Jenny and Forrest make out on a bed. I saw it as a class movie so it's not too bad. ITS MY FAVORITE NOW! And you'll wanna it over and over again!
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008

Great

Good for kids 12+
Adult Written byOr April 9, 2008
Teen, 13 years old Written byIt's my job January 27, 2016

just amazing

It is such a hard hitting film which shows: romance, comedy and other features. I find it is a film which shows a variety of emotions. There are a few scenes which may be hard hitting for children. For example, there are some scenes which show blood and shock with the Vietnam war scene. There can be a few grown up scenes which where you may want to look away!.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written byColumbiaMDMom January 24, 2016

Great Movie -- but just not for kids, imo

I am so glad I had common sense media to consult for this. At the suggestion of common sense media _did_ preview, and will not be showing this as family fare. After previewing this, I've come to the conclusion that this was never intended to be for kids. Others pointed out a couple of scenes that parents could fast forward through. Even with a quick finger on the remote, I'm left concerned that the emotional impact is inappropriate for my teenage sons. There are two story arcs here. One is this pure-minded soul, plods along in life and through his gifts -- running, ping pong, etc. -- bumbles into great success, and encounters seminal historical events. That story arc, underpinned by Forrest recalling and following his mother's advice, would be great to share with the family. The other arc is his longing for Jenny, the girl he befriended on the school bus the first day of school. Jenny, either because she's dealing with her own demons or because she feels she'd be taking advantage of Forrest, stays connected with Forrest but won't commit to him until the very end of the movie. In what may be the most poignant part of the movie, Forrest simply asks her "Will you marry me?" and tells her "I would make a good husband." He then says that he is not smart but that "I know what love is." Though masterfully acted by Tom Hanks, it is because of this intense emotional component that I am choosing not to share it with my kids. I saw someone mention that there was a shorter version, edited for tv. If anyone knows where to find this, I'd be interested. The message for me of the movie is to live one's life with honor. It's a great message; just a little too heart wrenching for me to want to share it with my teens.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDBeckmnan January 10, 2016

Forrest Gump: My Review

I first saw Forrest Gump at age ten because I found it in my parent's movie drawer. I was always a bit more mature, so there were no references I didn't understand. I think for other children they would have to be mature because there are scenes that are explicit. Forrest goes to war in Vietnam, Jenny becomes a stripper and is seen covered by a guitar, Jenny contracts AIDS, some drugs are seen (though I don't believe it's seen being used)... There are some sexually explicit scenes (Jenny lets Forrest grope her breasts while her roommate is sleeping, bare backs, semi-naked women, pornographic magazines). I say it has great messages and role models because as much as Forrest is naive and big hearted it shows him kind of adjusting to the real world and learning how life isn't fair. If your children are the type to ask questions I would recommend adding a year or two to the baseline age.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byBatman1203 January 1, 2016

This was an awesome movie; but could be too intense for younger kids

Some disturbing and depressing scenes, including when Jenny hides from her abusive father, or a couple of war scenes. Overall though, many kids should see this movie because it shows some great messages that kids should know about.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTARDIS Tourist December 28, 2015

Hilarious movie has some aspects that little kids are to young to be exposed to.

Forrest Gump is a brilliant film that contains some sexual content, brief nudity, war violence, and some nasty words.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 9, 2015

life is like a box of chocolates...

This heartwarming tale is a beautiful story that tells anyone can do anything. There are explosions, shooting, limb loss, partial nudity(you don't see anything, smoking, drinking, high amounts of swearing, and lots of mistreating. If your child can handle this and is interested, this is an awesome flick that is worthwhile.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 26, 2015
There is a lot of sexual stuff in this movie. I think this is only for 12 and up. Some of my friends so this when they were 10. I think that was a bad parent choice. There is also a far bit of violence in this movie. It is a one of the best movies for 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bydkasal000 September 14, 2015

rated on imdb the 13th best movie ever

I love this movie yes there is swearing and sex there is two f words one in the famous line in viet f-cking nam and one during the war when it just stops raining and they are in the bunker and another implied when the guy is on stage and says something and the microphone squeals and another with no sound but jenni's face says it I had the subtitles on but you will hear at least one f word without it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byajdevasto July 16, 2015
If your kids already understand what drugs,sex,and swearing is your fine
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written bybetyouaint July 3, 2015

Can be watched at 10 with a few minor edits

Due to the positive messages within this movie, I've been waiting to watch it with my daughter for some time now. She was 10 last month and so I thought we'd give it a try, with a finger poised over the fast-forward button. Of course, many of the references go completely over a 10 year old's head but there are a few scenes that I thought it prudent to skip... Firstly, there's the scene near the start when young Gump's mother is heard "paying" for his admittance to public school. Nothing graphic, just suggestive. There's also the scene with Lt. Dan and the hookers and a scene with Jenny working in the strip club, both of which I skipped. I don't recall anything too explicit from previous viewings but wasn't sure. Then there's the scene with Forrest and Jenny about to make Forrest Jr. There is some drug use but they don't focus on it. The positives of watching this movie far outweigh any negative content and although a young teen may better appreciate the messages and historical references, I still felt my daughter would like and benefit from watching it, and she did
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages