Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Users say

(out of 167 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byJessemovies101 October 19, 2016

My favorite movie of all time!

Forrest Gump is my favorite film of all time! It's super funny, sad, and just super entertaining. The movie is great. However, no one under 14 should see this movie in my opinion! Violence: 4/5. There's a war (Vietnam) and people are blown up, and hurt. Sex: 4/5. Racy scene where Forrest touches Jenny's breast and gets excited. Also, a quick scene where Forrest and Jenny have sex. Another scene, where Forrest hears yelling and moaning from his mother while she is having sex with a principle to get him in the school. Also, some innuendo! Language: 3/5. 2 uses of f**k, a couple uses of the n word, many uses of s**t, godd**n, and other words.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEveArwen October 15, 2016

Love It.

I loved it! So original, so touching. Tom Hanks does it again. :)
Teen, 14 years old Written bydoronhild134 October 8, 2016
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old September 25, 2016

life is like a box chocolates you never know what your gonna get.

This is my favorite movie ever I love it so much. Tom Hanks is cast perfectly all of the acting is spectacular. It is relly sad and dark and this quote,run forrest run. A+ if you have not seen this movie see it now.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old September 25, 2016
Yeah it says some bad words and it's violent but kids 10 and older will get it. It's a great movie and I don't think you should have to be a teenager to see it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byNovelnerd2187 September 21, 2016

Amazing movie but not for kids

Forrest Gump is a well-done, inspirational movie. It's a movie that actually has room for a good discussion afterward. I'm very picky about movie content, and while this did contain a lot of mature themes, it was a great movie; however, if someone watches this movie while they're too young, they will miss the great themes. Forrest Gump is a great role model. He puts people with mental issues in a good light. He is very straightforward and acts instinctively, and usually does what's right. (Warning minor spoiler: he is sexually involved with his girlfriend and they are unmarried.) He accepts people for who they are and loves them no matter how they treat him. He is a stark contrast to his girlfriend who was abused as a child and is later involved in immoral practices involving sex and drugs. Overall, despite the violence, sex, drugs, and language, Forrest Gump is a great movie that I think everyone should watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Roxburgh August 24, 2016
One f word. Some sex scenes and strong implied drug use. No violence
Kid, 12 years old August 7, 2016

Questionable for kids

This movie is amazing, lots of history and detail, but, there is quite a few spots where it could be questionable about kids seeing this movie. The language can get pretty bad, along with some of the content, where you might want to skip right past. Overall, though, this movie is a very intriguing movie, and is worth seeing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 2, 2016

Mama told me life is like a box of chocolates

GREAT Movie ages 10 and up should also its such a great movie it's my number one movie ever below 10 should be supervised my suggested rateing is PG-13 drug material war violence and partial nudity and sensulaity
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byhayal12 July 26, 2016

Alright in some ways, but at times infuriating

I suppose you could put my criticism of this movie down to the fact that it's just not the kind of thing that appeals to us Brits, as the film is chiefly a celebration of 20th Century American patriotism (and stole the Oscar for Best Actor from Nigel Hawthorne in 'The Madness of King George'. Fair enough, the film does have its highlights (mainly the memorable opening scene, Alan Silvestri score and creative use of special effects), but other than that the character of Forrest himself is far from endearing and at times infuriating to watch, and his unwitting innocence/ignorance seem just an excuse to cram as much history in as possible. Finally, what many fans of this film put down as 'sweet' is simply cheesy. Expect injury detail, language and sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bygraciequaccia July 1, 2016

One of my favorites!

I can't say enough good things about Forrest Gump. It literally evokes every emotion and every feeling you can think of. It made me laugh, it made me sad, angry, and it made me cry real tears. The storyline of this movie is absolutely phenomenal and original. It basically goes over every important event during the time period in which Forrest lived in - he influenced some of Elvis' dance moves, and it went over historical events like the Watergate Scandal, Hurricane Carmen, The Vietnam War, President Kennedy's assassination, etc. It's absolutely amazing and I totally recommend it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAppu200 June 24, 2016

Not meant for young teens

This movie has too strong nudity as well as sexual content. It as at least 3 uses of dirty words. Dirty words should only be used once in a pg-13 movie. This should be R rated
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bybatman12 June 24, 2016

great film but parent preview is a good idea

I LOVE it but there is quite a bit of swearing (2 f-words and about 20 s and d words each) brief nudity (male butt) and drug use so watch it before your kids do but it is a must see
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHannah_Robinson_2002 June 24, 2016

it was good but dark...

i am thirteen and we watched it with my eleven year old sister and she found it to much. i thought it was good but i didn't like the fact that it included drugs and sex but i didn't find it to bad because i know more about that stuff. It was really sad and emotional and i dont think younger kids would understand it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 10, 2016

Great Movie! But sort of inappropriate

In one scene Jenny has heroin on her night table, and that means she did drugs. also depressing, lots of times people die or just sad things happen. If you are under 10 then make sure you have a parent approval before you watch it. Enjoy
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byRoanstone March 31, 2016

A Timless Classic

"Forrest Gump" is one of those movies that should be watched at least once in someone's lifetime. It's filled with character, humor, individual and social problems, but it also has a twist of darkness to it. The film, which covers pieces of Gump's lifetime over a multitude of decades, really captures the good points and the bad points of each character- this being said, not everything that each character does is a good influence. Some of the characters drink, use profanity, show violent behavior, and implications of sex are shown during parts of the film. This does not degrade the quality of the film, however, but I would recommend parents to view the movie before letting their child watch. (There's plenty of material to discuss with your child about the characters' decisions to do right or wrong.) There are some very sad scenes amidst all of the happy times, so have tissues on-hand. It's one of those feel-good classics that I'll come back to time and time again, and it's one of my all-time favorites.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 28, 2016

MUST WATCH

it is a good movie in the vietnam war and it has a lot of comedy as well as action he gets wounded so did one of his friends and his best friend died because he was shot in the chest
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byIt's my job January 27, 2016

just amazing

It is such a hard hitting film which shows: romance, comedy and other features. I find it is a film which shows a variety of emotions. There are a few scenes which may be hard hitting for children. For example, there are some scenes which show blood and shock with the Vietnam war scene. There can be a few grown up scenes which where you may want to look away!.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byDBeckmnan January 10, 2016

Forrest Gump: My Review

I first saw Forrest Gump at age ten because I found it in my parent's movie drawer. I was always a bit more mature, so there were no references I didn't understand. I think for other children they would have to be mature because there are scenes that are explicit. Forrest goes to war in Vietnam, Jenny becomes a stripper and is seen covered by a guitar, Jenny contracts AIDS, some drugs are seen (though I don't believe it's seen being used)... There are some sexually explicit scenes (Jenny lets Forrest grope her breasts while her roommate is sleeping, bare backs, semi-naked women, pornographic magazines). I say it has great messages and role models because as much as Forrest is naive and big hearted it shows him kind of adjusting to the real world and learning how life isn't fair. If your children are the type to ask questions I would recommend adding a year or two to the baseline age.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byBatman1203 January 1, 2016

This was an awesome movie; but could be too intense for younger kids

Some disturbing and depressing scenes, including when Jenny hides from her abusive father, or a couple of war scenes. Overall though, many kids should see this movie because it shows some great messages that kids should know about.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages