All member reviews for Forrest Gump

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 134 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old May 30, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

its' one of my favorite movies, it needs to be ****** stars

Forrest Gump is a movie that has lots of positive messages, positive role modles but it has also some violence, bad language smoking and some sexual content.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 20, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great Movie but not for young kids

Forrest Gump is my favorite movie, It has allot of positive messages, positive role models and bit of inappropriate scenes, violence, language drug use drinking and smoking.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Lot's of sex drugs n consumerism some violence and language but this movie tells ALOT about history!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter March 26, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

One of my favorites

This is a must watch. Moving, inspirational, sad, and funny...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byLowe's man January 11, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

a fun trip through history

Forrest faces much adversity which he must overcome. That he does and does well. He goes to college, plays football, gets a college degree, joins the Army, saves a life during Vietnam, plays ping pong on the Army team, starts a business with a friend, gives to the local college by cutting its grass for free, runs coast to coast and ultimately marries his childhood sweetheart Jenny. Along the way he- and viewers- witness the first black students to enter the University of Alabama, the Kennedy assassination, the Vietnam War and the protests that came with it, and numerous other historical events. He was also treated nicely by the majority of people he met, before it became popular to do so to disabled people. Everyone who's at least 13 should see this movie. One word of warning: Forrest and Jenny bear a child out of wedlock.
Teen, 15 years old Written bypablogan4 January 7, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great film.

This great film is also a positive role model. You´ll enoy this film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old December 9, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Forrest gump

Ok movie there is some violence but not a big problem i think the worst part about this movie is the sexuality there is a shot a bare buttocks, a brief sex scene no nudity though in the scene the bed shakes and makes noises and a women makes forrest touch her boobs he does but you do not see any nudity otherwise the movie is alright
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 5, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing

about #1 on my top 5 best movies list. A truly wonderful movie. Tom Hanks performance is spectacular, everything else in the film is just utterly amazing 6/5 stars
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 19, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump is

Forrest Gump is overall one of my new favorite movies! Tom Hanks is great in this movie. It well deserved the Oscar back when it came out. I saw it the other night with my parents having no intention of watching it and going to watch Full House on Nick@nite but I stayed and watched the movie. It's truly beautiful. Yes there is violence, but there also is a message sent beautifully by the actors the message is to keep your promises and hold on the struggle is part of life fight through it you'll make it. I'm 12 but I'm fairly mature so I'd say 13 years old. I encourage you to watch it I love it I think you would to.
Teen, 15 years old Written byHaileyMarie July 14, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

'Forrest Gump' Is A Very Good Movie, Just a Little Questionable For Small Children

Positive Messages: The main lesson to be learned from this movie is not to judge a book by its cover. Forrest Gump is usually first perceived as stupid by most of the people he meets. But he then goes on to do lots of incredible things. Positive Role Models: Lieutenant Dan loses both of his legs in Vietnam and goes through severe depression and becomes an alcoholic. Later in the movie, he goes through a major change in his life. He recovers and learns to swim without any legs and he also gets married. Violence: A fair bit of war violence and gore. Lieutenant Dan's bloody stomach is shown along with his bloody legs. Not too gruesome, but still might be enough to scare small children. There;s a black and white newsreel of George Wallace getting shot. A few punches and slaps throughout the movie. Sex: Not too much. More insinuation than anything. In one of the first scenes, Forrest's mother gets Forrest into school by having sex with the principal. Nothing is shown, but noises can be heard outside the house. There is some kissing on a bed between Forrest and Jenny and it is implied that they have sex, but the scene cuts out before anything happens. At one point in the movie, Jenny plays her guitar in a club. She is naked, but the guitar is covering her, so she isn't shown naked. Jenny brings Forrest into her college dorm, takes off her bra and puts Forrest's hand on it. It is shown from a different angle so that all you can see is her back. Most of the sexual things in the movie aren't too major. Little kids won't know what is happening. Language: I think there is one F word, maybe a couple S and D words, and racial references. Drinking, Drugs, Etc.: Several smoking and (maybe) drug scenes scenes throughout the 70s period in Forrest's life. Lieutenant Dan drinks a lot after his accident. 'Forrest Gump' has lots of good messages and laughs! A must watch for kids over 8 or 9 years old!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymiles12345677A. June 24, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

astounding

a wonderful movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 June 21, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

classic and great message

One of Tom Hank's best. This movie had amazing actors, outstanding plot, and a great script that could make anyone love this film. Parents do however need to know that this movie does contain some sex scenes and references but nothing to explicit is shown. There is language, nothing to horrible except one racist statement. There is some drinking and smoking, but that is everywhere. There is violence not much blood though it is something a mature 9 year old can handle
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 18, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing But Very Explicit Content

Great, but very explicit themes throughout. Parents watch out, maybe have your kids shut their eyes in a few parts. The messages from this movie are very important to learn though.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

sad violent funny 5 star movie

i saw this when i was 6 and it was great but violence shown when luietenant dan knees and nudity not shown and the f word used dan drinks alot of beer at a point
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe April 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Mixes laugh-out-loud humor with serious stuff

I remember when some man was talking into a microphone and said a bunch of F-bombs, but most of the uses were censored with Forrest's narration. I also liked it when Forrest Gump went on a show with John Lennon. I remember seeing some scenes from this when I was five.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing, but iffy for young kids.

Forrest Gump was a true masterpiece. I would however hold off on it until your kid was twelve because there were some intense moments. First of all there is some war violence with lots of blood that may scare young viewers. There is some sexual stuff as well. Also, there is some pretty bad language for a PG-13 movie. Despite all of this, this movie has tons of heart, you will not be disappointed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 November 26, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Forrest gump

Families can talk about American history and how it's seen through Forrest's eyes. What are his impressions of the Vietnam War? Of a young Elvis? Of the hippie movement? What would you say the movie's main message is? Are viewers meant to admire Forrest? To sympathize with him? If you've read the book the movie is based on, how do the two differ? Why do you think the filmmakers made the changes that they did?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycolorsgirl September 26, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Amazing, hysterical tale

I was required to watch Forrest Gump for school (Rhetoric/9th grade/High School Class), and it's an absolutely amazing movie. Yes, there is a fair share of swearing and also a LOT of sex, but nothing explicit. All of it has a purpose and helps the plot unlike to many movies today that are raunchy just for the h-ll of it. Several people say that it pokes fun at the mentally disabled, but I disagree. It's incredibly moving, and proves that with a good heart you can do absolutely anything regardless of your IQ. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 13 because of the amount of sexual references and language, but it should be a requirement for everyone old enough to appreciate it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Love this movie!

I love this movie so much! I would say seven because the first time I saw this movie I was seven and of course my parents covered my eyes during some parts of the movie. But, it really depends on your child's maturity.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byCatholicamSoror33 September 8, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

Great movie, just not for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages