All member reviews for Forrest Gump

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Users say

(out of 155 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byRoanstone March 31, 2016

A Timless Classic

"Forrest Gump" is one of those movies that should be watched at least once in someone's lifetime. It's filled with character, humor, individual and social problems, but it also has a twist of darkness to it. The film, which covers pieces of Gump's lifetime over a multitude of decades, really captures the good points and the bad points of each character- this being said, not everything that each character does is a good influence. Some of the characters drink, use profanity, show violent behavior, and implications of sex are shown during parts of the film. This does not degrade the quality of the film, however, but I would recommend parents to view the movie before letting their child watch. (There's plenty of material to discuss with your child about the characters' decisions to do right or wrong.) There are some very sad scenes amidst all of the happy times, so have tissues on-hand. It's one of those feel-good classics that I'll come back to time and time again, and it's one of my all-time favorites.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 28, 2016

MUST WATCH

it is a good movie in the vietnam war and it has a lot of comedy as well as action he gets wounded so did one of his friends and his best friend died because he was shot in the chest
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byIt's my job January 27, 2016

just amazing

It is such a hard hitting film which shows: romance, comedy and other features. I find it is a film which shows a variety of emotions. There are a few scenes which may be hard hitting for children. For example, there are some scenes which show blood and shock with the Vietnam war scene. There can be a few grown up scenes which where you may want to look away!.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 16 year old Written byColumbiaMDMom January 24, 2016

Great Movie -- but just not for kids, imo

I am so glad I had common sense media to consult for this. At the suggestion of common sense media _did_ preview, and will not be showing this as family fare. After previewing this, I've come to the conclusion that this was never intended to be for kids. Others pointed out a couple of scenes that parents could fast forward through. Even with a quick finger on the remote, I'm left concerned that the emotional impact is inappropriate for my teenage sons. There are two story arcs here. One is this pure-minded soul, plods along in life and through his gifts -- running, ping pong, etc. -- bumbles into great success, and encounters seminal historical events. That story arc, underpinned by Forrest recalling and following his mother's advice, would be great to share with the family. The other arc is his longing for Jenny, the girl he befriended on the school bus the first day of school. Jenny, either because she's dealing with her own demons or because she feels she'd be taking advantage of Forrest, stays connected with Forrest but won't commit to him until the very end of the movie. In what may be the most poignant part of the movie, Forrest simply asks her "Will you marry me?" and tells her "I would make a good husband." He then says that he is not smart but that "I know what love is." Though masterfully acted by Tom Hanks, it is because of this intense emotional component that I am choosing not to share it with my kids. I saw someone mention that there was a shorter version, edited for tv. If anyone knows where to find this, I'd be interested. The message for me of the movie is to live one's life with honor. It's a great message; just a little too heart wrenching for me to want to share it with my teens.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDBeckmnan January 10, 2016

Forrest Gump: My Review

I first saw Forrest Gump at age ten because I found it in my parent's movie drawer. I was always a bit more mature, so there were no references I didn't understand. I think for other children they would have to be mature because there are scenes that are explicit. Forrest goes to war in Vietnam, Jenny becomes a stripper and is seen covered by a guitar, Jenny contracts AIDS, some drugs are seen (though I don't believe it's seen being used)... There are some sexually explicit scenes (Jenny lets Forrest grope her breasts while her roommate is sleeping, bare backs, semi-naked women, pornographic magazines). I say it has great messages and role models because as much as Forrest is naive and big hearted it shows him kind of adjusting to the real world and learning how life isn't fair. If your children are the type to ask questions I would recommend adding a year or two to the baseline age.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byBatman1203 January 1, 2016

This was an awesome movie; but could be too intense for younger kids

Some disturbing and depressing scenes, including when Jenny hides from her abusive father, or a couple of war scenes. Overall though, many kids should see this movie because it shows some great messages that kids should know about.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTARDIS Tourist December 28, 2015

Hilarious movie has some aspects that little kids are to young to be exposed to.

Forrest Gump is a brilliant film that contains some sexual content, brief nudity, war violence, and some nasty words.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 9, 2015

life is like a box of chocolates...

This heartwarming tale is a beautiful story that tells anyone can do anything. There are explosions, shooting, limb loss, partial nudity(you don't see anything, smoking, drinking, high amounts of swearing, and lots of mistreating. If your child can handle this and is interested, this is an awesome flick that is worthwhile.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 26, 2015
There is a lot of sexual stuff in this movie. I think this is only for 12 and up. Some of my friends so this when they were 10. I think that was a bad parent choice. There is also a far bit of violence in this movie. It is a one of the best movies for 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bydkasal000 September 14, 2015

rated on imdb the 13th best movie ever

I love this movie yes there is swearing and sex there is two f words one in the famous line in viet f-cking nam and one during the war when it just stops raining and they are in the bunker and another implied when the guy is on stage and says something and the microphone squeals and another with no sound but jenni's face says it I had the subtitles on but you will hear at least one f word without it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byajdevasto July 16, 2015
If your kids already understand what drugs,sex,and swearing is your fine
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written bybetyouaint July 3, 2015

Can be watched at 10 with a few minor edits

Due to the positive messages within this movie, I've been waiting to watch it with my daughter for some time now. She was 10 last month and so I thought we'd give it a try, with a finger poised over the fast-forward button. Of course, many of the references go completely over a 10 year old's head but there are a few scenes that I thought it prudent to skip... Firstly, there's the scene near the start when young Gump's mother is heard "paying" for his admittance to public school. Nothing graphic, just suggestive. There's also the scene with Lt. Dan and the hookers and a scene with Jenny working in the strip club, both of which I skipped. I don't recall anything too explicit from previous viewings but wasn't sure. Then there's the scene with Forrest and Jenny about to make Forrest Jr. There is some drug use but they don't focus on it. The positives of watching this movie far outweigh any negative content and although a young teen may better appreciate the messages and historical references, I still felt my daughter would like and benefit from watching it, and she did
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old May 30, 2015

Interesting,mature,entertaining drama is very racy and violent.

My rating:R for strong sexual content,some nudity,sequences of bloody war violence,mature content,and language throughout.
Teen, 14 years old Written byProjektor May 14, 2015

This is awesome movie. Tom Hanks is amazing and Zemeckis is fabulous director. I love this film.

This movie is quite violent and sexual, but this not too bad. This is for teens and up. This movie have some themes (AIDS, Vietnam War, Autism, Drugs and many more).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bysarahlayhay March 20, 2015

Amazing movie

Appropriate for mature tweens and older. Really good movie, shows different parts of history in the 60s,70s,80s. There are some sexual scenes and at one point one of the main characters is addicted to drugs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFathomT February 16, 2015

Funny moments, still stunning effects, great cast save overrated movie

Leading up to when I saw this movie, I had heard all kinds of raves from everyone, from my parents to my friends to my teachers. After I watched it, I wondered, "why?" The only reason I didn't storm the Internet with negative rants is for great performances, still great effects, and funny moments scattered throughout. At this point, you may wonder, "what else is there to a great movie?" Others will note that I didn't mention story. The story is moderatly rediculous, although, thanks to Tom Hanks and his now legendary performance, it is made a tad easier to believe. Robin Wright is great as Jenny, and the rest of the cast is perfect in their roles. The main issue with Forrest Gump is that it tries to be deep and insightful, when really, it just isn't. Honestly, this didn't deserve to win Best Picture at the Oscars, esspecially since it was up against one of the most influencial movies of the 20th century, Pulp Fiction, and, a movie that may be better than Pulp Fiction, The Shawshank Redemption. These three movies all try to have layers in their story: the only difference is that all of them but Gump succeeds. Kids will undoubtedly be interested, but this is not a movie for the youngest ones. There's a little bit of everything bad in this (I honestly don't think commercialism is an issue), including the good stuff. Part of the movie takes place at war, and there are sad deaths. A porn magazine is seen and there is a love scene. There is relatively infrequent language that mixes in things that could be said on network TV to s--t and f--k. In one scene, a character sniffs cocaine. The shot is brief and from a distance so it will fly over young one's heads. All in all, Forrest Gump is a hopelessly overrated movie with a few redeeming factors and large appeal.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 1, 2015

"Life is like a box of Chocolates"

I have never seen a movie as profound as Forrest Gump. It addresses some of the biggest problems and changes of America’s history, while also looking at the problems of people’s everyday life. Forrest Gump follows the life of one very interesting man. As a kid, he is bullied because of his mental development delay, and he also falls in love with Jenny, a young abused girl he meets on a school bus. The setting is the ‘60s, and later on in his life, Forrest goes to Vietnam and experinces the horror of war, while Jenny becomes a drug-addicted prostitute. But Forrest always shines a light on everyone he meets, and he remains a great role model throughout (he influences Jenny to become a better person and sees life as just waiting to be changed for the better). While one of the best movies I have seen, Forrest Gump adresses all kinds of mature topics from war to sex to drugs to racism, and doesn’t gloss over any of those subjects. The war violence is very intense, with huge explosions and at some moments lots of blood, and cocaine, heroin, and cigarettes are all used (though actually the drug content so realistically portrayed the horrible effects of drugs that I am convinced more not to do drugs by this movie than by any health lesson someone can throw at me). Jenny at one point almost commits suicide, and some scenes do address sexuality rather frankly, though most of it is PG-13 level. There is no way to really express how truly brilliant Tom Hanks was, and Gary Pinese (as the army general) was also excellent. This movie is utterly unforgetable, and anyone who can handle the mature content should consider this an absolute must-see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old October 21, 2014

Best movie ever!

Violence- 3 Sex- 3 Swearing- 4 Drugs- 2
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAvengingSon98 October 15, 2014
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan September 25, 2014

"Forrest Gump" movie review

This movie was like a box of chocolates. You never knew what was going to happen in the film." Forrest Gump" is hands down my favorite drama of all time. This movie was excellent. From the minute the feather was on screen, I was totally invested. The movie's synopsis is brilliant. The basic message throughout the film is that you don't have to be a genius in life to accomplish amazing things. The story of "Forrest Gump" is amazing. What the man accomplishes is wonderful. From football star to Vietnam War hero to ping-pong master, he can do it all. Tom Hanks was magnificent as the protagonist. He is such a likable guy despite the fact that he isn't a genius. The supporting characters played by Robin Wright and Gary Sinise were brilliant. All of the supporting characters make "Forrest Gump" a phenomenal movie. The characters could have been handled horribly, yet they were not and that was one of the biggest surprises I had with this movie. Not one minute was I bored in this movie. A couple of people tell me that they absolutely hate "Forrest Gump" because it was too sad and boring. I don't know what to tell them. The movie does get depressing at the end, but I think this movie truly is amazing. Another message in the film was finding our destiny and finding our selves in the world. "Forrest Gump" is one of the most memorable movies of all time. For sure this movie goes into my top 50 list and gets a 5 out of 5. If you have not checked out "Forrest Gump", you really should. Warning: If you don't like depressing movies, I recommend not watching this. Also, parents might want to check out the movie before showing younger children because this movie does have some adult themes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages