All member reviews for Forrest Gump

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 130 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old July 13, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

forrest gump=AMAZING!!!!

ok i totally LOVED this movie!!!! its an uplifting,funny,romantic, and in a couple parts REALLY sad!! altho i luved this movie in some parts it is VERY inappropriate and my parents had to monitor me thru the hole movie.....its gr8
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bydavstern May 16, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Incredible and moving, a movie everyone should see when appropriate

I rate Forrest Gump on for ages 12+ Parents need to know that this spectacular, moving, coming of age Oscar winner isn't appropriate for everyone, and this film does not have one particular thing to watch out for, like just violence or just sex, it's a bit "balanced". Forrest Gump is a film all tweens 12+ should see. DDS: 3/5- A main character takes a lot of drugs at one point, with some recognizable and becomes more of a "failure". VIOLENCE: 3/5- There is a war sequence at Vietnam, there are bloody wounds. Young Forrest had rocks thrown at him, only a little blood shown. It is implied Jenny's father was abusive to her off screen. The movie itself can be emotional. SEX: 2/5- Jenny is shown working as a stripper, no nudity. A sexual situation, when Jenny reveals her breasts to Forrest. We see very little of her nipple. Jenny also becomes a sl-t. PROFANITY: 1/5- Some coarse language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 February 25, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This slightly violent movie also offers important life lessons and messages.

Parents need to know that this historical drama comedy film is packed with great life lessons and messeges, but it also contains war violence, with some blood, swearing, sexuality, some female and male nudity and use of drugs (cocaine). The war scene is extremely intense. There is also some brutal fights. One of the main characters becomes a stripper for some of the movie, there is also some non graphic sex scenes, (because this is a PG-13 movie). Lastly there is female and male nudity, a woman goes to a man and flashes to him, and another scene where the same woman sings naked in front of a bunch of people, her butt is shown twice, it also shows a man's pubic hair for about 2 seconds. On the brighter side, there is important life lessons and messages.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byJoe Blow November 20, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Cool beans!

Language words are: G-d-mn, b--ch, s--t, f--k, and other strong words. A guy gets is legs blown off in war(very bloody). Sexual behavior such as: strippers(not seen), sex, and other innapropriate themes. Also there is drug content. Tom Hanks is my favorite actor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBooks rule October 29, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My mama always said watch this movie!

This an amazing movie. The violence includes a bloody vietnam war battle. Also Jenny gets slapped by one of her boyfriends and there are signs she is later hit by someone else. There is a lot of language. Especially with one specific character. There are sexuality parts in it. Like at a strip bar. Then there is a scene where people make out. Also there is a scene where adults make love. Though besides all of that. This is a very good movie. Well written and great story line.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Best Movie Ever!!!!!!

This might be the best Tom Hanks movie ever. The part when Jenny was singing on stage naked was inappropriate. Also when Jenny and Forrest were getting it on in the bed.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 1, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

very good!!!

i love it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 23, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

forrest gump review by critic7

It thought forrest gump was a great and phinominal film that i and you will probaly want to watch over and over again
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byndancer94 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Favorite movie EVERRR!!

Forrest Gump is like the best movie in the history of the universe!! I absolutely love this movie, even though it's a serious tear-jerker. It's very touching, and I think it's okay for everyone 12 and up.
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe April 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Mixes laugh-out-loud humor with serious stuff

I remember when some man was talking into a microphone and said a bunch of F-bombs, but most of the uses were censored with Forrest's narration. I also liked it when Forrest Gump went on a show with John Lennon. I remember seeing some scenes from this when I was five.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byasam May 26, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

no little kids

THE BEST MOVIE EVER. too mutch for little kids. (ages 12+)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

I saw this movie a few months ago. (It might have been when I was 11) I was a bit worried at first, but after watching it I absoulutly loved it. There are many places where Jenny does drugs. Also many places with smoking and drinking. I am not as concerned with sexual behavior knowing it is only in a few scenes. You simply can just cover your eyes if you feel it is to graphic. Violence is a bit graphic, but I could watch it. Again if you feel it is to graphic cover your eyes. I suggest this movie for mature pre teens or 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 June 12, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My favorite movie now!

My name says that I love the movie "Jumanji," (and I do, don't get me wrong) it's just that this movie honestly moved me in every way possible and its cross of realism and fiction was unbelievable, plus the amazing cropping and editing to make it look like Forrest Gump REALLY made a big impact on America. You WILL believe life is a box of chocolates after seeing this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old November 27, 2008
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I cried and laughed!

This film is a great movie about a guy named Forrst Gump,who tells about his exciting life to fellow people. It can be disturbing at some parts but otherwise a good movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymiles12345677A. June 24, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

astounding

a wonderful movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

sad violent funny 5 star movie

i saw this when i was 6 and it was great but violence shown when luietenant dan knees and nudity not shown and the f word used dan drinks alot of beer at a point
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 November 26, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Forrest gump

Families can talk about American history and how it's seen through Forrest's eyes. What are his impressions of the Vietnam War? Of a young Elvis? Of the hippie movement? What would you say the movie's main message is? Are viewers meant to admire Forrest? To sympathize with him? If you've read the book the movie is based on, how do the two differ? Why do you think the filmmakers made the changes that they did?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 20, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Love this movie!

I love this movie so much! I would say seven because the first time I saw this movie I was seven and of course my parents covered my eyes during some parts of the movie. But, it really depends on your child's maturity.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Forrest Gump 101

I watched this movie when I was 10 and we ended up fast-forwarding all but 20 minutes of the movie! I am sure that now it would be a fine movie, but there were many sexual scenes ( pretty much every where.... ) that you'll have to look out for while watching with tweens. Thanks for reading! :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bychrisissocooldude July 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

spectacular

very amazing classic. super enjoyable. Rated PG-13 for language, some drug use, sexual material, graphic images, violence, and a bloody war scene.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models

Pages