All member reviews for Forrest Gump

Common Sense Media says

Moving and wonderful, but parent preview a good idea.

Users say

(out of 157 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bypopcorn_004 January 11, 2011

The best movie EVER!!

I LOVE this movie. It's my favorite movie of ALL time. Sure it has war and Jenny has an abusive father but it's great!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bydwrigt6494 December 17, 2010

Forrest Gump Review

I love this movie. I think it's one of the best movies ever. There are a lot of historical references in it. Also, the main character show that through hard work and dedication, you can achieve anything. They also show the importance of family throughout the story. The only down side is there is a good amount of violence and some bad language because they are in the Vietnam war, so some things are said and done that might not be appropriate for young children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 26, 2010
This is a fantastic film starring Tom Hanks. Although this film holds positive messages and some good role models there is 1 scene of sex and child abuse and drink and drugs. I would advise for parents to see first.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 24, 2010
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byam1408 August 19, 2010

a good movie but a little to 'egh' for youngsters

this movie seems like a true story but its not.i like it though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2010

Movie about Forrest Gump, on the first look stupid man

I saw this movie for the first time when I was about 4 or 5. It's great, through there is some blood and explosions in the part with the war in Vietnam. Every kid thought the Forrest is too stupid and they loved to provocate him. But when he grew up, he showed that he IS clever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 5, 2010

great for ages +8

OMG LOVED IT! Forrst is a good role model, not good GREAT. He may be stupid but he never stop for what he goes for. the move does not show anything of sex and is the on my top 3 movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byHaydimi July 18, 2010

Run, Forrest, run!

This is a must see. I cried at the end of this; it was so touching. Jenny is a stripper and takes drugs and talks about suicide. No nudity, but she is naked but never on camera. One make love scene, several more kiss scenes. A little bit of profanity. Forrest goes to war so suggestive violence. SEE THIS MOVIE! Minus the negative choices Jenny makes, any age could see it with parental monitoring.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bychrisissocooldude July 16, 2010

spectacular

very amazing classic. super enjoyable. Rated PG-13 for language, some drug use, sexual material, graphic images, violence, and a bloody war scene.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bymongofa July 15, 2010
This movie is great! I love Tom Hanks. It was a bit iffy for PG-13 but it was not worthy of an R rating either.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010

Best Movie Ever!!!!!!

This might be the best Tom Hanks movie ever. The part when Jenny was singing on stage naked was inappropriate. Also when Jenny and Forrest were getting it on in the bed.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bybobbeta30 June 10, 2010

..................................

I'm watching this movie as I type this, and the thing that disturbed me most was what Jenny's father did to his daughters. : (
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byasam May 26, 2010

no little kids

THE BEST MOVIE EVER. too mutch for little kids. (ages 12+)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlinaW. May 20, 2010

A definete must-see!!

This is a fabulous movie, one of my favourites of all time, and that's saying a lot! It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me feel the character's pain, especially Tom Hanks' exceptional performance as Forrest! Some of the stuff, like drugs, drinking, and adult-like things like strippers might be inapproprite for younger kids, OR they might just not get it, but they probably will ask questions like "What's AIDS? What's that white stuff on the mirror?". I at 12 was mature enough to handle it though, so consider it for mature tweens and teens. Overall, good prevails the bad stuff in this movie, making it a must see for everyone!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2010

Good Movie

I saw this movie a few months ago. (It might have been when I was 11) I was a bit worried at first, but after watching it I absoulutly loved it. There are many places where Jenny does drugs. Also many places with smoking and drinking. I am not as concerned with sexual behavior knowing it is only in a few scenes. You simply can just cover your eyes if you feel it is to graphic. Violence is a bit graphic, but I could watch it. Again if you feel it is to graphic cover your eyes. I suggest this movie for mature pre teens or 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 1, 2010

awesome!!

AWESOME!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 25, 2010

Good for teens

It's a family movie just some things the vitianam war the relationship between Jenny and Forest and heavy language including the four letter word two times
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old December 1, 2009

very good!!!

i love it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2009

Tweens and u[

I loved this movie. It tells a great story with some good role models. But L. Dan is a alcholic so he is drunk at times. F--k is used twice.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymarisa444 November 28, 2009

BEST MOVIE EVER!

OMG i thought this was one of THE BEST movies ive seen... I cried when Bubble and Jenny dies (and momma) but it showed how great a mentally disabled person can be and how great their lives can be if they are like Forrest. The only semi-bad parts were when Jenny has Forrest feel her boobs and he says he feels dizzy, and when she shoots up grugs , but other than that...GREAT MOVIE and you have to see it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages