All member reviews for Free Willy: Escape from Pirate's Cove

Common Sense Media says

Mild orca-tainment with adorable Bindi Irwin.
 

Users say

(out of 11 reviews)
age 7+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 19, 2011
age 7+
 

great newer "Free Willy film with Bindi Irwin!

this 2010 "Free Willy" film is great but does not fallow the other 3 movies.
Parent Written byIslandgirl140 November 21, 2011
age 8+
 

Just be careful and know your child.

Hard for sensitive kids especially with the poisoning of the orca scene. My 7 year old son couldn't finish and left hysterically crying from the room.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byAlaskaSebiria December 22, 2010
age 5+
 

Nice try, but the original is tons better!

It was a cute movie for kids, but it could not compare to the original. I loved the original Free Willy as a kid, and I still do. I watched this out of curiousity, and I thought it was a pale rip-off. I don't see why the real Free Willy should get a remake anyway, it didn't need one. To parents, I would recommend to buy your kids the original. It's an overall better movie, this one is more for little children if you ask me. It's not bad, but just not as good.
Parent of a 3 year old Written byRoyMom December 7, 2010
age 4+
 

Near 4 year old loves it. I do, too, aside from fist fight.

My near 4 year old boy can't get enough of this movie. After watching Bindi's character, he says girls know all about "dolphins." (I stress it's an orca, but whatever, lol.) I'm not fond of the fist fighting scene, but we talk about how it's not a good way to act. He loves telling us how this "dolphin" eats fish and others don't. Excellent family movie. Lots of fun.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byarman kalantari March 3, 2012
age 5+
 

not bad for kids.

free willy 4 is PG also the third one. but not the first and second. i will just say a PG movie perfect for kids over 5. your child, some content may not be right for 5 and under. but still if you want to let your child watch this PG movie it will be fine dont worry.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bybasbel October 8, 2011
age 9+
 

O.K

It is a little violent. And it is harsh for nine year olds. I do not think that this is a good movie for nine year olds. And it had bad words
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2010
age 5+
 
i love it it is the best even i thing up on age 5+ can watch it too it is no problem!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old April 21, 2010
age 5+
 
It's a fun movie to watch i love it. This movie is one of my favorites, though i have never seen the original series of this movie. I would definitely watch it more then once.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 17, 2010
age 6+
 

Kids who like fun

This movie copy's the first one!! but it is still good. Ps:the first one's better!
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2010
age 13+
 
free willy's a whale who wants to be free
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old March 29, 2010
age 8+
 
i like it
What other families should know
Great messages