All member reviews for Free Willy

Common Sense Media says

A wayward boy befriends a moody killer whale.
 

Users say

(out of 25 reviews)
age 7+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byr.A.i. November 29, 2010
age 7+
 

too much unnecessary raw facts of life

The main character has been abandoned by his mother. My 5-year-old did not need to know that mothers sometime abandon kids who need to live on the streets. Running from the police, breaking in, spray painting: all not behaviors that a child should see. I'm just overwhelmed by producer's stupidity in thinking: Let's show something bad and then tell them it's bad so that they can learn what is good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byDanzaJoy January 19, 2011
age 9+
 

Know what you are getting into before showing to kids under 10

I watched this film when my kids were 6 and 7. I didn't know the full story. It was much darker than I expected and ended up being a big trigger for my 6-year old fost-adopted daughter still grieving the move from her foster family to our forever family. In the end, perhaps her tears were cleaning but I wish I'd know in advance to be prepared. The child acts outside of the law, sometimes with adult support so I have mixed feelings about that: integrity outweighs rules but a challenging nuance for younger kids.
Kid, 9 years old December 13, 2009
age 2+
 

bleh..

kind a boring
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

It Made me CRY:(

Free Willy was so sad. It made me cry. It was about a boy who befriended a killer whale. I gave it a 5 star because it was very touching and sad. But if you watch it be shure to cry! :) :(
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2012
age 8+
 

free willy review

i think it is amazing because my daughter is an animal lover and she is 10 and she really liked it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byMaya16 July 23, 2015
age 6+
 

Best movie about animals

This movie does a great job portraying animal abuse. People need to take action of whales.
What other families should know
Great role models
Written byAnonymous October 3, 2014
age 8+
 

Perfect kid's movie

This is one of my favorite animal movies because there is not much violence (a boy is caught by police, there is a fight in the water) or language (one "crap) and it's also about the human-animal bond.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 13, 2012
age 4+
 

free willy

Families can talk about orca biology and behavior -- you might follow up with some online whale research together. There's also plenty of save the whales stumping, which might excite any budding activists. Talk about right and wrong? Is it okay for them to do whatever it takes to save Willy?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bycoollid June 9, 2012
age 17+
 

love it

that is the best
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old January 22, 2012
age 6+
 

Great Movie!!

I normally pass on animal movies because of the predictable plots and stupid effects but my parents rented it as a family movie and it has been my favorite movie ever since! Growing up in the Astoria/Portland area too provided fun for my little sister as she tried to point out all the places she had been.
Teen, 16 years old Written bygaby3431 December 31, 2011
age 5+
 

dolphintale

awesome movie you know
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 18, 2011
age 8+
 

awesome

this heartwarming family film is perfect for ages 8 and up.
Kid, 12 years old December 2, 2011
age 12+
 

free willy

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old June 4, 2010
age 5+
 

Free Willy,My Review

I love tihs movie,i saw it in school for having a school party at the end of school.Anyway, I recomend this movie to everyone.I like the ending part of the movie. I wont tell you anything about the movie,so you will have to see it your self.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 12, 2010
age 2+
 

good movie

everytime i watch this flim it makes me cry idk why
Kid, 11 years old April 17, 2010
age 6+
 

Orca fans!!

I love this movie because i love orcas. this is very cool and makes you wish you were the main character!
Kid, 11 years old April 16, 2010
age 7+
 

Perfect for kids, teens, and adults!

this is the best movie ever!!! i like the part when the good guys break through the gate!
Kid, 12 years old December 12, 2009
age 6+
 

a good story

a good story but i found the movie a bit boring.
Adult Written byjesus3boy October 14, 2009
Kid, 9 years old September 1, 2009
age 8+
 

its ok....

might be too upsetting for little ones though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages

Pages