All member reviews for Free Willy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old December 13, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

bleh..

kind a boring
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It Made me CRY:(

Free Willy was so sad. It made me cry. It was about a boy who befriended a killer whale. I gave it a 5 star because it was very touching and sad. But if you watch it be shure to cry! :) :(
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

free willy review

i think it is amazing because my daughter is an animal lover and she is 10 and she really liked it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 22, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!!

I normally pass on animal movies because of the predictable plots and stupid effects but my parents rented it as a family movie and it has been my favorite movie ever since! Growing up in the Astoria/Portland area too provided fun for my little sister as she tried to point out all the places she had been.
Teen, 16 years old Written bygaby3431 December 31, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

dolphintale

awesome movie you know
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 18, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

awesome

this heartwarming family film is perfect for ages 8 and up.
Kid, 12 years old December 2, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

free willy

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old June 4, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Free Willy,My Review

I love tihs movie,i saw it in school for having a school party at the end of school.Anyway, I recomend this movie to everyone.I like the ending part of the movie. I wont tell you anything about the movie,so you will have to see it your self.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 12, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

good movie

everytime i watch this flim it makes me cry idk why
Kid, 11 years old April 17, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Orca fans!!

I love this movie because i love orcas. this is very cool and makes you wish you were the main character!
Kid, 11 years old April 16, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect for kids, teens, and adults!

this is the best movie ever!!! i like the part when the good guys break through the gate!
Kid, 12 years old December 12, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

a good story

a good story but i found the movie a bit boring.
Kid, 9 years old September 1, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

its ok....

might be too upsetting for little ones though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bysemen13 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 17 years old Written byjcsoblonde April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i'll always love it

i first saw free willy at a frends house when i was really little, and ever since wenever we visited i always wanted to watch it...i love animals and especially sea creatures, so this is a definate for me, but even ppl who dont really think about animals will luv the movie, especially kids! its great i love it!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I cried!

Sad film about a boy befriending a killer whale.
Teen, 17 years old Written byBaby_Z April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY