All member reviews for Friday the 13th (2009)

Common Sense Media says

Horror remake isn't for anyone, let alone teens.
 

Users say

(out of 119 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old February 15, 2009
 

common sense, please understand kids these days.

I am 12 ok. It's not even scary. I am scared of a lot of stuff, but not this movie. Common sense, you overrate alot. My stepdad took me to see this. I absolutely loved it. I've already heard and seen everything in this movie.(BEFORE I WAS EVEN IN THE THEATRE)Kids today are exposed to a lot more. To the people who said parents aren't listening, PARENTS ARE. They just don't care because they KNOW that their kids are going to know most of that stuff anyways. So I really loved it. I liked it better than the first one. Kids, go and see it if you want. No one under 11 though. =]
Parent of a 2 year old Written byLOLOL January 26, 2010
 

the best :)

i loved it i saw it with my kids (2) (5) & (8) and hustband jimmy (70) WE ALL LOVED IT :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byyoulouzer26 July 27, 2015
 

Great, but extremely innapropiate

Over the top inappropriate, and filled with sex, violence, language, and some alcohol and drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byclarence August 5, 2015
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written bysamenv May 27, 2015
 

Is Better For 17 Year Old People Cause Is Has Sexual And Bad Words And Sexy Stuff

VERY VERY BAD FOR KIDS TO NOT LET YOUR KIDS WATCH THIS WATCH THIS IF YOUR 17 OR 18 IS BETTER
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015
 

Bloody slayings, gratuitous sex, = fun slasher flick!

Here is a remake that improves over the original, the 2009 remake of the 80's slasher flick "Friday the 13th"! It has all of the creative and graphic bloody kills and the sex scenes that everyone loves in slasher movies! I'm not saying it's the sex that makes this a good fun slasher movie, i'm saying a slasher movie is not the same without sex scenes! Plus, Jason is a badass in this movie! Overall, don't be expecting a masterpiece, expect a fun slasher flick with Jason in it!
Teen, 16 years old Written byNeonSprinkles February 2, 2015
 

Little Kids, What Is Your Problem?

I am seeing reviews by little kids, saying "Its not scary! Go take your 10 yr. old to see this!" Children, Its not scary, its crude, lewd, and inappropriate. I did watch it, and it's disgusting. We have enough violence in the world, we don't need more. Its cheap trash, and not healthy for kids, or adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byiman2425 November 9, 2014
 

SCARY

don't go camping after this movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byamina_m546 August 22, 2014
 

movie sucks

the movie was really lame but the movie is a little inappropriate but now, in society, 13 year olds know everything in the movie and wouldnt be scared at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by2jayz August 1, 2014
 

Elm Street remake is better

This isn't the best remake. Elm Street is the best remake. This is also way worse than Elm Street. The violence is about the same. It is a slasher movie, but the sex and the language is much worse. There's basically a swear word every other sentence. Lots and lots of f-bombs. There are two sex scenes. One only shows a topless woman. The next one shows a topless woman and her bottom with lots of thrusting and moaning. Not to mention that part lasted for 5 minutes. Also, a woman water skis topless. There is also lots of talk about selling drugs and taking drugs. Lots of the teens drink as we'll.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byyellowblossomflower February 8, 2014
 

NOT FOR KIDS

To tell you the truth, the movie was just bad in general. Not as good as the 1980's one. So in general, this movie is unrecommended. Boring, not really that scary. If you think violence is scary, though, then this movie would be terrifying. There is a LOT of swearing and nudity, and they don't really censor anything. Women are shown without they're tops, and many, MANY, sexual references. They even have a full-on sex scene. If you removed the violence and "horror", I think this would be the idea of a porn movie or something. If you really want to watch it, you would have to be a VERY MATURE teen to be able to watch this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMinecraftplayer101 January 4, 2014
 

Wow!!!!

I'm 12 and I even know. ITS BAD!!! All sex and play boy stuff blood neck cuts head stabs, blood gore, all nudity, curses, torture (girl hanging in sleeping bag hung above burning fire.) this movie is gore and sex galore!!!! (Should be rated X!!!)
Teen, 15 years old Written byhelldean December 22, 2013
 

Came for Jarpad, stayed forJarpad

Only reason I bothered to watch was for Jared Padalecki. If you're a huge Supernatural fan and determined to watch more of J2's work, then it might be worth it. Even then, the sex, gore, violence, cussing, and drugs was just very, very tiresome.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byrating_guy November 8, 2013
 

Friday te 13th remake review

One of the best out of the series that has a new and refreshing tone, but also is one of the most violent ones. R: Graphicand bloody violence throughout, strong language, drug and alcohol use and reference and strong sexual material involving graphic nudity(no pubic places though)-all involving older teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 5, 2013
 

yesss!!!!!

YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND that kids LIKE scary stuff so GO and WATCH it now!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJimmy Jimmy June 25, 2013
 

Not for anyone under 18. Complete trash.

I've got nothing shows a couple having sex, boobies, gore, blood, drinking, smoking, everyone is a jar head. Ugg Do not let anyone who is under 18 view this trash
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDjxAwesome121 November 23, 2012
 

Great movie just 2 much language and sex scenes.

Yeah i luv the movie i just think the sexual scenes are bad and language but besides that a pretty good movie for ages 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCole9678 November 6, 2012
 

Friday the Worst-teenth

OH MY GAWSH! I'm just going to say, i was dissapointed. SO DISAPPOINTED! I was hoping it was going to be scary, but it was predictable and, excuse me for saying so, retarded! "I'm gonna go walk off by myself" STAB!! "Me too!" STAB!! "I'm gonna go upstairs by myself to look for my jock boyfriend." STAB!! "I'm gonna water ski topless for the stupidest reason!" DEATH!! Beside that, the sex and nudity is inappropiately frequent. Not even neccessary. It's stupid. Boring. Waste of money, as commen sense said. DON"T GO NEAR IT!!!! D:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMBAscratcher September 11, 2012
 

Great Movie!

This is about as violent as Barney, or maybe even "Minecr*ft". It is absolutely hilarious and cute! Perfect family movie! They teach you not to do really bad things, or else you may end up with a knife through your back! This lesson can be applied to real life. Jason is a very good role model; always remember to teach wrong-doers a lesson! :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bycaptainhowdy July 29, 2012
 

TEENS ONLY!!!

This friday the 13 remake is better than the original 1980s version but more drug use,sex,violents this is a good movie but should not be seen if your 12 or under maby not even 13,depends on the parent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages