Kid reviews for Friday the 13th (2009)

Common Sense says

Horror remake isn't for anyone, let alone teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 38 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 100 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written bynightmaric June 12, 2009

Let anyone 13+ go....

I'm tired of people so fed up about violence and sex. You teach us about sex in Health class then refuse to tell us it exists in the real world. Violence is spread through the news, word of mouth and when it actually happens. So we know it happens and most likely most teens will not commit murder for watching horror movies. Normally it comes from bad parenting and bad childhoods, yes those are signs of a young serial killer. Bad childhood/paernts, and killing small animals. Anyway this movie is violent and sexed up but My age and up can easily handle it, but if you have someone who does not like the sight of blood or deathj I would not recommend it.
Teen, 15 years old Written bySkylax369 March 13, 2019

15+ But exceptable, why....

Well yeah it has sex drugs and violence, but parents are like “OH MY GOD SEX!!!, NO MY KID MUST NOT KNOW ABOUT THAT EVENT THOUGH HES GOING TO DO IT” do you want your kids to be virgins, but anyways there is intense violence and torture so that is why I’ll give this a 15+, but overall great movie, and also just get rid of the LITERALL MOTORBOAT SCENE, like literally naked on a motor boat, the movies great!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byJam303 February 1, 2019

one of the good horror remakes

Really well thought out .

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheRealParodyProsYT December 18, 2018

Good remake bad movie if that makes sense

OK NOPE NOT FOR KIDS TEENS OR ANYONE REALLY lets of over the top nudity and sex, very disturbing, lots of blood, and gets pretty f---ing scary, it is a really decent movie I would say but so many things hold it back the nudity, the characters, the best part is Jason he is scary, intimidating, all the usual but it's just not well-written, I mean the acting is fine I guess but not that good of a movie

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byshokolad November 1, 2018

Ew.

Okay, so recently I have gotten into horror movies, and I wanted to watch Friday the 13th, since it was one of the classics. My first mistake with this movie was getting the 2009 remake instead of the original. My second mistake was wasting my time by watching the 20 minutes of repulsion that I could get actually get through. I mean, good lord, is this a horror movie or porn? Don't waste your time.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byBobideybob August 5, 2018

f13 (2009 remake)

probably my favorite of all the friday the 13th movies, i would say 14, but different parents have different mind sets so if your parents dont like you watching stuff with nude ppl in it then dont bother with this one, or at least skip some of it, also its pretty good, not SUPER SUPER gory but it is gory for a f13 movie. i dont remember how much swearing there was so im gonna let that be. And they do drink, but i dont think that is too bad if ppl drink in a movie. But i would say probably 14+ Thanks for listening!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 17 years old Written bySam weun June 30, 2018

It's not scary at all

Users 6+ can watch this

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byConnorsmith567 March 27, 2018

I love it

it's a good horror film
Teen, 16 years old Written byMovieGeek12345 September 24, 2017

Surprisingly good remake.

A lot of people dislike this remake and say it brings nothing new to the table, especially when it comes to Friday the 13th, which have done everything. While this maybe true, I was a fan of the much more malicious Jason, who was depicted as a deranged maniac like in part 2, who actually sets up traps for the teens which is much more realistic and scary than in part 2. The cast this time around was actually rather decent, even the comic relief characters were good. However, the movie loses massive points for it's clichéd and frustrating ending where Jason is revived and attacks at the last minute, but overall I did have fun with this film, a warning to parents though. This is the most graphic of the Friday the 13th movies in terms of violence and sex/nudity and coming from this franchise that is not something to take lightly when letting your child watch this.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by2jayz August 1, 2014

Elm Street remake is better

This isn't the best remake. Elm Street is the best remake. This is also way worse than Elm Street. The violence is about the same. It is a slasher movie, but the sex and the language is much worse. There's basically a swear word every other sentence. Lots and lots of f-bombs. There are two sex scenes. One only shows a topless woman. The next one shows a topless woman and her bottom with lots of thrusting and moaning. Not to mention that part lasted for 5 minutes. Also, a woman water skis topless. There is also lots of talk about selling drugs and taking drugs. Lots of the teens drink as we'll.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byyellowblossomflower February 8, 2014

NOT FOR KIDS

To tell you the truth, the movie was just bad in general. Not as good as the 1980's one. So in general, this movie is unrecommended. Boring, not really that scary. If you think violence is scary, though, then this movie would be terrifying. There is a LOT of swearing and nudity, and they don't really censor anything. Women are shown without they're tops, and many, MANY, sexual references. They even have a full-on sex scene. If you removed the violence and "horror", I think this would be the idea of a porn movie or something. If you really want to watch it, you would have to be a VERY MATURE teen to be able to watch this.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byMinecraftplayer101 January 4, 2014

Wow!!!!

I'm 12 and I even know. ITS BAD!!! All sex and play boy stuff blood neck cuts head stabs, blood gore, all nudity, curses, torture (girl hanging in sleeping bag hung above burning fire.) this movie is gore and sex galore!!!! (Should be rated X!!!)
Teen, 15 years old Written byhelldean December 22, 2013

Came for Jarpad, stayed forJarpad

Only reason I bothered to watch was for Jared Padalecki. If you're a huge Supernatural fan and determined to watch more of J2's work, then it might be worth it. Even then, the sex, gore, violence, cussing, and drugs was just very, very tiresome.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDjxAwesome121 November 23, 2012

Great movie just 2 much language and sex scenes.

Yeah i luv the movie i just think the sexual scenes are bad and language but besides that a pretty good movie for ages 12 and up.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMBAscratcher September 11, 2012

Great Movie!

This is about as violent as Barney, or maybe even "Minecr*ft". It is absolutely hilarious and cute! Perfect family movie! They teach you not to do really bad things, or else you may end up with a knife through your back! This lesson can be applied to real life. Jason is a very good role model; always remember to teach wrong-doers a lesson! :D

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bycaptainhowdy July 29, 2012

TEENS ONLY!!!

This friday the 13 remake is better than the original 1980s version but more drug use,sex,violents this is a good movie but should not be seen if your 12 or under maby not even 13,depends on the parent

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjazmin15 June 10, 2012

ok

it was alright there was some parts i didnt like and i dont think kids shouldnt be able to watch this

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byLudorf May 14, 2012

Fun

Lets see, its great for a kids first slasher film, its scary to them and it will be the first time they see boobs in a movie, good for a group of kids to watch at a sleepover

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byXstry May 6, 2012

Friday the 13th

This movie has extremely, graphic, bloody violence but it was actually pretty good and very suspenseful. Off for kids younger than 14. iffy for 15-16 and good for 17 plus

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 February 18, 2012

slighty better than the original, but more brutal too!

this movie is great! but not clearly as kid friendly as the original

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages