All member reviews for Friday the 13th (2009)

Common Sense Media says

Horror remake isn't for anyone, let alone teens.

Users say

(out of 122 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Parent of a 17 year old Written byfunnyboy September 9, 2009
Not very good . if you know your kid let him watch it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 10, 2016
it's a dark film, and it has lots of strong sexual content and references. it disappointing and brutal. I would NOT recommend it for kids and even if you and your kids are a fan of the Friday the 13th films don't see it . Stick with the originals. hope the 2017 movie will better. I recommend it to 18 years olds and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byiman2425 November 9, 2014

SCARY

don't go camping after this movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byamina_m546 August 22, 2014

movie sucks

the movie was really lame but the movie is a little inappropriate but now, in society, 13 year olds know everything in the movie and wouldnt be scared at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJimmy Jimmy June 25, 2013

Not for anyone under 18. Complete trash.

I've got nothing shows a couple having sex, boobies, gore, blood, drinking, smoking, everyone is a jar head. Ugg Do not let anyone who is under 18 view this trash
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCole9678 November 6, 2012

Friday the Worst-teenth

OH MY GAWSH! I'm just going to say, i was dissapointed. SO DISAPPOINTED! I was hoping it was going to be scary, but it was predictable and, excuse me for saying so, retarded! "I'm gonna go walk off by myself" STAB!! "Me too!" STAB!! "I'm gonna go upstairs by myself to look for my jock boyfriend." STAB!! "I'm gonna water ski topless for the stupidest reason!" DEATH!! Beside that, the sex and nudity is inappropiately frequent. Not even neccessary. It's stupid. Boring. Waste of money, as commen sense said. DON"T GO NEAR IT!!!! D:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 3 and 14 year old Written byVAstuart22 December 9, 2010
Horrible
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byEvanReviews August 14, 2009

Typical slasher movie...

Typical slasher movie with a high amount of gore and sexualtiy. Profanity is also moderatly heavy and teens are constantly drinking and smoking. also references to marijuana growing and selling. Pretty bad :(
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavispittman December 13, 2016

So-So

This remake of the classic 1980 horror is just ok, nothing terrible but also nothing too special. The writing is mediocre, the acting is just ok, and it has a cookie cutter plot. With all this, somehow it still manages in some parts to still be entertaining. But parents please know that this horror remake is chock full of graphic violence that is vetu likely to disturb younger teens. There is also a sex scene that is too long and way too graphic in my opinion, showing very graphic movement along with female backside and breast nudity. Then throw in an abundance of profane language, and you've got a film that is only suitable for teens 17 and older. That is, if you even think it's worth your time, versus another better horror movie. And just FYI in case you are just determined to see this, maybe wait for a tv edited version, it comes on every Halloween. You and your teen could see that version and it be more appropriate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byNeon_Fish September 5, 2015

Bad

I watched this when I was 9 because I heard some boys at school talking about it . it freaked the hell out of me and I had nightmares for months of a man in a mask chasing me. I realise that was my own fault but I recommend if you are a kid who thinks watching horror movies is cool, it's really not that cool. I re watched this movie recently because I was at my friends house, I have to say the violence is still horrific and the murders are so disturbing. If you have a weak stomach or are under 18, DO NOT WATCH THIS. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by2jayz August 1, 2014

Elm Street remake is better

This isn't the best remake. Elm Street is the best remake. This is also way worse than Elm Street. The violence is about the same. It is a slasher movie, but the sex and the language is much worse. There's basically a swear word every other sentence. Lots and lots of f-bombs. There are two sex scenes. One only shows a topless woman. The next one shows a topless woman and her bottom with lots of thrusting and moaning. Not to mention that part lasted for 5 minutes. Also, a woman water skis topless. There is also lots of talk about selling drugs and taking drugs. Lots of the teens drink as we'll.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byyellowblossomflower February 8, 2014

NOT FOR KIDS

To tell you the truth, the movie was just bad in general. Not as good as the 1980's one. So in general, this movie is unrecommended. Boring, not really that scary. If you think violence is scary, though, then this movie would be terrifying. There is a LOT of swearing and nudity, and they don't really censor anything. Women are shown without they're tops, and many, MANY, sexual references. They even have a full-on sex scene. If you removed the violence and "horror", I think this would be the idea of a porn movie or something. If you really want to watch it, you would have to be a VERY MATURE teen to be able to watch this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMinecraftplayer101 January 4, 2014

Wow!!!!

I'm 12 and I even know. ITS BAD!!! All sex and play boy stuff blood neck cuts head stabs, blood gore, all nudity, curses, torture (girl hanging in sleeping bag hung above burning fire.) this movie is gore and sex galore!!!! (Should be rated X!!!)
Teen, 15 years old Written byhelldean December 22, 2013

Came for Jarpad, stayed forJarpad

Only reason I bothered to watch was for Jared Padalecki. If you're a huge Supernatural fan and determined to watch more of J2's work, then it might be worth it. Even then, the sex, gore, violence, cussing, and drugs was just very, very tiresome.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byrating_guy November 8, 2013

Friday te 13th remake review

One of the best out of the series that has a new and refreshing tone, but also is one of the most violent ones. R: Graphicand bloody violence throughout, strong language, drug and alcohol use and reference and strong sexual material involving graphic nudity(no pubic places though)-all involving older teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 5, 2013

yesss!!!!!

YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND that kids LIKE scary stuff so GO and WATCH it now!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDjxAwesome121 November 23, 2012

Great movie just 2 much language and sex scenes.

Yeah i luv the movie i just think the sexual scenes are bad and language but besides that a pretty good movie for ages 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMBAscratcher September 11, 2012

Great Movie!

This is about as violent as Barney, or maybe even "Minecr*ft". It is absolutely hilarious and cute! Perfect family movie! They teach you not to do really bad things, or else you may end up with a knife through your back! This lesson can be applied to real life. Jason is a very good role model; always remember to teach wrong-doers a lesson! :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bycaptainhowdy July 29, 2012

TEENS ONLY!!!

This friday the 13 remake is better than the original 1980s version but more drug use,sex,violents this is a good movie but should not be seen if your 12 or under maby not even 13,depends on the parent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjazmin15 June 10, 2012

ok

it was alright there was some parts i didnt like and i dont think kids shouldnt be able to watch this
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages