All member reviews for Friday the 13th (2009)

Common Sense Media says

Horror remake isn't for anyone, let alone teens.

Users say

(out of 121 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byXstry May 6, 2012

Friday the 13th

This movie has extremely, graphic, bloody violence but it was actually pretty good and very suspenseful. Off for kids younger than 14. iffy for 15-16 and good for 17 plus
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 February 18, 2012

slighty better than the original, but more brutal too!

this movie is great! but not clearly as kid friendly as the original
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 5, 2012

ok but not great

Not a kids movie. But anyways commonsense so what it has some sexual things in it so what that's what the kids like these days. And the violence does get a little gory at places but really the only terrible thing in this movie is what Jason actually does to people and the bad story line otherwise it's not actually that bad
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 January 15, 2012

The old version was better.

Ok,I have seen all the Friday the 13th movies from the 1982 version to this so I pretty much knew what to expect.although I will say that this is much more graphic than the ones made in the 1900s bcuz the violence is shown in explicit detail.anyway,I missed this at the movies so my dad had to get the killer cut from blockbuster.i think the killer cut is much worse,there's wayyyyyyyyy more sex,violence and blood.the killer cut is iffy for 13 ,this is iffy for 12.
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2012

This is inappropriate

I think this movie is completely inappropriate. A bunch of sex and nudity. As long as your ok with swearing. But if u love horror movies this is a good movie for you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byBart700 December 8, 2011

i rather buy candy

worst friday the 13h ever i spen 25 $ on this c**p
Teen, 13 years old Written bySanjay407 November 25, 2011

Read

Graphic Violence, Sex, Language and Almost Graphic Drug Use
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 20, 2011

My MPAA rating and Friday the 13th review

MPAA rating: R for strong bloody violence,sexuality,Nudity,language and drug use. My review This movie is awesome endless scenes of violence blood gore and killing, for someone who likes horror or action movies buy friday the 13 killer cut or theatrical DVD or blu-ray P.S this movie aint scary at all.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byscissorluv971 October 14, 2011

A Poem For Jason

Oh Jason. You really need a facebook. You need to search Coroner Bludworth or Final destination or something because thou killeth people very stupidly! You haveth no motive! Talk to some people. Like Mr. Ghostface. A creative killer be-eth that lad! So my message to you is: FIND A MORE FUNNY WAY TO KILL PEOPLE OR I'LL SUE YOUR FRANCHISE! [O BTW is Mark Walberg in this movie? If so why? He's a good actor he doesn't need to do this torture porn crap!] [weeks later] hey I'm back!! I'm here to give another very unsympathetic review/letter on Friday the 13th! Lets begin! Dear Jason, I understand that your peeved off about drowning in the 80's, but dude you asked for it.. swimming without floaties? In the deep end? WTF????? Then whats worse is that in the original you let your MOMMY kill people! Your mommy? Really? Aren't man enough to make your own people sandwiches??(woah that was dark) And now your back, new decade new franchise and were all here thinking "Oh boy Jason's gonna make some new giggity kills in 3D!!!" But nooooo you just decide to be uncreative and stupid. as I said before, call people, screw around with them before you kill them... dont cut their heads off, its too funny. I walked into that theater to get scared ****less, not to laugh myself a six pack! If I wanted a six pack in 2009 I would have walked into The Final Destination!! So please be more creative, thank you for understanding!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byvan3xpxo September 15, 2011

not for kids

this movie had more sex than killing for my satisfaction. The scenes with jason killing were pretty good. But i feel that there was not enough of it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 9, 2011

Pause for all ages

I loved it! Though sexual stuff is bad, people swear nonstop, Jason kills almost like ,12 teens. A boy goes searching for his ost sister, and a girl helps him even though her friends hate him. If you do not believe I saw it, in the beggining they are looking for majorina, and 5 teens get killed brutaly and jason leaves whinny to live, in the middle, and groupd of teens come and jason start killing them, then at the end, they kill jason, throw him into a lake, but he comes back alive
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old May 8, 2011

Hate it

I did not watched it yet but it does have a lot of kissing.......
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old May 3, 2011

no kids at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

my friend saw it i havent though and he said there is constant sexual conten and violence. beer and wine drinkind and loads of violence.he would recomen this to 30 and older. also there are alot of uses of f...k and s..t just to warn you parents.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemonster98 April 12, 2011

Soooooo inappropriate!! Not for kids at all! Only for adults!!!

SO violent and loaded with sex!!! Not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBrandon4News April 11, 2011

It won't bother many teens, but it's highly inappropriate.

Violence- 10/10 Sexual Content- 10/10 Language- 10/10 Drinking, drugs, smoking- 10/10 Bad Role Models- 8/10 Overall Quality- 3.5/10
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 31, 2011

gayest, plothole-ful movie

Because it almost comes up to the edge to older kids. And it also has horrific plot holes. I recommend it for ladies and gentlemen 17 and over
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreg Foltynowicz March 29, 2011
Very bloody and scary!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bydavidguitar15..... March 22, 2011
Awesome movie but not for kids....lots of nude scenes and gore and strong language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 13, 2010

scary n bad

this movie was pretty bad but it was scary as heck.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byFrankieStineMon... November 4, 2010

great horror film. not as good as the original but it was good

i wached this movie when i was 11. i wached all the friday the thirteenth movies. (im actualy 12) it really depends what kind of person you are. i wached a nightmare on elm street to. it was ok. this movie wasent bad. but it was not as good as the original. but at the end i loved the suprise. :) COMMON SENSE! IT WAS NOT THAT BAD! 1 star. i give it 3 or four stars. ok made up my mind. 4 stars. :)

Pages