All member reviews for Friday the 13th (2009)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Horror remake isn't for anyone, let alone teens.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 115 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byhelldean December 22, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Came for Jarpad, stayed forJarpad

Only reason I bothered to watch was for Jared Padalecki. If you're a huge Supernatural fan and determined to watch more of J2's work, then it might be worth it. Even then, the sex, gore, violence, cussing, and drugs was just very, very tiresome.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byrating_guy November 8, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Friday te 13th remake review

One of the best out of the series that has a new and refreshing tone, but also is one of the most violent ones. R: Graphicand bloody violence throughout, strong language, drug and alcohol use and reference and strong sexual material involving graphic nudity(no pubic places though)-all involving older teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 5, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

yesss!!!!!

YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND that kids LIKE scary stuff so GO and WATCH it now!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJimmy Jimmy June 25, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for anyone under 18. Complete trash.

I've got nothing shows a couple having sex, boobies, gore, blood, drinking, smoking, everyone is a jar head. Ugg Do not let anyone who is under 18 view this trash
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDjxAwesome121 November 23, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie just 2 much language and sex scenes.

Yeah i luv the movie i just think the sexual scenes are bad and language but besides that a pretty good movie for ages 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCole9678 November 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Friday the Worst-teenth

OH MY GAWSH! I'm just going to say, i was dissapointed. SO DISAPPOINTED! I was hoping it was going to be scary, but it was predictable and, excuse me for saying so, retarded! "I'm gonna go walk off by myself" STAB!! "Me too!" STAB!! "I'm gonna go upstairs by myself to look for my jock boyfriend." STAB!! "I'm gonna water ski topless for the stupidest reason!" DEATH!! Beside that, the sex and nudity is inappropiately frequent. Not even neccessary. It's stupid. Boring. Waste of money, as commen sense said. DON"T GO NEAR IT!!!! D:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMBAscratcher September 11, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!

This is about as violent as Barney, or maybe even "Minecr*ft". It is absolutely hilarious and cute! Perfect family movie! They teach you not to do really bad things, or else you may end up with a knife through your back! This lesson can be applied to real life. Jason is a very good role model; always remember to teach wrong-doers a lesson! :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bycaptainhowdy July 29, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

TEENS ONLY!!!

This friday the 13 remake is better than the original 1980s version but more drug use,sex,violents this is a good movie but should not be seen if your 12 or under maby not even 13,depends on the parent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjazmin15 June 10, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

ok

it was alright there was some parts i didnt like and i dont think kids shouldnt be able to watch this
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byXstry May 6, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Friday the 13th

This movie has extremely, graphic, bloody violence but it was actually pretty good and very suspenseful. Off for kids younger than 14. iffy for 15-16 and good for 17 plus
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 January 15, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

The old version was better.

Ok,I have seen all the Friday the 13th movies from the 1982 version to this so I pretty much knew what to expect.although I will say that this is much more graphic than the ones made in the 1900s bcuz the violence is shown in explicit detail.anyway,I missed this at the movies so my dad had to get the killer cut from blockbuster.i think the killer cut is much worse,there's wayyyyyyyyy more sex,violence and blood.the killer cut is iffy for 13 ,this is iffy for 12.
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This is inappropriate

I think this movie is completely inappropriate. A bunch of sex and nudity. As long as your ok with swearing. But if u love horror movies this is a good movie for you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of an infant, 2, 4, 7, and 11 year old Written bylindsey678 January 29, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

BAD PARENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YOU ARE BAD PARENTS THAT TOOK KIDS 14 AND UNDER
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 17, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Older teens only!

I don't know what made it different from the other slashers, but this was amazing! Warning: there are graphic anal sex scenes as well as regular. I am not sure, BUT HAVE HEARD, that the unrated version shows penis entering vagina up close. Many sex scenes, in one, the guy keeps tell the girl she has perfect t*ts, while the guys girlfriend knocks on the door outside. Nudity is shown many times in sex scenes and in a porn magazine. Violence is disgusting, intense and disturbing. Machetes, screw drivers, you name it, they have it. Lots of alcohol/drug use. A person is shown drinking beer from his shoe, during a drinking game. Marijuana is discussed, and when a guy looks for a place to pee, he sees a marijuana leaf, follwed by his friends dead, bloody body. During sex, girl wants guy to check if they are being watched, and he says "I'm not going out there with a b*ner" girl says: if you don't your not getting any for a week/month. (I forget how long she said.) still, my bloody valentine has more graphic nudity than this, (that one shows a vagina.) and overall friday the 13th was awesome!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bybradley4846 June 6, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good, But Predictable

This shouldn't say no kids, other movies that are less are for younger kids. I dont think i need to put that there is extremly bloody violence in this movie, but there is. There is also graphic sex scenes (2). And many topless females. There is also some drug refrences. I do have to say b4 the title scene is the best ive seen. Near the end the movie gets depressing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysouthparkfan14 May 23, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

better

it was better then i thought it would be but one of the death were someone gets killed by a woodchipper machine is nasty!
Teen, 15 years old Written bypeanutbuttergurl6 February 17, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

what happend??

this movie wasn't what i expected at all. Just pointless killings and nude scenes. What ever happend to the classic horro films that don't make the audience waste thier time. If you actually enjoyed this movie, then go check out my bloody valentine.i meana like, why mess with a classic ya' know
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 30, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This movie was really good. For teens it is a little bit akward seeing it with your parents,because there is so uch sex and nudity. The "F" word is used many times. The volience in this movie is very cool but teeth grinching. All in all i love this movie and you will too if your a mature 12 year old or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNICKYNICK67 December 22, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

I would say way older depending on how you care about violence, language, substance abuse, and nudity

I thought it was a very good movie however this is NOT for children there is frontal nudity for about half a minute, Violence is way out of line along with gore, Language or basically the "F" word is used throughout
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 28, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!!

I loved this movie! totally sick!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages

Pages