All member reviews for Friday the 13th (2009)

Common Sense Media says

Horror remake isn't for anyone, let alone teens.
 

Users say

(out of 119 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old January 23, 2010
 

more then it needs to be good

WAY TOO MUCH NUDITY. IT shows breasts for at least 2 minuters total its just disgusting at parts other than that great movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 14, 2010
 
this is not for kids under 16
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 30, 2009
 
This movie was really good. For teens it is a little bit akward seeing it with your parents,because there is so uch sex and nudity. The "F" word is used many times. The volience in this movie is very cool but teeth grinching. All in all i love this movie and you will too if your a mature 12 year old or older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNICKYNICK67 December 22, 2009
 

I would say way older depending on how you care about violence, language, substance abuse, and nudity

I thought it was a very good movie however this is NOT for children there is frontal nudity for about half a minute, Violence is way out of line along with gore, Language or basically the "F" word is used throughout
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 28, 2009
 

AWESOME!!

I loved this movie! totally sick!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 1, 3, 8, and 10 year old Written byJacobyShaddix32 November 27, 2009
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 14, 2009
 

Not very good

Definetly not as good as the originals. This movie was not very good. If your going to watch one. Watch the 1980 version!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old November 13, 2009
 

Not very scary

This movie, which you may not beleive, actually wasn't that scary. I saw this movie at 9:00 and I wasn't even scared when I went to bed. I recommend this movie for ages 11+ depending on how much you can take. I recommend this movie if you have liked the previous movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byPuppyluv13 November 3, 2009
 

Okay for 14+ much more recomended for 16+

Excellent movie for fans of Jason, unfourtunately a disapointment for people who don't particularly enjoy the inapropriate parts in it but I would say it's Age apropriate for 16+ and iffy for 14+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byzasios13 October 19, 2009
 

don't.just don't

this has everything parents loathed in the original but nothing fans liked.Nothing likable.nothing for kids.this move is awful.case closed.thank you, im off to wash the taste of this movie out with halloween.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymike3600 October 13, 2009
 

JAson

this movies sucks but if u just want to watch a fuuny stupid horror film watch this 2 axes to the back out of 5
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byluke3854 October 11, 2009
 

Horror classic ( MATURE )

first off its scared me . there is alot of gore ,violence, and sexual references my advice is if you are a MATURE horror fan 14 + then i recommend it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4, 7, 9, 10, and 14 year old Written byLifeisGr8 October 2, 2009
 

Good But Not Great!

I Went To Blockbuster To Get Race To Witch Mountain But It Was Sold Out And My 10 Year Old Just Picked Up Friday The 13th Killer Cut And He Gave It To Me And I Bought It. My Kids Watched It And They Liked It. This Movie Had Some Gore, Lots Of Sexual Content And Tons Of Drinking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byfunnyboy September 9, 2009
 
Not very good . if you know your kid let him watch it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byEvanReviews August 14, 2009
 

Typical slasher movie...

Typical slasher movie with a high amount of gore and sexualtiy. Profanity is also moderatly heavy and teens are constantly drinking and smoking. also references to marijuana growing and selling. Pretty bad :(
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 11, 2009
 

bad parent alert

your a bad parent KIDZROCK707
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byyurmom August 11, 2009
 

XXX RATED

NOBODY SHOULD BE ABLE TO SEE THIS MOVIE WHEATHER THEY ARE 18 OR 100! THIS IS THE WORST AND MOST VIOLENT MOVIE IVE SEEN IN MY WHOLE 50 YEARS! YOU SHOULD BE EMBARRASED TO WALK INTO THE THETRE I KNOW I WAS! I WOULD BE ASHAMED OF MYSELF. YOU PROBABLY ONLY WANT IN FOR THE "BAD" PARTS. ! SHAME ON YOU
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bycmratcli July 9, 2009
 

Nothing Kids Dont Hear or See Naturally

I thought this movie was great and most teens are mature enough to see it.we ear stuff lyk this everyday and its no big deal to us.if u are a mature teen then there is no problem with this movie
Parent of a 13, 14, 16, and 16 year old Written bygamesrater55 July 6, 2009
 

13 and up if interested

If you will read the thing above about Jason being a "psychopath", that is actually a lie. He his a severely mentally-retarded kid who everyone made fun of in high school but they went too far and killed him. So his mother is and great grief and she uses some sort of spell that will bring her "now 40-year-old son" take revenge on anyone who dares lay a hand on the camp or deathplace of him. Excellent movie, some mild sex scenes,and a little bit of profanity. There is some what of a lot of violence if you get the unrated version but nothing that would be a "SAW 4", certainly any 13-year old boy would develop good companion skills and enjoy this. I know you would not want yourself too think a lonesome retarded guy is inappropriate for your kids.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byyummyyummy81694 July 1, 2009
 

If you like horror movies check it out

If you like horror movies definately watch this. Its so much beter than the horrible remake of my bloody valentine. And unlike many of the newer horror movies this one is decently scary. Pretty explicit though...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages