All member reviews for Funny People

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written bydarkness18 August 15, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

for parents

i hatedthe movie cause its not funny an its not what you think parents i wouldn't take no kids to see that movie and you be disappointed
Teen, 15 years old Written byeastside01 August 19, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Funny People

Funny People is Judd Apatow's third film in his comedy trio but this one feels as a dramedy. Adam Sandler gives one of his best performances on screen they give Sandler something to work with and challenge himself with. Seth Rogen gives comic relief as his writer and suprisingly Leslie Mann is enjoyable in it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bydawtpbwv July 18, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not Funny People

Funny People is not a funny movie, don't get confused. This IS Adam Sandler's best movie. Switching from a kid's entertainer to a mature comedian with issues. Seth Rogen is great as his assistant who is now starting to move up in Hollywood. (Seth) There is foul language around every corner and sexual content has never been greater. However, this is a good look at the reality of superstrars and life around them. Don't be confused and think that your favorite actor/star has the perfect life. It may be bad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

funny funny funny

funny people in a funny movie it teaches us about humor and in a raunchy way it has its heart in the right place and has two hilarious men: adam sandler and seth rogen. a little sad too
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bybradley4846 January 18, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
First off, i may not remeber everything cause it was so long..., but it was worth it. It wasnt as innaproprite as i thought. For sex, there is explicit dialogue thruought, and two sex scenes (one shows breasts) but these last for like 5 seconds each. The language is continuous with f**k (myb 50-100 times), c**k (1-5 times) and other minor words.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 6, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Funny movie

Funny movie might not interest kids because of length and it is mostly standup but amazing story this shows that judd aptow has some range with movies
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNeil13 March 29, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny and Kinda sad towards the beginning.

This was a great movie, more dramatic than I thought, but that was sa very good thing. Loved it!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJWilliams303 November 26, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hated it

Parents need to know that this movie isnt even worth watching. the jokes are stupid, the language is really not necessary, and a lot of crude sexual talk. I thought it was so bad that i didnt even watch it all.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. March 5, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Check out my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byiluvzmoosyk August 18, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Loved it!

This movie is great. I loved it. But if you're over 16, don't go with your parents, only because it talks about awkward subjects. No offence to parents. -i-luvz-moosyk
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybdunn98 August 9, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
This is a good movie. It is one of sandlers best yet. Keep in mind though there is sex and a lot of language and penis stuff.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bykojitheman November 17, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

sad

Great sad movie. My rating: Strong language throughout, some sexuality and nudity, and some drug use.
Teen, 14 years old Written byBrandon4News May 26, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

One of the finest dramadies of the past 25 years.

"Funny People" has raunchy humor and sex, but more character drama and a big ol' heart.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 13, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great movie

This is a great movie. There are 3 sex scenes. Two of them inculde bare breasts. The third, a man proforms oral sex on a woman. The language is also quite pervasive.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 August 9, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
There's swearing, sexual dialogue and some actual sex. It's not too bad and I think anyone over 11 can handle it.Though some of the jokes may be over their heads.It's a very good movie. I love Judd Apatow's work. Knocked Up was excellent and this movie is just as good, if not a little bit better.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBestPicture1996 January 1, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Bloated comedy, but fine performances around

Let me start this off with NO comedy should be 2 1/2 hours, even if it's the king of raunchy comedy himself Judd Apatow. The movie could've been done in 100 minutes. That in mind, "Funny People" features a non-stupid performance by Adam Sandler (for once) and a good supporting cast. It's not all that funny, more of a character study that takes a long time to develop.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bystan101 April 29, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

both adam sandlers and seth rogens worst movie.

pretty bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 March 3, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Very funny

This movie is about a man fighting a disease, and sends a very good message beneath the language
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn January 17, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Explicit but meaningful comedy is raunchy, but worth it

Judd Apatow, who specializes in very raunchy and very funny comedies had, in the summer of 2009, finalll released a movie that was actually a littl;e bit more. That movie was called, of course, Funny People. And, at first glance, this may seem like just another one of Apatow's raunchy comedies, and, honestly, it is. But, what makes it so much more than that, is the simple few facts that; It has a heart. It understands pain and suffering. It understands the dullness and mundane life that has become of popular celebrities, who are now more lonely and miserable than evertything. And, above all, Funny People understands how people related to life with so many different essences of personal pain. Sure. It's just a comedy. But what a comedy it is. While I love almost every movie that Apatow directs, produces or writes, which includes The 40 Year old Virgin, Knocked Up, Step Brothers, Get him to the Greek, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, and so much more, Funny People, to me, is actually a rather large cut above them, and a cut above the rest of the comedies like this one. But, despite all this positivity I have for it, this movie carries an extremely deserved R Rating: There is extremely frequent, explicit and crude sexual humor throughout the movie, including many, many, many raunchy jokes about genitalia, sex and pretyy well anything else that relates to that topic. Also, to go along with that, there are a total of four very graphic and crude sex scenes, which are also very, very funny. And, finally, there is a pretty well equal amount of strong profanity throughout the movie, as well, with about 165 uses of the F-word and it's derivatives, which also includes sh-t, d-ck, c-ck, -ss, h-ll, d-mn, g-dd-mn, n-gg-r, p-ssy and more. So, while you may think that this is just another comedy with Apatow hammering at his raunchy jokes like he always does, well, it is. But's it's so much more than that. (Plus, it's funny as hell)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking