All member reviews for Galaxy Quest

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Hilarious, fast, funny, fresh fun for the family.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bylartisane May 1, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Think twice before showing to a young child...

THE TORTURING OF THE ALIEN HAS BEEN DISTURBING FOR OUR CHILD AS WELL AS THE DEATH AND THE SMALL CHILD LIKE ALIENS WHO ATTACK IN NUMBERS TO EAT ONE OF THEIR OWN WAS THE FIRST DISTURBING PART THAT MADE ME RECONSIDER THE MOVIE FOR OUR CHILD.AS ADULT WE DID NOT SEE ALL THAT CONTENT BEFORE HAVING A CHILD AND I HAD FORGOTTEN THOSE PARTS TO MY REGRET.ONCE AGAIN I WILL SCREEN THE MOVIES BEFORE HAND...!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 11 year old Written bybobsax May 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good for older kids over 10 or 11.

It's a funny movie but I agree that it has a fair amount of adult humor that wasn't mentioned . It seems that in the old days movies had to have profanity to be cool. To bad. Good for older kids .
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAshnak April 9, 2008
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Spoof type movie

This movie would be an excellent spoof movie if they had less breast shots.
Adult Written byrhileman April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

this movie made me laugh out loud

this is a movie the whole family can watch and also enjoy.
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byDavisflyer March 13, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

IT is a great movie, but the language is not mild as indicated

This is a good movie, but the 8 yr old rating is way too low given the language in the movie. I started watching it with my 11 year old and felt bad afterward. Boobs, sh*t, GD, A$$, are used, probably a couple others I can't remember either!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byLinuxHawk May 3, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

This uses Gods name as filth

Movie would have been good except they Profane Gods name. They did not have to to make an adventure, as in Star Wars, but Hollywood will try to make it OK to use Gods name in place of a 4 letter filth word, I would rather hear the filth word.
Parent of a 3, 4, and 6 year old Written bymarianpriegel February 12, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Beware of the "more than mild" language for younger viewers

"God D--n" "sh-t" - among others were used in just the first few scenes of the movie. Also, more adult humor than expected.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byrjricci April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

we laughted out loud

i just watched this with three 10 year old girls and and 8 year old and my husband and we were all laughing out loud. i had to explain a few times about the setting - a star trek like group of actors and all their fans at a huge convention - but the kids all really enjoyed it, even though they've never seen star trek or anything similar. this is just a funny movie! it's worth grabbing at the video store.
Parent of a 9, 9, and 16 year old Written byebmunz May 23, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Fun but edgy for kids

My son said this was either the funniest scary movie or the scariest funny movie he'd ever seen. There are some frightening images even in a scifi context. You need to watch this with your kids.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, infant, 3, and 5 year old Written byMississippiQueen January 7, 2009
Parent Written byathenix22 January 12, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not for 8-year olds, but really funny!

Tim Allen is hilarious and this movie is about a group of former TV stars who meet up at sci-fi conventions (it is a spoof about Star Trek) until they are actually drawn into a real life out of this world experience with aliens from another galaxy. I loved it but it is not okay for 8-year olds with the drinking, cussing (GD, sh*t, D*mn it), sexual suggestiveness (women's breasts and making out), torture and threat to life. I think kids 12 years old or above and adults will really enjoy this film.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byK bug November 4, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Galaxy Quest

Hilarious. At the end a lot of cleavege is shown with the Woman. There are a few scary images and some viloence but nothing an 11 or 12 year old cant handle. Its a hilarious move though and i loved it!!!
Parent of a 12 year old Written byhipchick97 May 22, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Great movie very funny!!!!!
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston May 24, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Love it!!!

I love the 1999 film Galaxy Quest. It is so awesome. I love the humor. When I saw it in theaters back in 1999, I was laughing NON-STOP. I'm not joking. I recommend this film to any sci-fi fan. P.S. I'm a sci-fi fan!
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe April 22, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

I was six when I saw this for the first time

I must admit, any kids who love sci-fi movies that mix thrills with laughs should watch this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old March 9, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

My Review Of Galaxy Quest.

Galaxy Quest Is A Spoof of Star trek,The Popular Line Of Movies, Tv Shows,And More.The Plot Is How A Group of Tv Actors Who Once Acted on star trek type of show, are Called By Some People Who Think they Are Really Fighters.So Basically,Actors Are Actually Put In Battle.Now,I Have Not seen Star Trek,And I Really Liked This Movie!It Had Lots Of Jokes,And If I Remember Correctly,Lots Of Puns. The Only Downside is that there is LOTS Of Bad Things. People Swear Lots in Galaxy Quest,And There Is Some Violence Too.Some Other Bad Stuff Like Cleavage,And The Main Character Gets Drunk.Even though Galaxy Quest Is Downright Brilliant, It Is Not For Young Kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old August 29, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
i love a parody of star trek,but it's kind of scary.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 3, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I like it

Some parts are surprising and scary and it has some violence but it has no nudity. This film is too violent for 6 or 7 year olds but for ten year olds (like me) it is very good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Funny and extremely entertaining.
Parent Written byrydisme March 3, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not for younger kids

Common Sense Media got this age rating wrong again. This is one of my favorite films - so funny, great acting, - but because it was rated age 8, I let my younger daughter (who was 8) watch. She was petrified of the villain and had nightmares afterward! Also, there is a little bit of sexual content, which was gratuitous. This is really a great film but not for young kids.

Pages