All member reviews for Garden State

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Smart drama for mature older teens and up.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byHonestreviewer October 22, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good movie

Good movie, i'm not normally into this kind of genre, but it's actually good. Great soundtrack as well. There's a brief scene where they're in a back room of some building and there's multiple sexual things going on. Luckily it doesn't last long. Lots of drug use portrayed and lots of swearing. Don't let these things turn you off though. It's a great movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great!

An amazing film, but it really earns its R-rating, I had to skip two or three scenes throughout.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymiranda1993 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byOlivePadfoot April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies I've seen in awhile..

"Garden State" is the story of a young man feeling responsible for his mother's death who returns home to New Jersey (hence the title) for a weekend visit. Numbed by drugs his father prescribed since a young age, Andrew Largeman slowly regains his sense of feelings as he meets up with a cast of quirky and very belivable characters, one of which with he shares a powerful romance. The story will make you think, the direction is beautiful and interesting, and the emotion may just as long make you cry and laugh along. It's a great first movie for writer/director Zach Braff, who also stars as Largeman. As for kids, this is NOT a family film. Most of the jokes, allusions (both literal and metaphorical), sexual content, drug use and ideas captured are far too over kid's heads. I highly reccomend this movie to mature young teens, older teens and adults for a good dose of one of those rare "gem of a movies". You won't regret it.
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 July 7, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Mature, the anti-Scrubs

While in "Scrubs," drugs are given to patients to help them feel better, in this film, they're weighing Andrew (Braff) down. He's become numb, not even crying at his own mother's funeral. He comes back to his hometown in Jersey and realizes no one's really changed, but he will, with a new love interest. This movie is great independent cinema, and NOT for kids whatsoever.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bylaurenxlame November 22, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

the drugs portray a POSITIVE message.

Alright this is one of my favorite movies. yes there are a lot of drugs sex and language, but the reason i would recommend it to 14 and up is because that's the age kids are becoming someone and that can be good or bad. this movie gives a great portrayal of the NEGATIVE effects of promiscuity and drugs. this movie shows that he is BETTER WITHOUT the drugs. he feels alive again because of love. i certainly think that's something 14 yr olds could learn about. as far as the inappropriate things.. just don't show it if you have a kid in THAT stage where they're gonna repeat every curse word or sexual innuendo.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bygodspuppet April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bynumberdomino April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I cried I laughed but not at the same time

This movie was very good and i thought the beggining was a little iffy but it just kept getting better and had some sad parts(aka hamster)and tons of funny ones. If you want something that will change your life watch this or listen to some of The Shins.
Adult Written bybrtd April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY