All parent member reviews for Get Smart

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 35 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTsion February 1, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

An Enjoyable Comedy

GET SMART succeeds at being a comedy, with many laugh-out-loud jokes. It succeeds at being an action thriller, with many engaging stunt/adventure pieces. It succeeds at being a romance, with a sweet love story. In fact, though it is far from the perfect movie, this film succeeds at almost everything it tries. Language is the biggest issue, with several "s**ts", "a*s"s, "d**n"s, and one "bi*ch". Some "hells" and other insults ("whore" and "dickhead") are thrown in on the side. A woman flips another off. There are some mild innuendos, consisting of 99 asking Max if he's "staring at her butt" while crawling through laser beams. A woman misinterprets Max's questions as an invitation to sex, and two men passing by misinterpret Max's attempt to move a man as inappropriate contact. There are several big booms and fires, and some people are shot, one point-blank in the head (no gore). There are threatening scenes and fistfights as well.
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Silly and fun, but not quite mission accomplished

Commonsense is exactly right
Parent of a 6 and 9 year old Written byTristan62 January 22, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

NICE!

Hilarius! 23 is great the whole movie! EVERYONE should see this!
Adult Written bythinkpink2 November 7, 2008
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This movie is just okay....

This movie had a few funny moments, but was not very entertaining overall. I loved Get Smart so I was very disappointed. My kids did laugh frequently and I was not so happy about the language and nude butt at the end which got big laughs from the crowd (low brow em if all else fails). I would not buy the DVD or see it again.
Adult Written byhpdvs2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byvlfountain April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Overall not that great but there were a few good laughs.

I would have never brought my children to see it if I had known about all the sexual banter/situations, gay man scene, and swearing. Smart/s charecter not only was staring at Agent 99's behind but also obviously up her dress. And Maxwell Smart's bare behind in the end of the movie did not thrill me. My 10 1/2 year old boy really was not thrilled with the movie either as he is starting to "get" some of the stuff in the movie and I think he was embarressed. He stated that he wished we had not gone to see it and it was inappropriate and not very good. I do not think common sense media did a very good job reviewing this movie.
Adult Written bysandsharks April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

fanominal

I saw this movie twice already! It is one of my favorite movies! Get Smart is hilarious! The cast is amazing! It is`t that bad. In one scene Anne Hathaway asks Steve Carell if he`s staring at her butt. It has some sexual content but not much at all! I`ve seen much worse in pg-13`s! See this movie! You`ll love it
Adult Written byjwhite6114 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byhomeschool mom April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bygoldmedgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bydfk1010 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

gerat

okay for kids 6 and up
Adult Written byseto006 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Perfect Remake of the old Series.

An almost Perfect Recreation of the Old hit Show, "Get Smart." There is quite a bit of sexual Indo, but nothing an 11-year-old Hasn't heard by now! There are a few parts involving kissing, like when Max kisses agent 23 (Note that Agent 23 is a GUY). The violence isn't something to get worked up about. There is shooting, and Max almost always gets himself hurt, but nothing Horrable. There is quite a bit of language, but a 10-Year-Old would be allowed to hear it. Overall, Take you 11-Year-old sons to see this!
Adult Written byjoeltims5 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byBlackFamily96 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
It Was A very funny movie me and my son saw it i was Good
Adult Written bycleddy April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages