All member reviews for G.I. Joe: Retaliation

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Teens may like violent sequel, but it's too much for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 24, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great!

Great movie!!!!!!!!! Amazing movie with lots of unnecessary violence. I saw this with my dad and loved it! There was lots of funny "wow" moments and some creepy/disgusting images, too. This movie was great with everything but the script, the script being exceptionally weak. Very quickly an extremely extremely sad event occurs involving a mass killing! Parents should know that there are very few bloody scenes and deaths with consequence. There is some "helping other characters out", but not a whole lot.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byamols April 16, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

G.I. Joe: Retaliation Review

John M. Chu does an outstanding job directing the action sequences. What a relief to see clean action scenes where everything is in clean sight. No more shaky-cam BS please, Hollywood. Give me G.I. Joe: Retaliation like action scenes any day over it. The swinging lines scene is just amazing! pls sociosquare com for social media services india & watch indian comedy show Tarak Mehta episodes on dittotv What really makes this film, is it’s overflowing with energy. Not only in the action, but the actors. From the Rock leading the way to supporting characters like Jonathan Pryce, Walton Goggins, Ray Stevenson, and Bruce Willis in his cameo, GI J:R understands humor, swag and wit is essential to a film like this. Pryce’s humor especially KILLS as Zartan/the president. When the first line out of Cobra Commander’s mouth was “You’re out of the band, Destro”, I knew this sequel would have self-aware wit and sharpness the original lacked.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 7 and 12 year old Written byStephen the great April 7, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

OK

Barely any blood and minimal swear words.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 4, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

G.I. Joe: Retaliation movie review

"G.I. Joe: Retaliation" was a lot better than the disgrace to cinema known as "G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra". You could tell by the synopsis the direction has changed.The characters are so much more interesting and the plot was much more riveting. There are some things with movie that are not quite right. For example, the pacing can be very bad at times. Also, the movie drags at certain parts. I do like the acting. The Rock is a very good actor and he saved this movie from being terrible. I really liked the action in this movie. It was amazing. The best part of the movie, in my opinion was Bruce Willis. I liked his character a lot. The villain was fine and I guess the synopsis was good. I recommend checking out "G.I. Joe: Retaliation" if you have absolutely nothing to do on a Saturday night.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew September 16, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Less violent then the first still has plenty of violence but also more thrilling then the first

My rating:PG-13 for intense sci-fi violence and action,language,sexuality/nudity,gunplay and drug refrences
Teen, 14 years old Written bymeleeman243 April 29, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good movie could have done with better actors though

Its a good movie hardly any blood which i guess is good for the younger ones sounded like the actors were reading what they were sayng though they didnt seem into it overall a good movie fine for littler kids 8+ i would guess not bad for a sequel
Kid, 9 years old December 8, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GI JOE 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think this was so action but it had a story to it too! The main people in the movie acted very well but their maybe some clips in the movie that little kids may believe in some of the action in real life!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjoshua martinez August 14, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

13 and up.

this second sequel of the G.I. Joe: first film G.I. Joe: Retaliation is a good Action/Adventure movie stars with Bruce Willis and Dwayne Johnson as the rock fine for your teens to enjoy but parents G.I. Joe: Retaliation has a lot of intense violence shown such as hand-to-hand combat and punching with some cuts and bruises, bloodless shooting of weapons, chase scenes, and explosions. There are also martial arts fighting sequences, with shurikens and sai swords there's also some little language used overall the movie does have a little message about teamwork.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages