All member reviews for G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra

Common Sense Media says

Too violent for kids, too childish for grown-ups.

Users say

(out of 104 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byRapstartswithC September 20, 2011

Awesome & Thrilling, but Not For Kids

GOOD ROLE MODELS--heroes that protect all people for the greater good. VIOLENCE--heavy violence with guns, swords, and streetfighting. Dead bodies are seen; scary images (including a man being eaten by Warheads, which presents a nightmare for children 13-). SEX--mild cleavage, talk about "touching" (one man being jealous of another, using "touch" as the beginning of a repeated threat), a few brief kisses. LANGUAGE--Lots of language, particularily at the beginning, but it dies down about half-way through. (Several 'a**', 'sh**', one or two 'b***h', and mild 'hell' and 'd**n'.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byaction man June 25, 2011

it is ok

it is not xtrame volint.but your kids will find it a bit boring becuse it does not resemble the older gi joe.the characters are not like gi joe.it has the name gi joe but it has nothing to do with.i recomend gi joe spy troops or gi joe valor vs venom or sigma 6.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybdh June 12, 2011

fun movie

entertaining
Kid, 11 years old June 3, 2011

good movie

pretty good entertaining movie
Teen, 14 years old Written by8colony8 May 3, 2011

Super violent, super cool!

First, this is a very good movie and I have no idea why people say its so bad! There is some language including hell, d--n, b--ch, and s--t. One female character wears a sort of innapropriate outfit. There is lots and LOTS of action violence. A guy has a hot metal mask put on his face, a man is bitten by a snake, cars are flipped and crushed, half of Paris gets wrecked, vehicles are blown up, people engage in swordfights, hand to hand, firefights, underwater fights (in subs), and chopper fights. Some might think the surgery scene is gross, where a man gets needles put in his face and it starts warping. The only gory part is where a man is eaten from the inside by little nanomites, and his face melts into a bloody mess. Great movie 12 and up! Please don't listen to what CSM or other people say, its worth watching!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bythegodfather123456 April 29, 2011

so bad............

I have many concerns for this film. That is that the plot is cliche, these actors cannot save anyone's dang lives by acting, and pretty much every other aspect of the film. The ONE good aspect of this piece of trash is Joseph Gordon-Levitt who gives a very good performance as the villain. WOW. This movie is so stupid! The writing is absolutely horrible and is so hard to believe. Yes, these 2 people are in excelerator-suits (what a dumb name), which make you run about 5 times as fast as you would run regularly, and these 2 people still fail to stop a lady that's blowing up the Eiffel Tower for no reason at all. The effects are also extremely incredibly cheesy, and the action sequences are stupid. They try to make the film dramatic, with love-triangles that are so corny... I hated this film. The script is also some of the worst I've ever heard in my life. Watch this film if you want a good laugh, to laugh at how bad it is. GI Joe gets 1/5 stars
Teen, 15 years old Written byDziko January 9, 2011

Meh.

I'll admit it: I watched this movie solely for Joseph Gordon-Levitt. The most fun I had while watching was trying to figure out which character he was (since I had no idea), joking sarcastically about how he was totally the creepy scientist, and then realizing a few seconds later that-- alsdkfjlkdsf-- he WAS the creepy scientist. Anyway, the movie was otherwise lame jokes and violence. I might have appreciated it more had I not been staring at poor JGL's messed up face.
Kid, 11 years old November 8, 2010

violent!

this movie is super violent this guys face blew up!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 16, 2010

one of my fav movies!

This was a very good movie! Im an action lover and this awsome movie gave me enough! A little too violent at the end, a character is burned and shot and his face is burned/bloodied, characters and stabbed in the head, eyes, and around the chest area. No gore at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 7 years old July 9, 2010
Kid, 10 years old May 24, 2010

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

rocks i love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysouthparkfan14 May 23, 2010

stupid

lol seen it with my freind at the movie theater we thought it was stupid! lol
Adult Written bydjrgeek April 18, 2010
Really a cool movie set in the not-too-distant future. Good violence
Kid, 12 years old April 17, 2010

watch out!!!!

IT IS VERY GRAPHIC AND MAY SCARE YOUR CHILDREN.AT ONE POINT IN THE MOVIE THEY SHOW DEAD BODIES. I WOULD NOT LET MY KIDS SEE IT UNLESS THEY WERE OLDER.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old April 14, 2010

G.I.Joe-review

I think that G.I.Joe:The rise of cobra is one of the best movie of 2009. The only thing I do not understand is why is the film is called The Rise Of Cobra.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byOldBob13 March 14, 2010

2 hours of dumb, brainless fun

G.I. Joe was a great toy. So now, like Transformers, they make a movie out of it. But this is a violent and jarring thriller that will make kiddies upset and will disappoint older viewers. The special effects are cool enough, but the script is heinous, the acting is horrible (besides a genuinely creepy performance by Christopher Eccleston), and the story is brainless. Still, it is very fun to watch, just make sure to keep the young ones at home and turn off your brain.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byRicochet94 January 23, 2010

Summer Popcorn Fun!

If it doesn't sound good, I don't think you will enjoy it. But if a two-hour action summer movie is what you are into, you're going to have a great time. Unlike Michael Bay's Transformers movies [vomit], these do not thrive on crass sexual content and language. This film knows what it is, and director Stephen Sommers doesn't try to do any better. It's obvious Sommers and his crew had a great time making it. NOTE: In spite of what others said, this is a very violent film--about as violent as you can get with no blood or gore. One notable scene involves a man melting, and another involves a man having a white-hot iron mask forcibly applied to his face as punishment. Beware!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 4, 2010

Perfect for age 11 and 12.

Very violent, but not too violent.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old January 2, 2010

Very good, ages 10-17!

This movie was AWESOME!!! It was violent, but no blood until the end. People 10-17 will love it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 1, 2010

Ok movie for tweens and up...

This movie is violent, but it's interesting and has a good plot. It's not great, but not horrible. Come on CSM, 1 star, really? It's not scary at all and it has some awesome matrix moves. It probably should be PG.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models

Pages