All member reviews for Grease

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 116 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bytheflickchick March 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good

the bad stuff: a lot of kissing and making out, some language, the S word on a song, teens smoking and drinking. the good stuff: no positive role models or messages, so i think the only good thing was the movie itself. the movie: OK if you don't like musicals, good if you do
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old April 3, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

not for younger kids but good for tweens

this is my favorite movie but it isnt appropriate for younger kids. some songs have suggestive content. such as summer nights. greased lightning, and look at me i'm sandra dee. the gym teacher also approves of danny smoking a certain amount pack of cigarettes a day. But over all it was great movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 31, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

I love grease ! I have seen it 17 times. It is a great movie and I would suggest it. But I think there is a little too much sexy stuff, and some of language is questionable. Also it encourages girls to change for boys. Like I said before this is my favorite movie ever. It all depends on how mature your kids are. I watched Grease by myself because my mom thought I could handle it, but I'm not every kid out there.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byJosieGrl April 16, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good movie

I saw this when i was like five and i loved it. everything went straight over my head, now that i think about it. So if you do show kids this just tell them not to say or do whatever bad thing comes up in the movie.
Teen, 14 years old Written bydreweth August 30, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Classic movie rated before "PG-13", keep that in mind.

No doubt about it. "Grease" is a classic. Just a classic that should be showed to people 13 and up. Lots of talk about sex between the T-Pig- I mean the T-birds sadly portray gangs in High School accurately.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bydark rose April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Hmmm

good music but a lot of stuff that stinks. some of the stuff in this movie is really awesome but the other stuff is totally inapropriate. this movie has no right to have a PG rating.
Kid, 12 years old March 6, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Grease: Cool Classic?

The T-Birds smoke and drink, but they also refer to girls as useful for only the purpose of having sex. This greatly bothers me. I am a girl, and girls are a lot more useful than that. We've helped the planet, invented important things (Madame Marie Curie even discovered two elements, and Mary Annings discovered the sharklike Ichthyosaur!). We've made lasting impacts on the science, art, sports, and literature worlds. Girls are people you should respects as much as yourselves, boys. The Pink Ladies is a clique who makes fun of Sandy, who did nothing wrong. Riz, the lead girl, mocks Sandy's wise choices not to do drugs or have sex before marriage. I felt uncomfortable watching this movie and although the songs may be cute and catchy, this movie is sexist and promotes inappropriate things.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymarleyquenten September 18, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

not a prude

i'm not a prude i just think you shouldn't be seeing those things if your normal or slightly immature before 13 or 14. however if you are "wise beyond your years" then you should see it at around 12 maybe 11.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLoffy June 29, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Really good movie

It does contain some inappropriate material so watch it with kids under 13. If your child is easily influenced, do not let him or her watch this.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byfilm geek March 9, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

one of my favourite movies of all time!

As it is a movie that represents a whole time period, there is a huge amount of smoking, however, theres great songs, story line and a fabulous line up of actors (staring John Travolta and Olivia Newton). Im so upset that they made a sequel.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 23, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesomeness

Cons- There is quite a bit of smoking and there is some powerful kissing and one scene that is not very appropriate. Pros- The idea for the movie was great. The music is very catchy and cool. The acting is over the top. This movie is really funny and fun to watch. I personally loved it. This movie is in my top 10 movies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBrandon4News April 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Maybe the greatest musical of all time.

Sexual Content- 6/10 Language- 6/10 Drinking, drugs, smoking- 6.5/10 Overall Quality- 10/10
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 8, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
i have seen this movie since i was 4 or younger it is not bad at all
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

too much sex but fun for tweens w/ friends (NOT ADULTS!!)

love this movie!! but tons of things about sex!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 July 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A ridiculously good time

I'll be frank about not liking musicals, but this has got to be one of the greatestr I've ever seen! It never takes itself that seriously, more of a satire of a musical really. It's a must-see movie for the whole fam.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byamandaluvsyooh June 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Favorite Movie since a toddler

I am currently 13 years old, and this has been my FAVORITE movie since I was 1 year old (no joke). Yes, it is inapropriate, but the characters are so easy to fall in love with. I love John Trovolta and Olivia Newton-John. Definitely not a waste of your time!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Grease is the word

Kid, 11 years old July 11, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Fine

REALLY GOOD PEEPS!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bytruetomovies April 12, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

brillient

even though im not a big fan musicals I thought it was really good. I love the whole idea. it had good romance and was very interesting to see what it was like in the 50s. overall it was worth watching
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

best musical ever

when I found out about grease on the internet it got my interest up I watched some videos but not the full movie I am planning to watch it when I am older because my dad is strict about "adult movies"
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages