All member reviews for Grease

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Musical phenomenon is great fun, but a bit racy.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 145 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old August 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

too much sex but fun for tweens w/ friends (NOT ADULTS!!)

love this movie!! but tons of things about sex!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byamandaluvsyooh June 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Favorite Movie since a toddler

I am currently 13 years old, and this has been my FAVORITE movie since I was 1 year old (no joke). Yes, it is inapropriate, but the characters are so easy to fall in love with. I love John Trovolta and Olivia Newton-John. Definitely not a waste of your time!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, and 15 year old Written byNerdy_Mamma February 1, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymrnocal April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A fun musical, but be cautious.

This is a fun musical, and one of my favorites. However, the message it conveys at the end, that in order to get the boy you love you have to be a "bad" girl and not stay true to yourself, is not a good example for children.
Adult Written bysoymissk8 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

When I first saw this movie I was 13...

ANd I was SHOCKED. I knew kids who memorized the entire soudntrack in 4th grade and it was one of those movies I knew I'd see, just didn't get around to it until later. I was offended by some of the themes and shocked that it was "acceptable" for young kids! The fact that Sandy has to change herself and darkens up for some guy... and the teen pregnancy. Today I enjoy the film, but I'm 21. I think the themes are not suited for kids under 13.
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

best musical ever

when I found out about grease on the internet it got my interest up I watched some videos but not the full movie I am planning to watch it when I am older because my dad is strict about "adult movies"
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous December 12, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

I can't believe that all that content was going in but I didn't sing with it. Today's kids don't watch this movie is not for you.

The Song called Grease Lightnin' has Strong Sexual Content in this song in the movie. I can't believed that I watch this when I was Under 13 years old. ...and this movie is bad for kids too oh no!. This should have been Rated R. By the way they have the Sing-a-Long Version being Rated PG-13 and should be Rated NC-17 because of the Sexual Content in the Song Grease Lightnin' and should not be watched by kids and teens at all Minus 18 & 19 Year Olds.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byilovegodsomuch July 29, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Grease is the word!

This was my absolute favorite movie when I was younger and to be honest it still ranks high. It's not dirty or offensive, it's a musical! Sandy is a strong women who acts as a wonderful role-model.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana April 8, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
love this movie! the music is awesome.
Parent of a 10 year old Written byMrs. Padilla March 30, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Personally love it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 March 26, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Grease is the Word!

While a classic, Grease has some things that shouldn't be shown to those under ten. . However it does show some consequences of sexual habits by making Miss Rizzo think she's pregnant. Yet the songs are memorable and Sandy's very likeable and friendly to everyone.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old March 3, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good, but not for little kids

Awesome music and great movie. Very Funny.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Perfect

I've seen this movie when I was 4!!!! There's nothing wrong with it at all. This review is so picky.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for Tweens

Some Sexual Refrences and Kissing, But nothing bad. Good Movie with lots of singing and dancing perfect for a Tween Sleepover;)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie

I love this movie, i've seen this movie sooo many times! There is some innapropriate stuff, but if you trust your child, it'll be fun. It's a GOOD movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byBestPicture1996 July 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A ridiculously good time

I'll be frank about not liking musicals, but this has got to be one of the greatestr I've ever seen! It never takes itself that seriously, more of a satire of a musical really. It's a must-see movie for the whole fam.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite July 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Ugh!

It's very energetic and you can tell the cast had a blast filming it but it lacks plot and morals. It's not even poetic. I don't recommend it. I read the script without the movie and I did not enjoy it at all.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byPixieDust0130 August 27, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Chill out, pick your battles!

It does have a lot of sexual things in it, but I mean, come on, it's classic!!!!!! 11+ should be fine to watch it. I never liked it before I turned 14, but now it's my favorite movie. So younger kids may not even be interested. Chill out, worried parents. I know you're concerned, but I'd put up the battle against the Saw movies and American Pie instead of this one. Something my mom always tells me: Pick your battles!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byLimoLoverxx August 6, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

really, parents?

seriously. i saw this when i was 7. calm down.
Adult Written byKatster July 1, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages