All member reviews for Grease

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Musical phenomenon is great fun, but a bit racy.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 139 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byJennypenny123 April 1, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Grease

Great movie I have seen It multiple times. I recommend that kids at the age of 13 or 14 to watch this movie, because of the sexual content, language, drinking and smoking.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 21, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

loved it

this is a great classic for ages 10+. It is a excellent movie. But has smoking and drinking and cursing. It is not scary but inappropriate for little kids. the songs in this movie are also great they get stuck in your head
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byhomealonefan123 March 3, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great musical movie also might not be good for little kids!

Parents need to know that this classic musical may not be right for little kids. There is a lot of sexual innuendo, plus a short sex scene. There is brief language (sh-t and pussy are both used once) There is no violence but there is plenty of underage smoking and drinking throughout the movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old November 9, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Good Movie. But in grease lighting theres the s and t words.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for Tweens

Some Sexual Refrences and Kissing, But nothing bad. Good Movie with lots of singing and dancing perfect for a Tween Sleepover;)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie

I love this movie, i've seen this movie sooo many times! There is some innapropriate stuff, but if you trust your child, it'll be fun. It's a GOOD movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Amazing

Grease is amazing. I am in a play about it at school. the sexual content you definitly need to watch out for. But you really don't need to worry to much.This is a timeless classic that is very addicting. The songs do get stuck in your head very easily though. That was a warning.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AWFUL!!!!!!!!!

i really didnt like grease because its just a bunch of high school teens singing and making fun of others . BORING & AWFUL
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

AH-MAYZING!

This movie is a CLASSIC! It's amazing! I watched it with a few friends and family (including three 7 year olds and a four year old, but that didnt need to be mentioned, cuz they got bored and left in the first 10 minutes) and it was soo funny and nice, especially "beuty school drop out". :-) If you havent already seen it, this movie is a must watch! grease lightning, go grease lighning...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite July 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Ugh!

It's very energetic and you can tell the cast had a blast filming it but it lacks plot and morals. It's not even poetic. I don't recommend it. I read the script without the movie and I did not enjoy it at all.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

the BEST!!

It one of my favorite movies ever!! There is some inaprpiate stuff that wouldnt be good for young kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mixed Review: What to look out for

I love the movie but, there are a few scenes that may not be appropriate for ages under 11. There are several times characters use language. Just about everyone smokes which isn't a good thing to teach children. I dont think the message is good, I don't think that children or anyone should change themselves for someone they love.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
naturally since i am a dancer i love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Grease is the word!!!;)

This is a great movie but, there is some sexual activity but not so much that you have to worry about it. You may want to cover your child's eyes on one particular scene with Kenickie and Rizzo in car. There are also some references to girls that aren't that appropriate. But, other than that, it is a great movie with a phenomenal soundtrack!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old November 15, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

OKAY FOR 8 TO 10 YEAR OLDS WIYH A PARENT

LOVE IT
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old October 4, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great for tweens and up

I loved grease it is funny and a classic love story
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old August 2, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byschuymarch1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Great Movie...

Grease is a great movie. I really like the song "Grease Lightnin'".
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good movie!

There's a lot of innuendo in it, though.

Pages