All member reviews for Grown Ups

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Friendship comedy is too crude for younger kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 195 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 and 12 year old Written byMerrie January 2, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

o.k. for older kids but watch it first for tweens

This movie could be funny to watch as a family, but is overly sexualized; with scenes of the friends oogling over one of their friends daughters, and the mom breast feeding her older child is in poor taste. There are many other scenes that are uncomfortable to watch and will probably spur questions a parent doesn't feel like answering during a movie that is supposed to be fun.There is also a scene that is pretty funny about adults talking about "getting wasted", but it's not something you may want your kids laughing about.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byc1nder November 30, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
too much sexual inuendo for under 13.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Don't waste your time!

This movie is terrible! There is a ton of sex jokes and I only laughed once! Don't waste your time or money on this excuse of a movie! You think they could of made a funny movie with all these comedians... but instead they blew it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bySushifmom July 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Tooth fairy alert

My 7.5 year old is crushed. They talk about the TOOTH FAIRY! Was watching at the older cousins. It got turned off after that - not sure if the situation gets remedied. Can't change the positive massage icon. Really it's a negative message.
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written by5748434957 July 5, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

If I ever meet Adam Sandler, I'm punching him in the stomach then taking my $ back.

I want my $17 back. Adam Sandler can be funny. In this movie, no one is. Even the stuff that's shown in the trailers isn't funny in the context of the movie. Scenes drag on forever. Dialogue seemed to be - Hey let's make fun of everyone as if we are 12 year old bullies. Just pitiful. And Rob Schneider - get some self esteem and quit letting your "buddy" Adam make fun of you in every movie he makes. I don't know why any woman would be involved in this. Salma Hayek? Seriously? Do your kids needs braces or what?
Teen, 15 years old Written byDainish2114 November 26, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hilarious and Inappropriate

I nearly peed my pants during this movie. Lots of hilarious moments. There is one hilarious scene when Kevin James pees in the lake. Now this movie is pretty inappropriate. A man in his 30s or 40s is married to an old woman. Many, many sex jokes. The language I remember is a-s, bi-ch, and h--ry. Just be careful when you take your children, because you have no idea what this movie has in store for your young one. What comedies do is that they make an appropriate trailer, so that you can walk into the theater and realize that this is just wrong.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTotally500 December 12, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Grown ups is a funny movie to see

I saw this two times and this is so funny!!. Forget the reviews, this is a funny comedy to see and jokes and refrences are good.GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlinaW. September 2, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny if a little crude . . . But great for tweens, teens, and young adults!

This was actually SUCH a great comedy . . . I loved how, for the most part, it was pretty clean, if a little slap-stick-like, comedy. Some of it was a little ackward in terms of sexual references and one time where you could apparently hear two people doing It, but the rest was fairly tame. The other thing that might not be the best is all of the former basketball players making fun of one of them, the melo-dramatic shortie, but nothing too crude. Good movie to go see with your older tweens and teens!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written bybarbsinging July 20, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
I hated this movie! I think it shows the worst of our culture and would never want my son to watch this movie although we did go and should have walked out but did't. The worst part was the ogling of young women.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byBklynSF June 24, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Dude read the parenting manual

What I think is this movie is anothe manifestiation of indulgent parenting in our culture. Adam Sandler is a Dad - he should know better but I guess being a hollywood dad makes it OK to him. These jokes are hilarous for GROWN UPS. for kids watching supposed grown ups doing this (yes hilarious) stuff is actually scary b/c grown ups should do this stuff on their own time when kids aren't watching
Kid, 10 years old May 21, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Really good movie is pretty crude

Grown ups is a good comedy starring Adam sander. As well as it being funny, it also has lots of references to taking shots and sex. Language is iffy as well, with 2 uses of s--t, one use of bitch, and a few uses of ass and crap. A man calls a woman sexy and asks her to be his fine-ass wife. Male buttoks are shown. My rating PG-13 for crude and sexual humour, partial nudity, and brief strong language
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy February 14, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very very crude

Honestly, this movie isn't hilarious or anything, it has some funny moments but don't watch it expecting "bust your gut" type jokes. The constant sexual jokes are not very funny, and get repetitive sometimes. It's a entertaining comedy that just isn't hilarious, but is still entertaining. My rating: appropriate for 13 and up, iffy for 10-12, inappropriate for 9 and under for: frequent sexual themes, language and crude humor
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJflores14 December 24, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Silly comedy mixed with iffy messages

this light and enjoyable comedy is fun and will impress teens with its sly and innuendo filled humor. While this is a good movie, it is inappropriate for children and tweens. CONTENT: Violence:(3/10) some slapstick humor and an arrow goes through someones foot. People fall and sometimes get hurt in the process. Sex: (7/10) rude and sometimes gross material is shown and referred to numerous times throughout the film. A couple is seen touching tongues, a woman is shown breast feeding her 4 year old son, references to pornography, girls with skimpy bikinis, crude references to sex, a man is shown to be a player, a man accidentally touches a woman's breasts, having sex with old women, two men are shown nude from the back. Language: 1 blatant use of d**k, one use of b*tch, a few people utter sh*t, crap, hell, damn, and ass. rude references to sex and crude subjects(sexual positions, fingering, etc.) Drugs: NONE MY RATING: PG-13/ for crude and sexual humor, language, and some nudity
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBilly the Teen July 6, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

The Worst Movie Ever

This is a plot less string of crude humor that no one should see, not even adults. If you like this movie then you might need some mental help.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byRicky_B February 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Definitely not for kids!

NOT for children at all!! Watched with my 12yr old daughter and 10yr old son and very much wish I had not. Much too many sexual references and innuendos. Many of the jokes were adult based.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byGizz88 March 18, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I didnt think it was too bad until the parents told their kids that they were the toothfairy. Totally leary of getting another PG13 movie ever for my kids.
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoolbrees09 February 28, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

funny movie

great movie. shows that family comes first. also some sexual behavior but one of the funniest movies i have seen in a while
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Adult Written byParentalGuidance June 24, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

NO CHILDREN! Not even appropriate for thinking adults

Hate it. This movie as too many perversions and rude immoral adult humor.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTomza June 23, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

GROWN UPS

I have seen Adam Sandlers recent movies I Now Pronounce you Chuck and Larry, Zohan, and Funny People. This ones not groundbreaking but it's a funny summer movie and one of the better sandlers movies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 8 years old June 10, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Hilarious but extremely racy and salty comedy has nudity but is ok for 17+

My rating:R for strong graphic racy content/nudity, language, drug references, some alcohol use, including some violence.

Pages