All member reviews for Grown Ups

Common Sense Media says

Friendship comedy is too crude for younger kids.
 

Users say

(out of 199 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byPYEsinc November 22, 2010
 
Lots of innuendo among adults, and some of the humor actually comes from when kids interpret it differently. Also, there is one scene where an adults tells younger kids that "wasted" means you "eat too much ice cream", and so the kids start going crazy about how much they "want to get wasted". You would expect the language to be very strong (considering the language most of the cast typically uses), but it doesn't go beyond PG-rated boundaries.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byhihowareyou November 16, 2010
 

Great for teenagers and Adults

This was about the funniest movie i have ever seen, it is definatly not appropriate for ages 10 and under but over tene i th ink is fine! I LOVE THIS MOVIE
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byilenee. November 15, 2010
 

Funny

this movie was totally funny! so hilarious. i laughed so hard. the thing is, is that some of it is really ... sexual. not that kid friendly. But otherwise, great entertainment :D love this movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Adult Written bygood guy November 11, 2010
 
my parents came home last night from the blockbuster and had 2 films with them one was grown ups not sure of other but if you keep the sound low and skip 3 scenes you should have a great family movie night i also recomend ramona & bezzus for family fun but some may have less fun with thier family not sure anymore bye now
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written byjoshua martinez November 9, 2010
 

13 and up.

Grown Ups maybe a funny movie and may have some stereotypes but this movie is inappropriate and maybe too much for your younger kids and parents you need to know that Grown Ups has some male rear nudity shown some sexual content such as innuendo and suggestive dialogue/sexual references there are some strong language used and some drinking used such as shots and a bottle of liquor.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old November 9, 2010
 

Grown-Ups

A funny, friends comedy. Has some crude humor, but it is not terribly much.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byisaac4christ November 9, 2010
 

perfect for older kids

it is ok but there is some nudity and sexualcontent
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old October 30, 2010
 
I loved this movie i laughed throughout the whole thing no lie the only thing was just some cussing but ok for 11+
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 23, 2010
 

12+

lots of cursing...funny movie.......great movie
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMovieMan26 October 9, 2010
 

Funny family-based comedy isn't for the whole family

Despite frequent raunchy humor, this is a very funny and subtly touching movie. Unlike Sandler's more recent film, he's not a tired, angry, foul-mouthed Scrooge. He's a devoted father and cares about his kids. The entuire cast is great and everyone gets a chance to shine. It's also nice to have David Spade back. Parents: There is a lot of crudeness in this movie, including partial nudity, frequent sexual references and situations, and salty language. Bottom Line: If you're looking for a good time, you've probably found it, unless you just cannot stand Adam Sandler. Thanks for reading! - Movie Man
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written byDr. Weird September 11, 2010
 

um

Crude, but very funny.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byJamookie September 8, 2010
 
The sexual innuendos and oogling at the scantily clad females were a bit over the top for kids under 15. Also the curse words the movie contained were a bit much for kids under 14, but it most have probably already heard them said before (it was just akward with my 13 year old looking at me when a word was said). Overall the movie was very funny and entertaining. If sarcastic humor, slapstick situations, and feel good comedy this movie is a must see. The 5 "main" characters keep you rolling.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bySpidermaking September 3, 2010
 

Funny Humor And A Great Cast!

I Loved The Humor As I Watch All Though There Where Some Stupid Moments But The Movie Was A Very Excllent Comedy!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 17, 2010
 

10+

LOL! This movie was hilarious! And 10 year olds know what all of this stuff is!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byfutureproducer August 12, 2010
 
everyone should know, based on these cast members past movies, that the crude content of this movie should have been expected. this movie is fantastically humorous. i would watch it again.
Teen, 15 years old Written bybrizzydvarsitycb August 4, 2010
 

watch it

this movies hilarous espically the arrow ruliet part and the hot blonde girl yumm..:) haha i guess kids tht havnt uhh i guess tht arnt in middle school shouldnt watch
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 1, 2010
 

Great for tweens and older

I loved Grown Ups. It was hilarious, and a movie I think adults will LOVE too.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written bypinkmom July 30, 2010
 

This would be more appropriate for 16 and up

It was definitely more racy than I thought it would be. There is a four year old who nurses throughout the movie. While you don't see the nipple you see the back of the child's head and the front of her breast. This is an ongoing joke throughout the movie. There are two early twenty girls bent over a car for at least 10 minutes or so in the move wearing shorts that cut all the way up to the crotch and the men actively stare at them with a plan as to when to look away. While almost all fo the characters in the movie are married it is evident when the sex takes place.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written byYahoo Kids July 30, 2010
 
Parent of a 13 year old Written byGabrielB July 29, 2010
 

Good for Kids 10-11+

Im 10 and i enjoyed it i watched it with my family and i understood most of the movie. My brothers 8 and he didn't get lots of it but he also enjoyed it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages