Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Hacksaw Ridge

Common Sense says

True story of pacifist soldier has extreme war violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 22 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 72 reviews
Adult Written bySoo L. November 4, 2016

A terrific movie and a very good story. A very realistic depiction of war. It may be frightening for younger and immature audiences.

I recommend showing your son or daughter if you think she/he is ready for it. But I will warn you, if your son/daughter has not experienced violence to a certain level, she/he will be very frightened throughout the movie. Gore and blood come out in this movie a lot. This movie does not hold back at all. Please take caution before showing your kids this film.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byk n November 4, 2016

Best film ever honoring Doss

All you need to know is this....Doss' son was on stage, and he said to Andrew and Mel...Andrew nailed my father, he was perfect.

This film is so moving and horrific because of the war. But it shows what conviction and true love really is. Best film I've seen in forever.
Parent Written byFinBEAR March 2, 2019

Amazing, inspiring movie

Yes it is brutally violent with graphic and disturbing images of blood and gore but the plot and lesson of the movie is nonviolent. The movie is about a medic who refuses to carry a fire arm nor harm anyone. Infrequent uses of s**t, bitch, and god damn are heard and the drill Sargent tells the soldiers to "wear a hat" (use a condom) when having intercourse.
Adult Written byLolllololol February 16, 2019

Amazing from the spiderman actor

It's just amazing personally I think 17 and up as the gore factor pushed the limit even for 15/r rating I did make a parent account by accident so I'm 11 there are about 10 swears and a man showing off his nudity and a guy portraying the bible to be a bad book but it's all true this movie really touched me it made me cry bout 3 times I really do recommend it the movie is 5 out of 5 you WILL BE GOBSMACKED

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Written byAnonymous November 21, 2018
Adult Written byshall36 November 8, 2018

Great movie!

In this film, it truly shows how many people can stand up for want they want. The main character was Desmond T. Doss. He is a real person who actually served in the battle of Okinawa. Also, this movie shows the realism of the battle and the war.
Desmond is seen in this film as a conscientious objector. The producers of this movie show the struggle and the way he was treated because of his beliefs. It shows how people can be treated differently because of their view of things or their religion. Which shows a very important message to not treat others in that way.
Near the very end of this movie, it shows that Desmond saves 75 lives. Everytime he saves one he goes back and says “Lord, help me get one more”. This time in the film shows the pain and struggle of this war. It shows you how the war really was.
This movie I would recommend to teens and adults wanting to learn more about the Pacific Theater. I can also maybe recommend teachers watching this but it is rated R. In the end, you can definitely learn a new thing watching this movie!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byPaul Von Hoffer August 12, 2018

What I Think of Hacksaw Ridge.

This is the best war film I’ve ever seen. I never heard of the true story of Desmond Doss until I saw the trailer for this movie. When he said, “I can’t touch a gun”, I was hooked. Because I’m a Christian, I was drawn in when he kept praying, “Please, Lord. Help me get one more.” He’s a great role model for people and a true American hero.

There is a ton of violence in here as people are getting blown up and ripped to shreds. One guy is butt-naked in the barracks. The “s” word, the “d” word, the “a” word, the word “b***h”, and the word “t***y” are mentioned. Young Doss hit his brother with a brick.

Doss is a Christian and he doesn’t kill. He stays loyal to God. Before he enlisted, he saved a boy’s life after an accident.

The best war movie ever. It’s my second favorite movie. I can’t stop watching it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byDarkAgentE April 17, 2018

The goriest war film since Saving Private Ryan.

This is the goriest, and most imactful war film since Saving Private Ryan. There are great performances from everyone, intense, violent, and brutal battle scenes that'll have you on the edge of your seat, and a great role model and messages. The film is great, and it again, shows us that Gibson can direct. Hacksaw Ridge gets an instant 5!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written bySam Marrick November 14, 2017

Equally horrific and touching.

Despite its melodramatic tactics (most of them avoided feeling forced despite inherent cheesiness), Hacksaw Ridge delivers a poignant character study and shows the miraculous power of sticking to ones convictions. Im not a fan of religious movies or it in general but this film weaves it skillfully and tastefully into its universal message of compassion and preserverance. And removal of the faith aspect wouldve completely deassembled the story entirely and disrespected the real lives involved. From Desmonds home life, and budding romace to his training and legal battles to the blood soiked hills of the titular battlefield we really feel we are friends with him. This couldve easily fell into A hagiography but it manages to avoid that by showing his internal striggles of gaith and composure even if he always gives the final impression of sweetness (its not like any person or document can attest to the contrary). Supporting players such as Hugo Weaving as Doss Sr and Vince Vaugn as the rough, skeptical yet supportive leader add further nuances to the film. The movie does not demonize those who at first take offense to Doss refusing to fight and we see them grow as well. The combat scenes are expertly staged and offer some glimses of grim poetry and put us in the mind of those in the hellish landscape. If there was one critisism i have, its the sometimes distracting use of cgi blood spurts. You have this somber tone and look yet it looks like a video game when people get shot. I can even handle the over the top manipulative symbolism at the end, by that point i just felt it was deserved.
This is an exceptionally gory movie even by war standards. Saving Private Ryan looks PG rated by comparison. I cant even list instnaces like i normally do. Some include having ones face ejected with bullets from behind, half a body used as a human shield and grisly leftovers after every engagement. Its also worth noting that the movie does little to humanize the Japanese (aside from a scene of Desmond helping an injured enemy troop who is just as reluctant to fight as Doss), however it doesnt nearly go as far as Passion arguably demonized Jews. Now i know im making this sound like a signature Mel Gibson torture porn (please dont let that name dissaude you from the whole movie) but while some may argue ceryain isntances are gratuitous, i believe it offers adequate juxtoposition for the main character himself. Again the positive themes mitigate the violent content as does the fact the first half of the movie is mostly void of it. If this was all war n hope it wouldve been 18 easily.
Adult Written byChris W. October 12, 2017

A True Story of Faith and Heroism

Not for youngsters. A war movie that is not a war movie. It tells the true story of a man who feels compelled to serve his country without being a killer. This is the story of one man's faith in his God and his love of country. His loathe of killing compels him to serve as a combat medic. The sequence in which he single-handedly saves over 70 of his wounded comrades is so compelling that it brought tears to my eyes. Especially when he uttered, "Just one more, Lord." Our men;s group watched this and there was not a dry eye in the room.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byJim L July 18, 2017

Underrated

I usually think the reviews on the website are very good. In this case, it seemed way off. The lead character was as positive a role model with as great a message as I've seen in a movie. They were right on the five stars for violence. The number of stars for too much sex, swearing, and drinking were all too high. The blood and guts were not my cup of tea, but it was an awesome movie.
Adult Written byBryant Almonte-Alday April 29, 2017

The most gory, violent, and vulgar movie!

When it got to the 2nd half, all i saw was a lot of blood, so I had to stay out until "Hacksaw Ridge" is over. I am pretty sure that my mom saw someone beheaded in this movie. I saw once an animated character in "Dick Figures The Movie" that is beheaded once, all by myself. I did not get scared of it. Ok for adults 17+.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Parent Written byCSM Fan . April 3, 2017

Inspiring

Awesome movie. I have always been a supporter of non-violent activism and this movie is inspiring. Definitely for the older teens in the family 15+, but a must see once they are old enough.
Adult Written byLucus H. April 1, 2017

This history is important.

Things in this movie might be a little much for the younger kids. There are alot of bloody parts, but the reason I believe in letting them watch it is that it's true. Our kids have on idea what the generations before them did for them. It's one of the better story's I've heard. The me and women of ww2 are heroes in my mind and movies and min series like Band Of Brothers, The Pacific,and this movie makes it hard for us to for get there sacrifice.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written byDarylTheStudent March 11, 2017

Hacksaw Ridge

Hacksaw Ridge is the incredible true story of Desmond Doss, who saved 75 lives during the Battle of Okinawa, in spite of the fact that he refuses to touch a weapon as a result of his religious beliefs. With that said, the movie brings the message of sticking to your values and ignoring what other people says, and we can admire Doss for doing so while still doing something very admirable. The movie, however, is more suitable for older teens as it contains realistic war violence, mostly at the second half of the movie, even though we do see some blood spruting out when Doss tends to an injured man at the start of the film. Cursing is minimal to milder coarse language (no F-words in the film at all), while sex is limited to an off-screen sex screen between Doss and his wife after they get married. (we do not see anything explicit, even though they flirt at the start of the film)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byTheClassicKid March 11, 2017

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Parent Written bykimberlee w. March 10, 2017

I totally disagree with your review of the quality of this film. Your reviewer is not interpreting this film very well at all. It is an amazing and essential film. Amazing performance by all, especially Andy Garfield who should have won an Oscar for this role.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byCynthia P. February 25, 2017

True story, authentically told

My son had to cover his eyes through a lot of the battle scenes, but I saw him peeking through his fingers. And be aware that the sound track is horrifying, not just the visuals. But in chatting after the film, he said he was glad he saw it and that he learned a lot about Voss. "There are different kinds of courage, mom." Don't take children under 16, and let a teen decide with you if he wants to see it or not.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bydarthsitkur February 23, 2017

i plan to watch it again on blu-ray since it's always the best way to experience a film

Mel Gibson is an awesome director, he impressed us with braveheart, the passion of the Christ, the patriot (as an actor), apocalypto, and now this :), everything about it was great
Parent Written byWilliam N. December 29, 2016

A fantastic war movie that is gruesome

I visited my family offshore and seeing this movie was one of the things we did and I can say this movie is really well made and can be quite fun but, this movie shows the realities of war and, is probably a bit much for most kids under 16-17.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness

Pages