All member reviews for Halloween (2007)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Teen slasher flick remake is brutal and bloody.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 94 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

uggggg...

...Another horror movie that commonsensemedia has completely destroyed. Yeah theres nudity, sex, violence, and lots of language, but seriously who cares. You'll kids will hear the language in it in school. Sex will happen eventually, ur kids have been on the internet, so they know what nudity is:P and the violence in this movie isn't as bad as commonsense makes it out to be. It overall was a really good movie, but they did get one thing right. It isn't meant for like 10 year olds. i suggest 13 and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 December 19, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The second one makes this looks like a Disney Pixar animation.

This is quite fine ,except for a few bad scenes.There is some violence against women like a part where a couple of men try to rape a woman not long after Michael Myers. Comes and beats them to death slams their bodies against Walls.not for viewers who get easily offended.I have seen this on the unrated and normal version on DVD since I missed it at the movies don't buy the unrated it's totally worse than the theatrical version the theatrical version is probably 13 + the unrated is probably 15+ then if your kids get nightmares this isn't a very good starter horror movie.
Teen, 16 years old Written bydavidguitar15..... March 14, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
The current best horror/thriller movie ive seen...not for kids though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byluvanger October 10, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A brilliant film, but not appropriate even for my age (17).

First off, this movie is not at all scary. What it is is a reimagined, rethought, and horrifically violent slasher film remake. Even though this movie is technically a remake, it's not at all like the original. The original was a boring, bland, average 70's slasher. This one is an brutally innovative retelling of not only the story of Michael Myers' killing spree, but also his childhood, humanizing him a bit (but still not portraying him in any sane way). Despite how well-done the movie was, it's not appropriate for minors. The language is awful, especially the first ten minutes, which contains at least 50 obscenities, most of them f-words. The movie also has the most vulgar sexual language you can imagine. The sexual content is very explicit, not only in references but also in actual scenes, which show teens having sex. Sex scenes are pushing even an R rating, with a lot of thrusting and nudity. (The unrated director's cut also has a rape scene, which was cut out of the R-rated version.) Another offensive item is the amount of teen drinking. However, the violence is more shocking than any of the above. In movies such as "Dawn of the Dead", the violence is extremely gory, but could never be interpreted as realistic. The violence in this movie is not as bloody, but is a thousand times more realistic and brutal. The beginning of the movie is all about a young boy going mental and killing four people. The first is a bully at school who he lures out into the woods and beats to death with a tree branch. The second one to go is the child's abusive stepdad, who has his throat slit wide open, gushing blood. The third is his sister's boyfriend, who has his head beaten into pulp with a baseball bat. Finally, his sister dies, being stabbed by her younger brother multiple times with a kitchen knife. All of this is shown in gory detail, and it's just the beginning of the movie! (And all of this covers the R-rated version; the director's cut is even worse.) Do I even need to say more? I would wholeheartedly recommend this movie to mature adults, but never to teens, even myself.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byScaryAwesomeFun February 5, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Terrible Movie For Fans of Original Halloween

where do i beginning here i went see this Movie Way before i was old Enough get into r rated movies Which this wasn't first r rated movie I saw but This Was first Rob zombie movie i ever Saw And let Me Say was Very disappointed He Ruin Michael myers in This Movie this is Very Intense And there was Way too Much Bad Language !! And there is Tons of Overload Blood And Gory worst was This had Way too much Graphic Nudity I would Never let Children watch this or Teenagers if Wanted see Halloween Let see original movie Far less Graphic And Disturbing This one was !
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by2jayz October 21, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It's a decent remake

This movie is ultra violent. It has many beatings, stabbings, and strangulations. There is much blood and it has a scary feel to the movie. Little kids would get extremely creeped out at this movie. There is fully nude women as well. Throughout the movie, there are about 3 sex scenes. Some only include partial nudity and one includes full nudity. There are also lots of f-words and one spelled out c--t.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth August 7, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Remake and darker than the original

Halloween is a very dark compared to the original. In this film, Michael is 10 when he commits his first killings.He is much brutally darker than the original . There are more sexual scenes and drinkingand drugs than any of the originals.There are app 51 curse words in the first 8min of this movie. NOT A MOVIE FOR LITTLE KIDS... EVER!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byIlovemovies❤️❤️❤️ July 28, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Horror movie or pornography

Language 1. Uses foul language such as "c--t", "mother f----r", "p---y", "f----t", "bitch", "f--k" etc. Sex/sexual references 1. Stepfather tells wife that he slept with a woman in very strong sexual terms. 2. Stepfather checks out his step daughter and says "bitch got a nice little dumper" (no sex actually happens between them though). 3. Stepfather calls step son a "little f----t". 4. Bully says to Michael as a kid that "they caught his Michaels sister giving blow jobs for money and that the cops had to pump the c-m out of her. 5. Bully calls Michael names and bad words over and over again, and soon after that they get into a fight (seems serious but doesn't last very long). 6. Bully shows Michael a paper of Michaels mom nude advertising a strip club (stars are covering mom's breasts but the rest of her body is clear enough to see). 7. Sister and boyfriend are having sex in bedroom and the sex is very graphic, showing sisters bare breasts while man caresses her (moaning and groaning is going on and the sex scene lasts about a minute with breaks in between). 8. Same girl is sitting in her bed listening to music showing bare thighs with under wear (lower private part is not shown because she is wearing a log sports jersey). Some parts of lower bottom is shown. 9. Michael touches sister near bare thigh and slowly moves his fingers towards lower private part (again nothing is shown). 10. Sister says to Michael (assuming that he's her boyfriend) that "once a night is enough". 11. Two janitors take a young lady out of her jail cell and take her to Michael's cell where the The janitors rape her (lasts about 15 while being very graphic seconds and her top bottom is shown but know breasts are shown) the rape scene is very brutal and very disturbing and is not for any one under 17. 12. There are a lot of other strong sexual content/ references but it's way to much to write so I'm just going to skip to the serious sex scenes. 13. Another couple are having sex very graphically while the woman is groaning and moaning. (Lasts about 10 seconds and woman's breasts are briefly shown) 14. The last sex scene is when a different teenager is kissing her boyfriend briefly while the man un dresses her and attempts to have sex with her while caressing her. Violence 1. Weapons include a Bowie knife, cutting knife, gun, bat, etc. 2. Bloody and gory images are over the top and extremely terrifying to un mature audiences. 3. There are a total of 17 gruesome kills Halloween the remake is not for kids what so ever it includes brief sexuality, graphic nudity, gruesome images, bloody/gory images, a total of 4 sex scenes, brief language, hard sexual content, language including sexual references, and hard core violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byanton12366 June 2, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
In all honesty, this is a good film for people 17+ because of the violence
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 16, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie

I saw it when I was 10 and it was pretty awesome my fav of the remakes
Adult Written bywonder dove October 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Watchable for horror buffs...

The film is not bad, but a little disappointing compared to the originals. Rob Zombie's Halloween shows how the killings of Michael Myers all began. Michael's only 10 (Daeg Faerch), he's lonely and obsessed with wearing masks. His family is completely dysfunctional with a young mom who's a stripper, her extremely abusive and nasty boyfriend, her slutty teenage daughter and his innocent baby sister, Laurie. Michael has a tendency to hurt animals and finally beats up his first victim, a bully, from school where he brutally murders him by bashing him to death with a weapon. On Halloween night, his sister ditches him by refusing to take him trick or treating. He decides to murder his family including his sister's boyfriend while his mom is at work. Except for baby Laurie. They lock him away and soon after, his mother commits suicide. It skips to 15 years later when Michael's in his mid 20's, chained up and still locked in a mental institution until one night, he breaks free and goes on a killing rampage in search for his now teenage sister Laurie (Scout Taylor-Compton). Language is extreme and constant (even heard by kids) which contains tons of f-words in every form (over 50 times), sh*t, hell, d@mn, b*tch, lots of sexual dialogue like p*ssy, c**t, d*ck, fagg*t, t*ts, blowj*bs (the unrated version contains more!). Violence is extreme and is too detailed to list but expect bashings, beatings, extreme blood & gore, hangings, slitting throats, stabbings, photos of dead animals, chasings, screaming & crying, threatening, bullying and loud angry arguments. Sexual content is very strong including lots of nudity with one being full-frontal (female), several teen sex scenes with nudity, thrusting & moaning, strip club shown with nude women, a woman dances seductively in minimal clothing, a flyer features a nude woman, teen girls talk and joke about sex almost constantly when they're together, porn mag shown with nudity for about 5 seconds while a man talks dirty to himself (unrated version shows more including a brutally graphic rape scene that's extremely unnecessary!!) There's drinking and smoking throughout. If you decide to watch, ditch the unrated version and go for the theatrical version! I usually give it a watch once every October. This is NOT okay for kids/young teens! 18++
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written bymamachildsafe132 July 19, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

the badmidgits are goin to vhell

this is bad vry bad it has to much of naked women bad launge and killing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytknauf April 20, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Halloween good remake

This is a brilliant remake and takes what John Carpenter once did to a whole new level. In Halloween (1978) Carpenter wanted you to see Michael as evil and unstoppable and he did a great job of it. Rob Zombie takes the Evil to a whole new level. Michael is bigger,stronger,faster and much much eviler. The story itself is almost a direct copy of the original but with a little bit more. Sure there is tons of blood and gore and brutal deaths but isnt this what you pay to see? Rob Zombie pulls out all the stops and makes Michael a true living breathing representation of Evil. Malcolm McDowell plays Dr. Loomis perfectly and gives a tremendous performance just like his predecessor Donald Pleasence once did. This movie is a great movie to watch for a good scare and is full of everything horror movie fanatics expect to see.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 11, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Kids safety

This movie is great but only teenagers (adults) should watch it
Adult Written bythemovietruth July 26, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

VERY INAPPROPRIATE! VERY GOOD!

SOOOOO much sex! SOOOOO much violence, but over all I was really impressed but the story line and how they expanded it from the original. Good job!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byLynchFan June 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

HORRIBLE!

rob zombie please stay away from the halloween franchise!! xD really, this movie sucks, in my opinion it destroys micheal's characters, i think we didnt need to know why he kills and who he is, it ruins the mystery of the original movie for me. Also... the original film didnt need blood and gore to scare, now this one ruins that too!!! anyways, this movie is NOT FOR KIDS. it has rape, some brutal scenes, and cruelty, oh and many f-bombs etc... But really dont watch it please save your time and go watch the original!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byUSCTrojan May 27, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for Viewers Under 17.

BRUTAL !! NO Kids ! MATURE 17+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bygamer32 May 25, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS

This movie has lots of blood and gore. You see naked ladies and the language is bad. This show is not for kids. Only mature teens and adults should watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 18, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

awesome horror remake. but full of bloody violence and strong sexuality

this movie is awesome. but some strong language, nudity and sexuality. the highest on violence. many murders and injuries. if you are 16-17 this movie if perfect for you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 30, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Typical slasher film, no real message but a good scare :)

I'm 12 and I watched this with my best friends at a sleepover. I find that the most disturbing scene was the first killing scene when the 10 year old beats the bully to death with a peice of wood. I agree that the sexuality in this film was a bit over what I'm comfortable with, especially because there was boys and girls watching the movie at my friends sleepover, but what do you expect from a slasher film? Expect graphic sexual descriptions, epecially at the beggining, children swearing, and bloody massacre of mostly innocent people. There is no sympathy or feeeling for any of the chracters in this film, the movie is only really meant to scare (but it did a pretty good job) In the end, this is another sexy, bloody, exploitative slasher film, but its a famous one and awesome to watch around halloween. I'm not as squeamish as most people my age, so know your limits. For parents, I would be more concerned about the sexual lanuage and content in this film than the scariness or violence. If you can look at a horror movie as a funny prank, or as someone trying to give you a good scare for fun, you can really get into the scary halloween mode. Rob Zombiess Halloween was the first horror movie I watched and its always gonna be awesome in my mind! :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages