Common Sense Media says

Violent thriller is a high-stakes teen-assassin tale.

Users say

(out of 45 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byllhess April 20, 2011
I liked the movie but, after seeing it, was shocked to find out it was rated PG13. It is R all the way due to violence. The mercenary in the movie is stabbing (with the pencil I think to the (neck) in one scene...I actually looked away so I don't know for sure), hanging, torturing, etc his victims. My husband and I were both surprised at the rating it was given.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bywhiteblack December 17, 2014

Beautiful and thought provoking

This is a well shot movie that manages to completely captivate the audience without resulting to extreme violence.
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byjulco May 21, 2011

Not good for anyone, especially teenagers and kids.

This movie was extremely violent, and worse than some movies in that the lives lost were innocent. There was no remorse, no real purpose for all the violence. At the end I was confused because so many lives were lost for no real reason in my opinion. It's all about survival, but does the survival of one justify the killing of dozens of innocent lives? No. Especially when she doesn't hold information that needs to be protected or even holds a high position in government. She's just a teenage girl.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 8, 2011

i rate this title IFFY for ages 15+

What to watch out for * Messages: Most of the negativity revolves around whether it was Hanna's destiny to be the kind of trained killer she is or whether her father had a choice and could have raised her in a more peaceful manner. Marissa is an unredeeming villain who values herself over everyone else. * Role models: Except for Hanna's grandmother, there are few positive role models here. Even Hanna's father has ulterior motives and brings her up to become a tool of vengeance. Sophie's parents seem loving, open-minded, and caring, but their concern is overshadowed by the selfishness and cruelty displayed by Marissa, who's a very cold-hearted villain. Violence: From the opening scene -- when Hanna hunts down a large elk with an arrow and finishes it off with a bullet -- to the final moment, when two characters face off, there's barely a scene in the movie without some form of violence. Hanna's father trains her by sparring hand-to-hand and with various weapons. Major and secondary characters are killed in various ways -- bullets to the head or heart, slit throats, arrows to the heart, smashed skulls, knives to the gut, snapped necks, and more. Unlike superhero movies, the violence is realistic and at times quite bloody. Innocent bystanders who've met or spoken to Hanna end up tortured or killed. * Sex: Hanna and Sophie flirt with and then go on a date with two attractive guys. Sophie and her date kiss, but violence gets in the way of Hanna kissing hers. Sophie's parents have loud, camper-van-shaking sex; viewers hear them moaning while Sophie comments about them being "like rabbits." A woman practices a dance at a club, and the owner tells someone she has male and female genitalia, but nothing is shown. * Language: One loud "f--k," plus a few uses of "s--t," "d--n," "oh my God," and English slang like "mental" and "bugger." * Consumerism: There's a close-up of Marissa's green Prada shoes. Villains drive in a white Range Rover.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 18, 2012

Awesome and isn't scary to me

One night my dad and I were flipping through the channels and we saw this. We turned it on (it was only 5 minutes in so we didn't miss much). It is probably one of my most favorite movies. I am 12 and I can only watch a pg 13 movie if my dad has previewed it or he is watching it with me. To be honest this movie isn't even that bad. I mean yes it has a lot of violence but nothing else. Not to effend anyone but some of the people on here say you should be seventeen. I find that ridiculous. I guess it depends on the child. I can only watch pg 13 if it is violent and theres cursing. If there is anything nasty (and you know what I mean) I cant watch it. So if your child gets scared easily maybe they should stick with pg and g but it didn"t bother me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2012

unexpected....

wow! i was amazed this was a 12 as it is very violent! i know a lot of kids that are my age and under would hate this because of the violence but some might not mind it so much!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRouge Leader May 14, 2012

Keep Away From This One

The movie was very violent. I only made it half way through it. I play lots of Call of Duty, and Black Ops was probably the worst for melee violence, and yet this movie made me leave. Lots of shooting innocent people, including a dying mother who was killed in witness to her baby, and surprisingly bloody. Not to mention that one of the opening scenes is so flashing with the lighting people could have seziures. The movie had a low-budget feel to it. My advice is to watch JAMES BOND instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old September 10, 2012

Great movie!!!!!!

this movie is wonderfully filmed and is very well done. Hanna is smart and witty and there is surprisingly not too much violence in the movie. Guts are shown, but some things are not. Like when a man is about to stab another one, the scene stops right before the pen goes into his throat. A man is shot with arrows multiple times and is hung upside-down from a ceiling- in a candy house i might add. Nobody under 11 years old should see this. The candy house which at first is portrayed as happy and fun, becomes dark and grim and a place where a person gets killed, this might put a bad picture in younger kids minds. A person also brushes their teeth so hard that their gums bleed, and there is mild language. An animal is killed in this movie, but for food not recreation. I saw this movie when i was eleven and throughly enjoyed it, but somebody under eleven years old might get scared. This movie is wonderful and i would highly recommend it to people who like mildly scary movies, but not too scary or violent.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bykhan2705 June 5, 2011

intense and stylish spy action thriller.

3.5/5 Hanna (Saoirse Ronan) is 16 years old. She is bright, inquisitive, and a devoted daughter. Uniquely, she has the strength, the stamina, and the smarts of a soldier; these come from being raised by her widowed father Erik (Eric Bana), an ex-CIA man, in the wilds of North Finland. Erik has taught Hanna to hunt, put her through extreme self-defense workouts, and home-schooled her with only an encyclopedia and a book of fairy tales. Hanna has been living a life unlike any other teenager; her upbringing and training have been one and the same, all geared to making her the perfect assassin. But out in the world there is unfinished business for Hanna's family, and it is with a combination of pride and apprehension that Erik realizes his daughter can no longer be held back. ok first of all wow, this movie is directed by Joe Wright who directed two of my favorite movies, Pride and Prejudice and Atonement. i love those movies but this one is pretty different from those two. it is a spy thriller, really modern type and very different and stylish type of filmmaking, an artistic suspence thriller. direction is pitch perfect and he knows how to make this kind of movies too, he proves it with those thrilling unique action scenes. liked his direction in this movie. perfectly written, good screenplay that could have been slightly better but still good. story of this revenge and spy-chase and before that the training you might have seen in movies but trust me this one stands out as different and effective movie that you won't even think for a while that its cliched or something, its unique. cinematography is excellent with so much of varying locations that looks stunning and lovely, superb work by them. art direction costumes etc lovely. editing again is perfect. the action fighting scenes are superb and pretty satisfying well done action suquences. Saoirse Ronan outshines in this movie and she may shock you with how well she is in this movie, just pure perfect. this talented teen actress does those physical action sequences so well which is superb, two thumbs up for that. she did a good job as a teenager who has lived a life like no others, trained by her own father in intense physical training to fight and to be a perfect assassin only living in a isolated place and not seeing the actual world but as she finally comes in the actual world how she sees everything is what is interesting to see. Hanna's father played by the wonderful Eric Bana, you won't see much of him as this movie belongs to Hanna or should i say Saoirse Ronan. but still he did a good job. then there is one of my most favorite actress Cate Blanchett who did a nice job playing this evil arrogant villain in this movie. other supporting cast including Olivia Williams, Jason Flemyng, Jessica Barden , Tom Hollander and Jamie Beamish. so perfect casting and nice performances. movie is a wonderful satisfying entertaning enjoyable movie. at provides that high octane entertainment and the stylishness you would love to see. movie has a nice pace, it starts slow but then gets fast. also it had a nice score by the chemical brothers. i liked its many scenes but the one towards the end with Hanna and Marrisa are one to remeber. it is a good fantastic movie to watch and one of the best this year. Highly recommended. awsome.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bySamaraMorgan June 1, 2011

Amazing,

My name is actually Hannah, and after this movie came out, people have been telling me i need to dye my hair blond. My parents tool me and my sister (9) to see it. One word: Amazing!
Teen, 14 years old Written byimoviegoteen October 17, 2015

Gripping Violent Tale

Hanna is directed by Joe Wright and was made in 2011. But HANNA isn't exactly the family type movie. Unless your kids are atleast 15, because they'res lots of stuff in this film not suitable for children. Language isn't a 'big' issue, but it includes- one somewhat loud F word, four or five S words, Jesus's name is abused once, Gods name is misused multiple times. Now about the language, with most of the violence going on its actually pretty hard to realize that they cussed. Sex is quite an issue- Sophie and Hanna kiss in her bed laying next to eachother. A short kiss. But its mainly because Hanna is abnormal and doesn't know how friends act. So its not because shes a lesbian. But Sophie talked about her possibly being one. Sophies parents have loud camper shaking sex, and Sophie makes a remark 'they're like rabbits.' Sophie talks about being a lesbian (not often, just once.) Sophie go's out secretly on a date with a boy, she invites Hanna to come, Hanna's date doesn't go too well.. Violence- Man I can't say everything but I can say the most of it. Almost all of Hanna's main characters are killers. While Hanna is trained, in a sense, simply to defend herself, her father believes that the best defense is a good offense. So she kills without mercy. Taken into custody by government agents, she offs two soldiers in the process. Another four meet their end at her hands when she escapes. An example: Hanna tightly hugs an unsuspecting agent before reaching for her head and snapping her neck. When she finally breaks into the wider world, she continues her rampage, snuffing someone out with a slice to the jugular, wounding someone else with an arrow to the gut. Hanna engages several folks in nonlethal fistfights. Her training is bruising, visceral and chaotic. We see her kill and dress a caribou. And when dispatching wounded prey, she points a gun to their heads and pulls the trigger (the barrel pointed at the camera). Blood sometimes spatters Hanna's face and clothes. Erik also kills several people, using knives, guns and, in one instance, a pipe (which he stabs through a man's chest). The bloodied corpse of one of his victims, a policeman, is fished out of the sea. He exchanges fire with Marissa. Marissa favors the relative antiseptic dispatch of a handgun, using it frequently and without emotion. In flashback we see that she was the one who gunned down Hanna's mother, and she kills nearly everyone Hanna meets in her travels. The hired hit man and his cronies seem to relish their jobs. The hit man ties up and apparently tortures a hotel manager (his face is bloodied and swollen) before stabbing the guy in the heart with a pen. He ties up a man upside-down and shoots him full of arrows. We don't explicitly see him do it, but we do see the hit man stretch back a bow with bloodied hands, and we later come face-to-face with a pincushioned corpse. We see war footage on television. So as you can see Hannas very violent. But the film itself is really good!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 9, 2013

12+

Just a bit of violence but pretty cool.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byxxxEmoNikkixxx March 28, 2012

It was very good

I watched the movie (im 13) and it wasnt that violent. I have honestly watched movies that with more gore. The killings are a bit violent, but violence in movies cant hurt anyone. The sounds of love-making in the movie were a bit too much, but other than that it was just a couple of brief kissing scenes. I would give this movie 2 thumbs up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byhowrselover January 24, 2012

Iffy appropriateness

It depends on how sensitive you are to certain topics and actions. But I really liked it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byA Sneaky Chicken April 24, 2011

INTENSE

Great Movie! Very intense but wow was it good! I reccomend you go see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySithLordBeast December 2, 2011

crap

This is possibly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. No plot or backround whatsoever, and it seems like all the director wanted to do was kill everyone in the whole freaking movie. Who cares about content-wise just don't watch the movie cuz of its sorry-ness. I seriously just wasted 2 hours of my life. WHAT THE HECK WERE THE DIRECTORS THINKING?!?!?!?!?!?! I'd rather watch Dora...........
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 12, 14, and 17 year old Written bybillydog May 7, 2011
Bourne Identity meets Kill Bill. Stylish but a lot of graphic violence. Difficult to watch a child fighting grown-ups
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byParent Critic April 21, 2011

What was this about?

This movie should definitely be rated R for violence! Maybe we needed a teenager with us to help us figure out what in the world this movie was about other than killing, secrecy and revenge. The plot just left far too many gaps. The opening scenery is spectacular and the scenes in Morocco were fascinating but as parents of nine grown children we wouldn't recommend it to any of them!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byShen2 June 1, 2013

Hanna, rubbish movie and way too violent.

Very bad movie. I didn't like it at all. It was too violent and horrible, and had a very bad plot line. If I could I would go back and stop myself watching it. It was a really violent movie especially in certain moments of the movie, like when a man was killed with a pen. Don't ask how. Consider it strongly if your 13 or 12 year old child wants to watch it and do not let anyone 11 or under near it, or they will be mentally scarred for life.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2012

The Best!

it is a really good film! Quite bloody and gory for PG-13 though!
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages