All member reviews for Hanna

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Violent thriller is a high-stakes teen-assassin tale.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 43 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byjulco May 21, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not good for anyone, especially teenagers and kids.

This movie was extremely violent, and worse than some movies in that the lives lost were innocent. There was no remorse, no real purpose for all the violence. At the end I was confused because so many lives were lost for no real reason in my opinion. It's all about survival, but does the survival of one justify the killing of dozens of innocent lives? No. Especially when she doesn't hold information that needs to be protected or even holds a high position in government. She's just a teenage girl.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byllhess April 20, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I liked the movie but, after seeing it, was shocked to find out it was rated PG13. It is R all the way due to violence. The mercenary in the movie is stabbing (with the pencil I think to the (neck) in one scene...I actually looked away so I don't know for sure), hanging, torturing, etc his victims. My husband and I were both surprised at the rating it was given.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 8, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

i rate this title IFFY for ages 15+

What to watch out for * Messages: Most of the negativity revolves around whether it was Hanna's destiny to be the kind of trained killer she is or whether her father had a choice and could have raised her in a more peaceful manner. Marissa is an unredeeming villain who values herself over everyone else. * Role models: Except for Hanna's grandmother, there are few positive role models here. Even Hanna's father has ulterior motives and brings her up to become a tool of vengeance. Sophie's parents seem loving, open-minded, and caring, but their concern is overshadowed by the selfishness and cruelty displayed by Marissa, who's a very cold-hearted villain. Violence: From the opening scene -- when Hanna hunts down a large elk with an arrow and finishes it off with a bullet -- to the final moment, when two characters face off, there's barely a scene in the movie without some form of violence. Hanna's father trains her by sparring hand-to-hand and with various weapons. Major and secondary characters are killed in various ways -- bullets to the head or heart, slit throats, arrows to the heart, smashed skulls, knives to the gut, snapped necks, and more. Unlike superhero movies, the violence is realistic and at times quite bloody. Innocent bystanders who've met or spoken to Hanna end up tortured or killed. * Sex: Hanna and Sophie flirt with and then go on a date with two attractive guys. Sophie and her date kiss, but violence gets in the way of Hanna kissing hers. Sophie's parents have loud, camper-van-shaking sex; viewers hear them moaning while Sophie comments about them being "like rabbits." A woman practices a dance at a club, and the owner tells someone she has male and female genitalia, but nothing is shown. * Language: One loud "f--k," plus a few uses of "s--t," "d--n," "oh my God," and English slang like "mental" and "bugger." * Consumerism: There's a close-up of Marissa's green Prada shoes. Villains drive in a white Range Rover.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bywhiteblack December 17, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Beautiful and thought provoking

This is a well shot movie that manages to completely captivate the audience without resulting to extreme violence.
Teen, 16 years old Written byA Sneaky Chicken April 24, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

INTENSE

Great Movie! Very intense but wow was it good! I reccomend you go see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byN.Kindred January 21, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 13, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

STUFF

ME AND MY SIB'S ARE SCARED OF THIS CRAP AND WE ARE 13 ,11, AND 15! DON'T EVER WATCH IT UNLESS YOUR AN ADULT IN FACT IF YOU ARE AN ADULT STILL DON'T WATCH IT .ONLY BLIND OLD PEOPLE THAT CANT HEAR SHOULD COME NEAR THIS FLICKEN CRAP MONSTER ! I AM NOT KIDDING ITS NOT WORTH HAVING NIGHTMARES AND PEEING AND POOPING EVERYWHERE AT THE AGE OF 50 OR YOUNGER! OH YEAH AND OLDER! JUST PICTURE YOURSELF CHOKING AND GAGGING YOUR DENTURE JUICE ALL OVER YOUR NEW WIFE , BABY AND PAJAMAS. OK DUDE SO NO TOUCHIE.IF THIS HASN'T CONVINCED YOU THAN WHEN I FORT ON YOUR FACE YOU'LL REGRET ET. AWESOME POSSUM OUT........... OH AND IT SOUNDS LIKE MAC&CHEESE BEING STIRRED
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 9, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12+

Just a bit of violence but pretty cool.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byShen2 June 1, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Hanna, rubbish movie and way too violent.

Very bad movie. I didn't like it at all. It was too violent and horrible, and had a very bad plot line. If I could I would go back and stop myself watching it. It was a really violent movie especially in certain moments of the movie, like when a man was killed with a pen. Don't ask how. Consider it strongly if your 13 or 12 year old child wants to watch it and do not let anyone 11 or under near it, or they will be mentally scarred for life.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byRosie93 November 25, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not for Kids

Great but surprisingly violent film. Not for children or young teens despite it's low rating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 10, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie!!!!!!

this movie is wonderfully filmed and is very well done. Hanna is smart and witty and there is surprisingly not too much violence in the movie. Guts are shown, but some things are not. Like when a man is about to stab another one, the scene stops right before the pen goes into his throat. A man is shot with arrows multiple times and is hung upside-down from a ceiling- in a candy house i might add. Nobody under 11 years old should see this. The candy house which at first is portrayed as happy and fun, becomes dark and grim and a place where a person gets killed, this might put a bad picture in younger kids minds. A person also brushes their teeth so hard that their gums bleed, and there is mild language. An animal is killed in this movie, but for food not recreation. I saw this movie when i was eleven and throughly enjoyed it, but somebody under eleven years old might get scared. This movie is wonderful and i would highly recommend it to people who like mildly scary movies, but not too scary or violent.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 18, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Awesome and isn't scary to me

One night my dad and I were flipping through the channels and we saw this. We turned it on (it was only 5 minutes in so we didn't miss much). It is probably one of my most favorite movies. I am 12 and I can only watch a pg 13 movie if my dad has previewed it or he is watching it with me. To be honest this movie isn't even that bad. I mean yes it has a lot of violence but nothing else. Not to effend anyone but some of the people on here say you should be seventeen. I find that ridiculous. I guess it depends on the child. I can only watch pg 13 if it is violent and theres cursing. If there is anything nasty (and you know what I mean) I cant watch it. So if your child gets scared easily maybe they should stick with pg and g but it didn"t bother me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Best!

it is a really good film! Quite bloody and gory for PG-13 though!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

unexpected....

wow! i was amazed this was a 12 as it is very violent! i know a lot of kids that are my age and under would hate this because of the violence but some might not mind it so much!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byFox101 June 1, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not A Kid's Movie

If you are of the faint of heart, this is not the right movie for you. The violence is almost non-stop, and it's incredibly disturbing and personal. I watched this before bed, and could barely fall asleep the plot haunted me so much. The story is well written, but the end seems like the writers got bored, and cut it off before the whole thing could play out...... But then again, it's more about the journey than the destination! Unlike most action movies, there is no humor whatsoever in this film. The main character is over-stressed, and throughout the movie, the more you get inside her mind, the sicker the feeling. In one scene, she pretends to act scared while coddling a woman (she's captive), and you see the innocent look in her eyes; but that changes within an instant, when she breaks the woman's neck. Startlingly dark, well-written and superbly-acted, Hanna will leave you shaking with the ever-hanging suspense........ Even after the end, you'll be waiting for what's next.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byRouge Leader May 14, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Keep Away From This One

The movie was very violent. I only made it half way through it. I play lots of Call of Duty, and Black Ops was probably the worst for melee violence, and yet this movie made me leave. Lots of shooting innocent people, including a dying mother who was killed in witness to her baby, and surprisingly bloody. Not to mention that one of the opening scenes is so flashing with the lighting people could have seziures. The movie had a low-budget feel to it. My advice is to watch JAMES BOND instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byxxxEmoNikkixxx March 28, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It was very good

I watched the movie (im 13) and it wasnt that violent. I have honestly watched movies that with more gore. The killings are a bit violent, but violence in movies cant hurt anyone. The sounds of love-making in the movie were a bit too much, but other than that it was just a couple of brief kissing scenes. I would give this movie 2 thumbs up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 1, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

HANNA

What the heck I'm nine i watched this movie and so theres some language and scary parts but this movie was my favorite so adults dont think its that bad for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byTristanScarpitto February 17, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Violent, but a great plot.

If you've got half a mind, and listen closely at the end everything all comes into place. The plot was brilliant, the music was very original, the violence was pretty brutal, but I wouldn't call it an R worthy movie. One mention of sexual content where a comment is made about someone having both male and female genitalia, but that's about it. Two characters (both female) kiss, but not sexualy. Great movie, recommended for teens and adults.
Teen, 13 years old Written byhowrselover January 24, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Iffy appropriateness

It depends on how sensitive you are to certain topics and actions. But I really liked it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages