All member reviews for Happy Gilmore

Common Sense Media says

Adolescent humor at its best/worst. Lots of profanity.

Users say

(out of 86 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 7, 2010

Must-see movie!

Fantastic film. Very laugh-out-loud. Quite a lot of swearing and a few short snaps of violence, but nothing too bad. What is also quite funny is that it's like a grown man throwing a foul-mouthed temper tantrum throughout the whole film!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycooldude1000 August 19, 2009
loved it
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague December 15, 2009

Happy Gilmore

Rich in hilarity and witty humor that even dull lawyers would find funny. If Caddyshack had a sequel, this would be it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygravyfury October 6, 2010

Must see for all ages

I and my kids must have seen this at LEAST 20 times. My kids range from ages 3-8
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written bycuntfacw February 4, 2016

Gaaaaa-lorius

It is as funny as a rabbit up my little butt.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMovieMan26 October 10, 2010

Vulgar sports comedy classic is a MUST-SEE

This is just one of those movies you must see at least once. It's timeless, hilarious, and often offensive. Adam Sandler certainly shined in one of his best performances. Parents: This movie is filled with bad language and some sexual content. Bottom Line: This hilarious comedy is definitely worth a look. Thanks for reading! - Movie Man
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySanjay407 October 28, 2011

Rated

Change Rated R: Comic Violence, Almost Strong Sexual Content, Some Offensive Language, and Mild Drinking
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 27, 2010

Temper Fever Sandler

Parents need to know that this is a great hilarious profane filled comedy classic.But it says the "s" word numerous times and the original h**l,d**n,a*s,b***h,and b*****d.Also,it has mild comic sexuality with 2 or 3 scenes of a girl in lingerie for about 5 seconds.And you see a male's butt twice in this film.But, a great,funny comedy
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byzackaback August 13, 2009
O.k.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old May 23, 2009

Very good

This is a very good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byRgasper January 24, 2016

Adam Sandlers best movie

Needless to say, there is a lot of swearing in this movie. But, it is an Adam Sandler movie, so what does one really expect? Terrible hockey player turned tempermental golfer, looking to get enough money to buy back his grandmas house, while embarrassing cocky Shooter McGavin...well, you can expect there to be some laughs. Throw in a fighting Bob Barker, psychotic slave driver/nursing home attendant Ben Stiller, and a one handed former golfer Carl Weather who makes cracks about why he wasn't allowed to play football as a kid...and it makes all the swearing worth tolerating just so you can laugh at the mindless ridiculousness that can be found in most of Sandlers older movies. The woman briefly shown in lingerie was actually more bothersome than the language throughout the movie. But, I would caution any parent who is very concerned with their young ones hearing a vast amount of curse words to steer clear of this comedy.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous July 20, 2014

Angry funny adam Sandler movie is probably the best.

My rating:PG-13 for crude humor,sexual content,comic violence,language and drug references.
Adult Written byhomealonefan123 June 5, 2014

One of Sandler's best movies, but more for mature audiences!

Parents need to know that this movie is most likely to attract kids of all ages, but be advised that this movie may not be age appropriate for them. There is comical fight scenes, including one extended fight between Adam Sandler and Bob Barker. There is a lot of swearing, but most of it is beeped out. (F--k and sh-t are used a lot but beeped out a lot of the time). There is a brief sexual sequence involving a woman in revealing clothing. But however, this movie s very good, but it is best for teens!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 31, 2011

Hope this is a good review and makes you feel HAPPY

This was an amazing movie when I first watched it I was 8 and I loved it. Yes it may have violence but that is what makes it hilarious it hasn't got any blood but there is a man who has nail in his head. There is strong language (bit**,shi*,hell,dam* and bastar*)but most of it is bleeped although it doesn't cover all the words example mother(bleep). The only reference to sex is two 17 year olds in the woods having sex and that is it. There is loads of signs of Pepsi and Subway, this is a great movie that is one of my favourites.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byteenreviews(17yrs) October 28, 2011

positive...

It has profanity, but it helps show kids with strong emotion positive messages, like "Anger Management" but the language still does overpower the positives, I saw it when i was 9, it was pretty profane, but moral I think it is OK for tweens with parental guidance, It is goofy and dumb, but hilarious and a liitle moral :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bykellipetrelli February 23, 2011

Laughed like h*ll

Loved thi movie. THIS IS YOUR HOME! CANT YOU SEE ITS YOUR HOME? GO TO YOU HOME! xD I LOVE THIS MOVIE, and I LOVE ADAM SANDLER :D
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byqwertyuiop01 November 14, 2010
cool film
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2010
great
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byPoison Ivey March 7, 2010
so, it was pretty clean for the most part... LOTS of swearing, there had to be at least 50 f/s words but most of it was "caught on camera" therefore it was bleeped out. But overall, it was funny and entertaining, and i for 1 thing love golf so it was awesome. The whole family can enjoy it. If you liked Caddyshack, you'll like thiss!!! (even though caddyshack is way better XD)
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages