All member reviews for Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle

Common Sense Media says

Extremely silly and vulgar comedy with some clever humor.
 

Users say

(out of 27 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byimjustwondering March 27, 2011
 

big teens not little teens or tykes

i LOVE this movie this movie makes any scary movie epic movie and any other spoof or funny movie look like a high school low budget funny film this movie is HILARIOUS of course i wouldnt recommend it for kids 14 and under but 15+ yes and yes one age difference does make a difference or if your parents are super strict to the fact the wont let you get the proper sexual education kids need today in this society
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bykate3 April 9, 2008
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byYbrik222 March 27, 2011
 

Fun movie for adults, not for kids.

I personally love this movie, but frequent nudity, drug use, and swearing make this movie highly inappropriate for children. Despite some possibly offensive humour, there are actually some good messages in this movie. The film promotes standing up for yourself and striving for what you, and not others, desire (in this case: hamburgers). The use of White Castle as the main conflict in this film can be seen as rampant product placement, but it's done well.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byj-dog123 June 11, 2015
 

Really Funny!

This was a really funny movie! It isn't that bad, besides one scene with Freakshow's naked wife. The scenes with the racoon, the man in the bush, and Freak Show were hilarious! Great Movie!
Adult Written byResponsable February 4, 2015
 

Really funny, but some references

What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous September 10, 2014
 

Really funny, but some references

What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTheTrillonaire August 10, 2014
 

Funny vulgar comedy built for adults.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 and 16 year old Written byslendyman November 1, 2013
 

Kumar

Great movie. Very funny and there is a little nudity but nothing that bad. I would not let my younger kids watch this but 15 and up yes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 15, 15, and 17 year old Written by79awesome August 13, 2013
 

good

My husband and I rented this movie and I have to say it wasnt that bad of a movie language is pretty strong and nudity two parts drugs really strong.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by69 awesome August 4, 2013
 

haha

Really a great movie i loved it. Drugs is the problem but that doesnt bother me. Nudity. And for the kid that said it would beat scary movie and epic movie yeah right. Any ways 14+ safe. And last two things sex jokes and language. And for people that said 15+ umm 14s nothing diffrent than 15 stupids
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 April 15, 2013
 

Harold and Kumar is dumb fun

Harold and Kumar is hilarious. It has two likable characters but not exactly role models. And it is very well acted. It is a nice little comedy or in other words a easy watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymattguy15 October 13, 2012
 

funny movie

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymattguy July 20, 2012
 

awesome movie

this was an awesome movie but some sexual content isnt appropreate. some language lots of drugs kumar is consitantly say blaze it up or come on lets smoke some weed. some racial jokes including afican americans.violence isnt bad some blood shown during a surgery and harold and kumar crash a car.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by56 YEARS OLD MOVIES July 11, 2012
 

FUNNY

Its very funny but it has a lot of drugs and language, there are two scenes where we see a women's breasts one of them is quite brief the other is two women without any shirts on a man fondles with one.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byRobbyboyfye16 April 22, 2012
 

drgfvf

Good Pals adventures are Hularious and Clever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byChuck Reid March 15, 2012
 

One of my favorite movies of all time!

I LOVE White Castle sliders! While they're fattening god,they're good! This movie is REALLY fuuny & action packed!
Teen, 16 years old Written byT-Rod February 17, 2012
 

A great stoner/buddy/road trip movie..if you're old enough to get it.

Harold & Kumar is a fun, if not flat out insane, stoner comedy about a number-crunching, desk job-having, shy Korean man named Harold Lee(played by John Cho) and his best friend, a troublesome, out-going, sometimes stupid young man named Kumar Patel(played by Kal Penn). These two are the best thing about the movie. You totally believe that these two are best friends and have been for a very long time. They are inseparable. Another thing that works are the over-the-top and outrageous jokes. Most of the side-trips are implausible at best, but that just adds to the fun and craziness, and a lot of the jokes are unpredictable as well! But, unfortunately, there are a lot of jokes that just fall flat. pOSITIVE pIECES: There is subtle satire of racism and stereotyping. That being said, if you don't pick up on that satire, you'll find that the two main characters and the love interest are the only ones that are not total stereotypes. At the end, Harold learns that he should stand up for himself and to not be such a wuss. vIOLENT vEIL: A racoon hisses blood onto Harold. A bloody corpse is dragged out by a cheetah. A few punches here and there. A surgery scene has some blood. Harold also shoots a police officer in a dream sequence, followed with animated blood. None of the violence is graphic and is all lighthearted and intended to be funny. nYEH nONSENSE (oR sEXUAL sTUFF): Constant and explicit dialogue of all things sexual. From just simply seeing breasts on a movie to four ways. Plus, there are three. scenes of nudity. In the first, a pair of breasts are shown for about 4 minutes or so. The second, there are two pairs, I believe, and a man is playing and feeling one of them. The third, two girls flash their breasts. oBSCENITIES aND oBSCENE pROFANITIES: Many uses of the f-word, s-word, and other, more mild, profanities. dRUG dANGERS: Too much to count. Seeing as this IS a STONER comedy, there's a lot of weed, marijuana, bongs, etc. But not the most I've ever seen in a film. cONSUMERISM: Now, I don't USUALLY do this, but...White Castle. aLL-iN-aLL: Twas an awesome movie. Now, this movie, to be completely honest, just BARELY got four stars. Because a lot of the jokes fall flat, at the end there's nothing you haven't seen before..except perhaps the Cheetah scene. Which just happens to be my second favorite scene in the entire series. But this movie is worth seeing for a few reasons. 1. The charm. The whole movie is surrounded in it. 2.) The Cheetah scene. It's so fake, it reminded me of a 60's B Movie! And I LOVE those!! 3.) The main leads. Two reasons these leads rock. The first, as I've mentioned before, they work great together. The second is that it's probably the only time you'll see a Korean and an Indian man carrying a film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySanjay407 October 22, 2011
 

Caution

You might as well not watch this. Rated R: A Scene of Gore, Strong Sexuality, Strong Language, and Constant Drug Use
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bychow13 April 7, 2011
 

One of the best comedies I have seen

This is a completely awesome comedy for ages 15 +
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byipeterg123 February 9, 2011
 
entertaining, and funny, loved it

Pages