All member reviews for Harry and the Hendersons

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A big, Harry family adventure full of laughs.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 4 and 10 year old Written byJ9800 March 22, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Foul language out weighs viewing for younger children

The foul language seem superfluous and added nothing but distraction to our kids. I'm surprised the movie did not have a PG-13 rating.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pretty Good Movie

I liked this movie. My sister and dad like it a lot, too. We have watched it about 5 times, and I think I will watch it again.
Kid, 11 years old June 27, 2009
Adult Written bypamelao8 March 29, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
A cute story - marred by a number of curse words I was unhappy to have my children ages 7 and 10, introduced to including bastard, hell, shit , asshole, dam it. THese words did not just appear once, but repeatedly - not sure why they needed this
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 26, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

amusing but bad language

i thought this movie was funny but there is cussing all thru this movie and i think no one under 10 should watch it
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bysamartin66 May 20, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Very funny. My kids enjoyed it but the language is unnecessary. This movie was made before PG-13 and just because the language it would have fallen into that category.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7 year old Written byscoutdog January 8, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Bad language not for kids under 10.

bad Language is one of the things I try to avoid having my boys exposed to. My boys are 9, 8, & 5
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byDLJones3423 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Hysterical! Should be a classic favorite!

Our family enjoyed this older movie. It was well done, a nice balance between reality and comical, unlikely situations. It was fun to imagine what it would be like to have someone like Harry at our house. I only had one objection, and that was the occasional swearing. For younger kids (5 through 7 maybe), this movie is okay if parents watch it with them and explain what's going on (and isn't that what PG means?). It might be a little scary or confusing at times otherwise.
Adult Written bypamela8 April 20, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

BAD language - overhwhelms a funny/.lovely story

A story with a nice message - but the language was appalling and totally unnecessary - my 7 and 10 year olds had not heard all those words before - it was very uncomfortable -wish I had checked here first before putting it on at home
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byMattmchugh September 2, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

An OK family movie, with a fantastic movie creature

A few four-letter words -- sh*t being the most common -- but nothing over the top. A slightly odd vibe with regard to gun culture. The father is a hunter and teaches his young son to shoot a rabbit (happens off camera, though you see them with the dead rabbit) . And the villain is a hunter, yet by the end, everyone's all reconciled in a big vegan group hug... philosophically and all but literally. It's a little odd. But most of the movie's a lot of light-hearted slapstick with gooey touches of sitcom sentimentality. The cast is fine. John Lithgow plays a bug-eyed, befuddled dad with the best of 'em, and Melinda Dillion is the sweetest, long-suffering movie mom you could want. Though, of course, the real star is Harry. A seven-foot actor in a fur suit with an astoundingly expressive animatronic ape-man mask. He's a marvelous, old-school bit of movie magic from make up genius Rick Baker. Today, they'd do him as CGI and he wouldn't be half as good. So, all in all, only an OK family movie, but definitely worth seeing as a piece of cinematic history in its own right. - mm
Parent Written byspunkyjones May 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

i forgot about the strong language used!

several foul language - even from young boy
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written bygehret78 March 8, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Harry good!

Cute movie. Wish they kept the language out. It really wasn't necessary for the likability of this movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byEmangina June 12, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Harry Come Live With Us

I cherish this movie from my childhood and don't recall the language or violence. That was until I watched it with my kids. I found myself running for the tv as the little boy started cussing 5 minutes into the film. Now did those things stick with me into my adulthood, probably not. All I recalled was how funny it was and how sad it was at the end. I wish I had waited to share this one with my kids. They were 3 and 4 at the time. These 80's movies will catch you off guard! Be cautious.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byPeopleschamp1995 August 6, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Classic in my mind

It teaches a good lesson
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew February 19, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Very funny "Bigfoot" spoof is good for families

My rating:PG for mild language and scary images
Teen, 13 years old Written byHmb2008 April 17, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

um...

this movie is ok and the youngest cusses a lot mainly using the word sh*t in a variety of ways and there is a few fighting scenes and many scenes with guns but no blood. I think now that this movie isn't so bad but when i was younger this movie gave me nightmares. Especially when the Hendresons hit Harry like omg no just... no
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byMichael Fraraccio February 13, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models