All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parent of a 8 year old Written bysbg2010 October 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Scary for younger kids

As a reader of the Harry Potter books and as a parent, I really enjoyed the movie. However my 8 year old son was really scared by this movie. He is a little sensitive to scary material. I think he could have handled the same material in the book but in the movie it's much more real and graphic. He cited the "possessed" voice of one of the characters and the werewolf transformation. Even though I used the "violent" icon, I really mean it's scary more so than violent. I also think the first two movies were not as scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 28, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 year old Written byDad42 January 27, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Nightmares for the young audience

Although rated PD here, this is really not suitable for kids under 9/10, much too scary - it frightened my daughter aged 7 and we had to switch off, I had to spend a good deal of time calming her fears. She had loved the first two movies in the series which were not a challenge to her.
Teen, 13 years old Written byIgnotus_Peverell May 9, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Masterful!

IT'S ON EMPIRES TOP FILMS OF ALL TIME LIST! ^ Needless to say, this movie is absolutely breath-taking! Alfonso Curaun took J.K Rowling's amazing work and turned it into an amazing, family classic for ALMOST all ages
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byannesbanannes May 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 15, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Totally Awesome movie for 9+

Why I chose these ratings above? Positive messages: 1. Professor Lupin teaches Harry to fight these "dementors" by focusing on happy thoughts Good Role Models:(List) 1.Professor Remus John Lupin Why? Helps Harry conqueor his fears. Forgives Sirius Black for thinking that he (Remus) betrayed Lily and James Potter accepts Sirius' apolgy for thinking that he (Sirius) was the betrayer. 2. Rubeus Hagrid Why? Comments positivly to Harry, Ron and Hermione 3. Albus Dumbledore Why? Helps Hermione and Harry save Sirius Black from a horrible fate not deserved. 4. Hermione Granger Why? Keeps Professor Lupin's secret "disease", lycanthropy a secret. 5. Sirius Black Why? He forgives Remus Lupin for thinking that he (Sirius) was the betrayer and asks Remus Lupin to forgive him for thinking that he (Remus) was the betrayer. 6. Harry Potter Why? He saves his past self from the "Dementor's Kiss". Concerns: Violence: 1.At the end of the movie, Professor Remus Lupin transforms into a werewolf and (unknowingly) trys to bite/injure Harry, and Hermione sevral times. Language: 1 use of b**** and some uses of d***. It was an excellent movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie

But has turned to a more scary film
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old April 24, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

best potter movie

My fav potter movie.when hermoine punched malfoy i went LOL
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 3, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Never stop loving harry potter

I love harry potter, still.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byXemnasSuperior March 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Romance?! Since when! Scariest Harry Potter movie though.

When I say violent,I mean scary.Seriously,I think it is the scariest out of all the movies so far.And romance? Since when! What are you talking about? That's in the 5th movie,not the 3rd!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 3, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The best movie for the almost-tweens!

This movie is better than SillyBandz! I love it! I started watching it when I was about six and had to many nightmares, so I waited a few years and love it now! I must see for 8-9+!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 year old Written bySongbird21 October 15, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
It's a decent movie. Might be a little too scary for kids under 10. If you're strict about accuracy to the plot then prepare to be disappointed. There is no battle whatsoever between the kids and the death eaters in the prophecy room and many more changes abound.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bylizperle April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

the best yet

My ten year old son and I had the time of our lives at this movie even if he did reach over and hold my hand a couple of times in the scarier parts. This movie never stops. The camera follows everyone intimately so you have the feeling of "you rae there". Also, much of the movie takes place outside so it has a very different feel than the earlier ones that were safely wrapped in the inner landscape of Hogwarts. I heartily recommend reading the book first and then going together with your family. It's a great night out!
Adult Written bymdacko April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Harry Potter rides again!

Great movie for fans of the Harry Potter series. I would have liked to seen a bit more of the Quidditch storyline presented in the Prisoner of Azkaban book.
Kid, 8 years old May 15, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great Harry Potter movie has intense scenes but no blood.

My rating PG for: brief violence.
Teen, 13 years old Written bypicardisbetter May 8, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Not the best but I've seen worse

Taking into account that the visuals are better than that of the previous 2, this movie isn't the best of the eight, in a nutshell it was kinda confusing
Kid, 10 years old April 29, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

harry potter3

The animation looks so REAL! Just remember that because this movie includes the dementors for the first time. These magical creatures will scare your little kids. And by that I mean nightmares are most possibly gonna happen. The movie is really good. Please remember this movie is most likely best for teen to adult.
Teen, 14 years old Written byTIE41 February 26, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Darker than the first two

This movie takes a turn for the best in this movie, the plot is a little more quirkier than the last ones, and little funnier. there is nothing really wrong in this movie except the end may scare small kids, the movie is probably too complex for kids under 9, but this is the best of the Potter saga.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byAbc1 January 6, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I thought the really creepy part was when a teacher seems to be possessed. Also when the de mentors and werewolves come out.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages