All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Fantastic, but kids are older, themes are darker.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 166 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 December 14, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
One of the best Harry Potter movies of all times. The darkest PG rated film. With more humour than the other two and more interesting, it's a win-win. Gary Oldman was great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old November 3, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Next Level!

This one is definetly more scary and violent than the first and second movies, but it's equally as good!!! I feel that this is the movie where the action and mystery really starts and you meet a lot of new and important characters! Some images may be traumatizing for sensitive audiences, for example the dementors and the werewolf! Although if your love action and adventure then this is your movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew October 25, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Darker,graphic threequel to amazing series

My rating: PG-13 for violence,scary images,sensuality and thematic elements
Kid, 8 years old October 16, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Basically Harry Potter and Sirius Black

Peter is creepy, maybe too creepy for younger kids. It has some language like "damn", "bloody hell" and b**ch. God. And it has some bloody wounds that are disturbing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byIsaac T October 16, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Pretty dull compared to the other movies.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byjohnstewart September 8, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

some scary scenes

but should be fine
Kid, 8 years old September 6, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!

My GOD! This movie was AWESOME! In my opinion 7 or 8 years old is a good time to let your kid watch it. Although, it has language like "d--n" and "b---h".
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 17, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A darker movie than the first two

A action packed movie overall. Has a way more frightening story though. A movie for kids that can handle violence and blood and suspense.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBobMoo2 August 3, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Still good, but scenes start getting cut

Review: This movie was good, just like the others, but we now notice scenes getting cut and plots changed a little. A major problem with this was the unconvincing change of Harry's heart with Sirius, which is done better in the books. It also doesn't explain that Hermione had to give back the Time-Turner and the Ministry wouldn't let her use it to fix stuff because of their anti-Harry campaign in the 5th movie, and that it, along with the others was destroyed at the end of the 5th movie. Lupin sadly never plays a large part after this movie. The good parts of this movie were the extremely well-done Time-turner scene and the hippogriff was very convincing. Werewolf, not so much. The boggart scene was also excellent and the Harry-Lupin talk scenes were also very good for the movie. The Marauder's Map is great and Pettigrew's acting skills are just like I imagined in the book. He is one of the characters that I find to be exactly they are in the book: himself, Hagrid, Ron, and Scrimgeour. Age-appropriatness: In my opinion, even though this film has the dark foreboding near the end, it is not as violent as the Chamber of Secrets. The werewolf scene is scary but there is no blood, or excessive violence. Harry is a little bloodthirsty when it comes to hunting down Sirius and the dementors are definitely scary. No sex or drugs, but one "damn". Messages and models continue to be excellent.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 29, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AMAZING!!!

Harry Potter and the prisoner of Azkaban. Harry Potter is a wizard in training that lost his parents from the dark lord Valtimort. this may disturb the younger ages. There is also evil soul sucking creatures which are vary scary. Over all Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is a good movie for ages ten and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth June 30, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

"Something wicked this way comes."

The prisoner of Askaban is the third harry potter movie. it involves a prison escapee come to attack harry. This movie includes some disturbing creatures, a huge twist and harry learning more about his parents death.
Kid, 12 years old June 1, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A M A Z I N G !

This is definitely one of the best HP movies! I love love love it. VIOLENCE: Lots. Many times are people attacked by dementors, which are pretty much scary hooded creatures that suck out you soul, and cause Harry to hear his screaming mother. A main character (no spoilers) turns into a werewolf, and his transformation into it looks painful and freaky. When he becomes a werewolf, he tries to kill Harry and his friends. Another character gains a bloody shoulder wound, closely followed by another encounter with a lot of dementors, in which he and Harry almost get there souls taken. A professor tells a prophecy, in which they get a scary voice and seem to be possessed. Harry accidentally blows up his aunt like a balloon, but this scene is more comical than violent. SEX: I don't know what CSM is talking about, there is absolutely none. DRINKING/SMOKING: Teens are allowed to drink what they call 'butterbeer' in Hogsmeade. Harry sneaks into a pub to eavesdrop on somebody. LANGUAGE: a couple "bloody h**l"s from Ron, one d*mn, and at the beginning, when Harry's aunt is talking about dogs, she says: "If there's something wrong with the b**ch, than there's something wrong with the pup."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 27, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Cool Movie

Its a great movie for familys with kids aged 9 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old March 11, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

it is one of the best ever movies

i think you should watch this movie if you liked the first 2 movies. I also think that if you have not yet watched the first 2 movies you should watch them before you watch this movie because it will not make much sense.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old February 17, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Darker....

More frightening, more violence, less gore....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 14, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Favourite movie ever <3

THis is my favourite movie EVER! Out of all the Harry Potter episodes, this is my favourite but that doesnt mean i don't like the other episodes!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byminnie95 September 8, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

HARRY POTTER!

BEST FILM IN THE WORLD THE HARRY POTTER SERIES! i watched it when i was 9 slightly scared but for 90% of the time it was great not scary :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 6 years old July 18, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

An Umer Made

eh
Teen, 15 years old Written byHaileyMarie July 14, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Third 'Harry Potter' Film is One of the Best!

The third 'Harry Potter' is scarier than the first two, so don't let young children watch it. But it's one of the best films in the series! A few positive messages and role models. The violence and scariness is a little more intense than it was in previous movies. The Dementors are depressing and a little scary. Buckbeak, the Hippogriff is executed. The executor raises the ax and swings down, but the camera cuts away before anything is shown. No sex. No drinking, drugs, or smoking other than butterbeer.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe July 6, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Fair amount of darkness for a PG-rated movie

Really dark, but amazing. I remember when Aunt Marge said "If there's something wrong with the b*tch, then there's something wrong with the pup." One scene that might frighten children is when Professor Lupin transforms into a werewolf. When my brother was little, he found people transforming into werewolves scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages