All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Common Sense Media says

Fantastic, but kids are older, themes are darker.

Users say

(out of 186 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old August 17, 2014

A darker movie than the first two

A action packed movie overall. Has a way more frightening story though. A movie for kids that can handle violence and blood and suspense.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBobMoo2 August 3, 2014

Still good, but scenes start getting cut

Review: This movie was good, just like the others, but we now notice scenes getting cut and plots changed a little. A major problem with this was the unconvincing change of Harry's heart with Sirius, which is done better in the books. It also doesn't explain that Hermione had to give back the Time-Turner and the Ministry wouldn't let her use it to fix stuff because of their anti-Harry campaign in the 5th movie, and that it, along with the others was destroyed at the end of the 5th movie. Lupin sadly never plays a large part after this movie. The good parts of this movie were the extremely well-done Time-turner scene and the hippogriff was very convincing. Werewolf, not so much. The boggart scene was also excellent and the Harry-Lupin talk scenes were also very good for the movie. The Marauder's Map is great and Pettigrew's acting skills are just like I imagined in the book. He is one of the characters that I find to be exactly they are in the book: himself, Hagrid, Ron, and Scrimgeour. Age-appropriatness: In my opinion, even though this film has the dark foreboding near the end, it is not as violent as the Chamber of Secrets. The werewolf scene is scary but there is no blood, or excessive violence. Harry is a little bloodthirsty when it comes to hunting down Sirius and the dementors are definitely scary. No sex or drugs, but one "damn". Messages and models continue to be excellent.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth June 30, 2014

"Something wicked this way comes."

The prisoner of Askaban is the third harry potter movie. it involves a prison escapee come to attack harry. This movie includes some disturbing creatures, a huge twist and harry learning more about his parents death.
Kid, 12 years old June 1, 2014

A M A Z I N G !

This is definitely one of the best HP movies! I love love love it. VIOLENCE: Lots. Many times are people attacked by dementors, which are pretty much scary hooded creatures that suck out you soul, and cause Harry to hear his screaming mother. A main character (no spoilers) turns into a werewolf, and his transformation into it looks painful and freaky. When he becomes a werewolf, he tries to kill Harry and his friends. Another character gains a bloody shoulder wound, closely followed by another encounter with a lot of dementors, in which he and Harry almost get there souls taken. A professor tells a prophecy, in which they get a scary voice and seem to be possessed. Harry accidentally blows up his aunt like a balloon, but this scene is more comical than violent. SEX: I don't know what CSM is talking about, there is absolutely none. DRINKING/SMOKING: Teens are allowed to drink what they call 'butterbeer' in Hogsmeade. Harry sneaks into a pub to eavesdrop on somebody. LANGUAGE: a couple "bloody h**l"s from Ron, one d*mn, and at the beginning, when Harry's aunt is talking about dogs, she says: "If there's something wrong with the b**ch, than there's something wrong with the pup."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 27, 2014

Cool Movie

Its a great movie for familys with kids aged 9 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old March 11, 2014

it is one of the best ever movies

i think you should watch this movie if you liked the first 2 movies. I also think that if you have not yet watched the first 2 movies you should watch them before you watch this movie because it will not make much sense.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old February 17, 2014

Darker....

More frightening, more violence, less gore....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 14, 2013

Favourite movie ever

THis is my favourite movie EVER! Out of all the Harry Potter episodes, this is my favourite but that doesnt mean i don't like the other episodes!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byminnie95 September 8, 2013

HARRY POTTER!

BEST FILM IN THE WORLD THE HARRY POTTER SERIES! i watched it when i was 9 slightly scared but for 90% of the time it was great not scary :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 6 years old July 18, 2013

An Umer Made

eh
Teen, 15 years old Written byHaileyMarie July 14, 2013

Third 'Harry Potter' Film is One of the Best!

The third 'Harry Potter' is scarier than the first two, so don't let young children watch it. But it's one of the best films in the series! A few positive messages and role models. The violence and scariness is a little more intense than it was in previous movies. The Dementors are depressing and a little scary. Buckbeak, the Hippogriff is executed. The executor raises the ax and swings down, but the camera cuts away before anything is shown. No sex. No drinking, drugs, or smoking other than butterbeer.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe July 6, 2013

Fair amount of darkness for a PG-rated movie

Really dark, but amazing. I remember when Aunt Marge said "If there's something wrong with the b*tch, then there's something wrong with the pup." One scene that might frighten children is when Professor Lupin transforms into a werewolf. When my brother was little, he found people transforming into werewolves scary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byHarry Potter 1 June 7, 2013

The only Harry Potter movie I don't reccomend.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is an epic failure of a movie because they did such a poor job of book to movie translation. Some very critical plot points are left out,resulting in a very unfulfilling movie. This movie completely misses the boat by failing to include plot points such as why the marauders became animagi in the 1st place,the history of the map,and,most importantly,what motivated Sirius to escape from Azkaban. As Sirius escape from Azkaban sets in motion the events of the book that set in motion the rest of the series,to not explain to movie audience exactly what motivated Sirius to escape from Azkaban was an epic plot failure. Although there are some great aspects to this movie,the fact they did such a bad job with the plot makes an epic failure. Alfonso talks on the DVD extras about "exploring emotional territories." And that's exactly what went wrong with this movie. Alfonso was more interested in "emotional territories" than in plot and this movie suffers for it. This movie is 19 minutes shorter than the 5 star classic Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets,so you can't say they didn't have time to explain these things. I will admit,the Knight Bus scene was fun and Buckbeak is breathtaking. And Hermione's punch was awesome. And the time turner scene was quite well done. But,when the plot fails,the movie fails. Epic Fail. i do not recommend this movie. However,in terms of who it's okay for,it's not much worse than Chamber of Secrets. The werewolf and the big dog are probably equal to the giant talking spider and the basilisk. The only thing that would make Azkaban somewhat worse than Chamber would be the dementors. Because of the creepiness of the dementors,though,this is off for preschoolers and kindergarteners. It's pause for kids in grades 1-2. It's on for kids in 3rd grade and older.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byploopy45 May 31, 2013

good movie

This one is definately the scariest one so far, darker than one and two. I love listening to their British accents. Iffy for 10, OK for 11.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 14, 2013

my title

Some bad words . Violence like punching kicking exc. . They drink butterbeer at a point .
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 27, 2013

GREAT MOVIE

GREAT MOVIE If you are not a fan of dementors than DONT SEE THIS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old December 30, 2012

Good

I saw it I'm eight. It's not really that bad except at the end there's scary images! And in the begging there's a bus with scary things in it!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old November 30, 2012

Good but somewhat scary

This is a great movie! But also scary. Like the first 2, the beginning is so funny. But it gets scary surprisingly faster than the first 2 because kids are older and themes are darker. It doesn't get super scary that quick But I'd say about 20 minutes in or so the train crashes and everything goes black. Then a big, black hand opens the door and a frightening creature called a dementor makes Harry pass out and just before that you here his mom scream. Then for a while it's just like the first 2 films but the end is where they lay it off on you. First Ron's leg is broken by a big dog and the whomping willow throws Harry ,Ron, and herminoe into the shrieking shack(the most haunted house near hogwarts) and a killer who broke out of askaban prison is in the shrieking shack with them. And there is a long talk about how sirius black didn't betray Harry's parents and somebody that every body believed to be dead did. In fact, it was actually rons rat who transforms into the trader named Peter petingru. After that Ron's wound on his leg is shown and professor lupin turns into a wherewolf (all transformation visible and the images are not very friendly). Then Harry and black are attacked by hundreds of dementors and take black back to askaban to suck out his soul.so Harry and hermonie half to go back in time to fix things. It's got the same stuff happening. Thankfully it has a happy ending. For those of you that read this review the movie might seem horrifying, but only for little kids. Older kids will love it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 5, 2012

Good Movie, but One of the Most Violent

This is one of the darkest of all of the movies. The dementors are, well, just plain disturbing, especially when they attack people. Harry falls off his broom through the air, Ron's leg is seriously injured by 'The Grim', the killing of a creature in a horrible way is talked about, and Hermione punches Draco (I actually found that funny). Sirius Black will scare littler children, and so will Lupin, especially in werewolf mode. It also delves deeper into how Harry's parents died. Over all it's still a great movie!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old October 28, 2012

love it!

love it! perhaps the best!Scary for younger kids and sort of sad near the end
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages