All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Fantastic, but kids are older, themes are darker.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 166 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 8 years old January 10, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

love it

I love the movie so much. At hogwarts there are 2 new teachers. there is a lot of violence. And a traitor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuper movie reviewer January 2, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good harry potter movie : . )

This harry potter movie was definetly a good one! There were just a couple scenes that i felt were only slightly boring but besides that it was great!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 25, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old October 19, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
most of this is average harry potter violence. The only part that might be found disturbing is when those dementors suck the happiness out of harry about 2 or 3 times. The language is pretty mild too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 9, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good for 10 and up, but not for under 6

I LOVEd it! but if you get scared easly then I wouldn't see it in theaters. I also think it should be PG-13 because of the violent. I liked the book WAY more than the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexie July 19, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

;D!

One word. GREAT. However, I feel some kids may be scared of the dementors. But only to some younger children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 16, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I love to woach hary potter
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 27, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

a must watch movie

HP and the prisoner of azkaban was great. There was always action and though some parts are scary, it has a good story.I really liked it!
Adult Written bytoona54720 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byjohnnydogmatic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Stunning direction

The third HP book was the strongest plot to date and in many ways is the very finest story. Much more atmospheric and emotional direction in this film matches the book's mood perfectly. The effects are wonderful but the acting and feeling even better. The dementors do not disappoint!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The best harry potter film yet.

More action,fright,humour,adventure and mystery than the first and second.
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good but Intense for a PG

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was a fairly good fantasy movie. I liked the first two better, but 3 is still entertaining and fun. It is the scariest of the first three movies, with some intense action and even a few scary 'jump in your seat' moments. But, even if HP 1 and 2 were better, HP 3 is still way better than most fantasies out there. Good for kids 10+
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviegeek April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Best of the series - both the book and movie

I love the whole going-back-in-time thing and it's so cool how the scenes look with a couple sets of the same people running around. The best movie out of the lot!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Totally completly awsome!

This is the best one. You really wouldn't understand how GREATLY made this film is. It is my favorite one. It is the best thing in the world. Did I say howGBREATLY made this movie is. If I didn't I'll say it again. This film is GREATLY awsome! Mabye now you understand how great I think this movie is. =)
Kid, 12 years old September 14, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Favourite movie ever <3

THis is my favourite movie EVER! Out of all the Harry Potter episodes, this is my favourite but that doesnt mean i don't like the other episodes!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 6 years old July 18, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

An Umer Made

eh
Teen, 15 years old Written byHaileyMarie July 14, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Third 'Harry Potter' Film is One of the Best!

The third 'Harry Potter' is scarier than the first two, so don't let young children watch it. But it's one of the best films in the series! A few positive messages and role models. The violence and scariness is a little more intense than it was in previous movies. The Dementors are depressing and a little scary. Buckbeak, the Hippogriff is executed. The executor raises the ax and swings down, but the camera cuts away before anything is shown. No sex. No drinking, drugs, or smoking other than butterbeer.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byploopy45 May 31, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good movie

This one is definately the scariest one so far, darker than one and two. I love listening to their British accents. Iffy for 10, OK for 11.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 27, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GREAT MOVIE

GREAT MOVIE If you are not a fan of dementors than DONT SEE THIS
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages