All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Fantastic, but kids are older, themes are darker.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 166 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old October 19, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
most of this is average harry potter violence. The only part that might be found disturbing is when those dementors suck the happiness out of harry about 2 or 3 times. The language is pretty mild too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent of a 8 year old Written byuusarahmcg September 29, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Way too scary (spoiler)

The dementors are scary, the scene with the divinity teacher predicting Harry's future terrified my daughter, the animangus was scary expecially when he dragged Ron into the whomping willow! Also scary: warewolf transformation. All in all, this movie was WAY too much for my daughter. However, she loves HP and begs to see this movie again.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 26, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good

i luv harry potter movies there awsome! but this could have been rated PG.
Teen, 13 years old Written byali12 August 30, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Too scary for young kids. 3 13 year olds go in a pub and drink butterbeer. Love scenes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 20, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Love each Hate each
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bykummy14 August 14, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

PERFECT FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY TO WATCH

this was a really good movie. everything about it was really nice. there was a lot more violence then the first two. this is a god movie for kids, teens and even adults
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 12, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Harry potter

It has one or two violent parts but it good
Kid, 10 years old August 12, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Pretty Creepy, but good.

Probably my third favorite Potter movie. The movie is pretty creepy. The Dementors, Lupin transforming and Azkaban. Check it out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 11 year old Written byCSM Screen Name... August 10, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for tweens

Glad that this Harry Potter was age appropriate!! No nightmares or overly nasty imagery.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 9, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good for 10 and up, but not for under 6

I LOVEd it! but if you get scared easly then I wouldn't see it in theaters. I also think it should be PG-13 because of the violent. I liked the book WAY more than the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 30, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I thought that this movie was really accurate to the book. I thought that the shrunken heads were sooo funny!! The graphics were amazing, especially when Lupin turned into a Werewolf. I liked the idea that Harry has another living relative other than the Dursleys. Harry's reaction when he saw that they had traveled back in time was really funny!! My brother saw this movie when he was 8, and wasn't frightened at all!! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!! I would recomend it to kids 9 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byourblackego July 21, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Scarier than others... Ded should be PG-13... none the less excellent

Incredible that kid movies could be so amazing... One after another brialliant!!! Ok for 12+ ANd for any religion including christian that what i am... It is not harmful to you!! Christian parnts let you kids watch this brilliatn spectactle!
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexie July 19, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

;D!

One word. GREAT. However, I feel some kids may be scared of the dementors. But only to some younger children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 28, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

shows honesty

you will want to see it!
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byshanno15 May 24, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

My review

This movie was not how you say the best movie of the harry potter series, there is a quite a lot of violence in this movie like the ghostly nightmarish figures called dementors. A hippogriph is executed and is heard not shown, there is some bloody scrapes on the arms, and face, and Ron's leg is heard being broken, the two werewolves fight, and Sirius Black, (the black wolf) is almost killed by the dementors cause they suck out your soul.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 16, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I love to woach hary potter
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 and 11 year old Written bydougereed May 2, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Best Harry Potter movie so far

This is my favorite of the Harry Potter series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byJosh13 May 2, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Too pricy video

This video is exciting, but also long. It is a bad influence for kids, makingn them all wanting to be wizards. Also, the cost of this movie is incredibly high. Most movies cost under 20 and at most 30, but this video is considered cheap over 30! Instead of just buying these videos, you can watch them for free! Heres the link -http://www.rewards1.com/index.php?referrer_id=798679
Parent of a 1, 8, 10, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil February 21, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Outstanding

Captures the Material
Kid, 11 years old January 27, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

a must watch movie

HP and the prisoner of azkaban was great. There was always action and though some parts are scary, it has a good story.I really liked it!

Pages