Kid reviews for Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Common Sense says

First Potter movie is a magical ride but also intense.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 8+
Based on 109 reviews

Kids say

age 7+
Based on 331 reviews
Kid, 10 years old August 13, 2012

Read Than Watch.

Great but read the book first. There are a few scenes children under 9 may find scary. So 7 and up with supervision.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 11 years old July 23, 2012

awsome

its awsom

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2012

gory

The language is used by kids and is not appropriate. Lots of violence, it is not gory.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 9 years old June 15, 2012

HARRY POTTER 1

Not so exciting first Harry Potter.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Kid, 12 years old June 11, 2012

Harry Potter Lover

This movie is great. I am a Harry Potter freak and i just love all of them! This movie shows that friends are very important and that you have to stick together but also worry about others saftey. Hermionie is very studious and it shows that it is very good to stay smart. (Spolier Alert) it could be scary when you see the flashbacks of the killing of Harry Potter but it is not that bad at all. Also when Voldemort comes back and the people try to kill Harry it is kinda scary but not that bad overall great movie!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 9 years old June 10, 2012

The end is very scary!

What parents need to know is this movie is no pg movie. It should of been pg13 for real. this movie was ok for all people exept the end of it. The end of it is so scary I don't even think SOME 9 year olds can take it! Parents don't be fooled by the beginning of the movie because the beginning of it is funny and silly. But the end gives nightmares oh my god! All I'm saying is be extremely careful with this movie you dont want to show it to the wrong person!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 12 years old June 9, 2012

Harry Potter Review - It was alright, but a bit cheesy...

Well, to say the truth, I did not ADORE this movie. It was okay, but rather childish, with the characters being cute but not very interesting. If your child is into the series, then, by all means, let them watch it. But be aware that they will want to watch the next ones after this. The Deathly Hallows may not be suitable for a 7 year old. It's really about your child. Some kids believe movies while some understand the difference between fiction and reality. At the end of The Sorcerer's Stone, Harry gets a few realistic cuts and bruises, but no big deal, although the image of Voldemort on the back of Quirrel's head may be slightly disturbing for younger viewers. There is no inappropriate kissing or anything like that, at least not in the first couple of movies. Overall, an okay but slightly corny movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written bydavstern May 16, 2012

Harry's first magical adventure will be among kids' favorites

I rate Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone on for ages 7+ Parents need to know that while Harry's first magical adventure is kid friendly, it does have some peril, and if your kids are sensitive to scary images, Then they might be scared of seeing Voldemort's face, or, rather, his head. VIOLENCE: 3/5- Tweens in peril, The appearance of Voldemort may scare some. PROFANITY: 0/5- Very minor language.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written bythebigc32299 April 10, 2012

The least violent/mature of all the HP movies

Love the HP movies. This one is by far the least violent/mature of all of them. I recommend it for ages 7+. But read the book first or it can be a little confusing.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCSKY42 April 2, 2012

There good but the plot hasn't changed

The movies are good but every movie is the same plot like he lives with his uncle then a creppy yoda guy comes in and tells him to stay at home for like another year then harrys like but i want to go then he complains about living in a closet then his family goes to a lighthouse for no good reason the some creepy fat guy comes in and puts him on some flying motorcycle then harry meets some goth girl and emo red hair kid and they dicover crappy stuff then harry fights some bald dude with no nose and harrys yelling expecto potrodium or something then they all die. But a thing about these movies are that harry and his emo friends are living it up in the bar drinking to much and smoking and thats a question i ask why jk rowling would you have harry have emo friends and have them encourage drinking

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byharry_potter_rocks March 25, 2012

Harry Potter Review

This is a great movie for all ages! It has great role models, Harry, Hermione, and Ron. Dumbledore shares good knowledge with the kids. This movie teaches you that friendship and teamwork are very important. Overall This movie is great for all kids for every good reason.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Consumerism
Kid, 11 years old March 24, 2012

A really good series! although this wizardry friendly movie is still intense

My rating: Rated PG for sequences of fantasy action, some scary images and mild language (Positive Messages-3/5 about friendship between Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Positive Role Models-2/5 Harry, Ron, and Hermione have very good friendship. Hermione is very smart and Harry is very brave. Violence-2/5 This movie is pretty intense. in the movie you will see a bloodless death of harry's parents. Voldemort dies in dust. A unicorn is found dead by He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named sucking the unicorns blood (silver blood). Characters are in peril and the students who play quidditch plays pretty rough. Harry and Ron have to knock out a troll to save hermione in the girls bathroom (they did) by letting the troll stick tons wand up the trolls nostrils (sick) and letting the troll be unconscious by the wingardium leveosa spell to let the troll get bonked on his flying club. Sex-0/5 not an issue Language-1.5/5 some like h*ll, d*mn, and bloody consumerism- 2/5 candy is mentioned but there is still some candy that were made right now based on harry potter. Besides this is a big series though! Drugs-Alchohol-Smoking-0/5 not an issue

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written bylunalover March 20, 2012

Bloody Brilliant

when i first watched this movie, i was amazed. i thought magic, quiddich(i know not spelt right) and... well hagrid. that just wouldnt be good, but man i re-watch it today and know almost every line. i think any and all kids and parents should love this movie along with the rest.
Kid, 9 years old March 19, 2012

Amazing, it just couldn't have been done any better! :)

This was so good! People may think it was a little slow, but there is no way it could have been better! This movie was so colorful, and happy, and light, and enjoyable! Everybody in it acted so well, and was so good! Emma was only about ten, and she just did so well and did better then almost any other actors in it (except for Alan Rickman). Alan Rickman was the best, of course, and everybody loves Snape! Harry Potter is amazing, and you have to watch it! It isn't scary or anything, it's just perfect! Star :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byjambergirl March 17, 2012

Fine for most kids

It really depends on your kids, but I saw quite a bit of this when I was six or seven, and I was fine.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old February 25, 2012

Harry Potter and the Philospers Stone Review. Read :)

Well the books are extremley incredible and one in a kind, so well done J.K.Rowling! It may include violence in the books and film, so I would advice children 10 & Up to watch/read it. If your a parent who can trust your child then maybe about 8 & Up? Otherwise, it is very hillarious and fun to watch with the characters full of emotion and inquisitivness. I thoroughly enjoyed reading and watching this film and I hope you do to.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 11 years old February 23, 2012

Great movie for the family!

This is a great movie for kids and adults alike. It is, overall, not too scary, but it should be noted that kids are in danger often, especially Harry. Most scary scenes involve magical creatures, although Voldemort (the deranged villain who killed Harry's parents) appears in one or two scenes. There is very little blood. The Harry Potter series as a whole is a great way to start your child's journey from PG to PG-13 movies. Overall, this movie is fun, thrilling for kids, and definitely put a spell on me!
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 16, 2012

A good start

A good start to the epic series. Great for little kids

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old February 4, 2012

n/a

this is the least exciting and scary one but it's good
Kid, 10 years old January 31, 2012

fun for younger kids same for older kids but not exactly the same

I would recommend reading the book first other then that there's not as much darkness and evil as you would think but still awesome:)

Pages