All member reviews for Hellboy II: The Golden Army

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Imaginative, campy comic book fun; lots of scares.
 

Users say

(out of 30 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2013
age 11+
 

Just as good as the first, maybe even a little better.

Hellboy 2 The Golden Army is an imaginative, scary film with nonstop action and awesome special effects. Violence, disturbing images, and terror: 4/5 There are scary and huge monsters as well as many battle sequences, fights, and destruction. Sex/nudity: 1/5 Liz is pregnant Language: 2/5 Some mild language. Quality: 4/5 The storyline and script are terrific and there are great sequences of action. The acting is convincing and the characters are good. My mpaa rating: PG-13 for Intense sci-fi action and violence and some frightening/ disturbing images.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 8, 2009
age 9+
 
Better than the first.
Kid, 10 years old January 12, 2014
age 12+
 

Good enough movie

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byVoracious Reader March 8, 2009
age 12+
 

This Movie is A LOT Better than the First

The first one was scary and really macabre, but this one is more about fantasy and sci-fi than the 'raise the dead, nazi' stuff. There are a lot of scary parts, especially at the beginning, but when you get down to it, it's a violent love story. =) Very cute.
Parent of a 5, 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byJamesRobertson January 4, 2009
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

awesome movie

awesome movie!! a must see for kids 11+
Teen, 15 years old Written bymattguy15 August 30, 2012
age 10+
 

awesome

i saw this when i was ten and its my favorite movie its awesome just violence is gunshots monsters and demons.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 1, 2012
age 14+
 

better and funnier than the first

i've always thought hellboy 2 was better than the first, it's got more action and more laughter
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar March 11, 2012
age 11+
 

Awesome

Not quite as good as the first, but is still a treat
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. February 25, 2012
age 13+
 

Creative and fun action movie.

Charecters are shot, crushed, impaled, stabed, decapitated, and in one scene little fairys eat two people with lots of screaming to let viewers now about the pain. Also some imaginative creatures like the forest god, or the angel of death might frighten some young veiwers, the golden army themselves however kids will enjoy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old August 11, 2011
age 12+
 

It was all right

The first is better...
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. February 27, 2011
age 10+
 

Check my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
Kid, 9 years old January 25, 2011
age 12+
 

outstanding

hellboy is a butt kicker
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byeagles4ever December 14, 2010
age 13+
 
A lot of violence, but is a good sci-fi movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old October 30, 2010
age 11+
 

Great Movie

I love this movie I watch it over and over I'm even playing it at my halloween party
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bygaming4people October 17, 2010
age 11+
 

awesome!

It was a very entertaining movie that i was surprised to like. If you are new to hell boy this is more action,comedy, and romance than horror.
Parent Written byPlague February 26, 2010
age 11+
 

Hellboy ll: The Golden Army

better than the first. Very entertaining and fun for comic book adaption movie fans.
Kid, 10 years old December 26, 2009
age 13+
 

fun.

very fun worth it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byiheartchocolate198 April 29, 2009
age 12+
 
THAT WAS THE BEST MOVIE EVEEER!
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 28, 2009
age 13+
 

Cliche Action Flick Doesn't Offer Much

It has cool make-up, art direction and visual effects but is that enough to see the movie? I don't think so

Pages