All member reviews for Hellboy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Somewhat entertaining, but too scary for many.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 42 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar March 11, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I would recommend it

Thought this movie looked terrible, but it was actually really good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written bythetruth10 February 17, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

okay

if your kids really want to see it let them
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieWizard July 8, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not sure...

I'm not exactly positive what i think about this movie. It's okay I guess...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
This was a good film which worked well as a good drama a touching love story and a stylish comic book adaption. Hellboy is a great character and a decent role model. Very visually striking especially a great ending sequence.
What other families should know
Great role models
Written byAnonymous March 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie..........

it may be scary for kids under 10 but 12 and up will love it. but Red (hell boy) loves smoking. he always has cigar in his mouth. kissing that was it. one 1 or 2 kissing seans nothing more. not bad cursing nothing more then D,A,and hell no f word. overall it was a great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 11, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

boring

i found this movie a bit boring.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Plenty of graphic violence, death, and a dark macrabe tone, so not movie for the kiddies. But Hellboy is perfect for comic book fans and those who enjoy a well directed movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byELLi3212 September 11, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I love this movie! Not good with little kids, but only because they prolly'd be scared and or they wouldn't get it... -__-. there's some cursing, but nothing extreme. The best movie i've seen in all my life, terrible i know. Some blood, gore and violence, some death, but you can emphasize with 'im.... That's what i like about it! ...He has cats XD i love that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bysneps123 August 17, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

Great Movie But a little too scary for younger audiences
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymattthemovieman August 17, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

awesome movie!!!!!

violence:creatre violence and non human blood some intense.sex:two characters date. language:h-ll d-mn and sh-t. alchohal and drugs:helllboy smokes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old March 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

hellboy review by critic07

Now im a big fan of comic book movies, HELLBOY kicked ass! I think you can probaly see it if you want to. It was no worse than my favorite movie spider-man. It was intense and had scary images, but they were'nt that scary. So tell your mom that critic07 said you can see HELLBOY!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 8, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bychainsawman2005 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Very cool action horror flick for 13+

I didn't see anything wrong, besides the fact that alot of demon resurrection and satan stuff (not like you've seen in the end of days or exorcist, but it is pretty scary). Good moral stuff besides hellboy smoking a cigar all the time which is not a good lesson for kids. Besides that, great movie!
Teen, 15 years old Written byThehorrorflic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

OK interesting but still a little zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Hellboy is great. The beginning matches with the end and the main characters' favorite word is extremely............non apropriate for little kids because of language.
Adult Written byfritzsky April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byjackg April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fun!

A fun and entertaining superhero/action movie, pretty forgettable but great while it lasts.
Teen, 14 years old Written bypatthetrick April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages