Common Sense Media says

Somewhat entertaining, but too scary for many.

Users say

(out of 42 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2011
This was a good film which worked well as a good drama a touching love story and a stylish comic book adaption. Hellboy is a great character and a decent role model. Very visually striking especially a great ending sequence.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 10, 2011

boring

this is some what boring for 10-
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPlague February 26, 2010

Hellboy

Not a big fan of this movie, but it was entertaining in most parts.
Kid, 12 years old December 11, 2009

boring

i found this movie a bit boring.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
Plenty of graphic violence, death, and a dark macrabe tone, so not movie for the kiddies. But Hellboy is perfect for comic book fans and those who enjoy a well directed movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byELLi3212 September 11, 2009
I love this movie! Not good with little kids, but only because they prolly'd be scared and or they wouldn't get it... -__-. there's some cursing, but nothing extreme. The best movie i've seen in all my life, terrible i know. Some blood, gore and violence, some death, but you can emphasize with 'im.... That's what i like about it! ...He has cats XD i love that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bysneps123 August 17, 2009

Great Movie

Great Movie But a little too scary for younger audiences
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymattthemovieman August 17, 2009

awesome movie!!!!!

violence:creatre violence and non human blood some intense.sex:two characters date. language:h-ll d-mn and sh-t. alchohal and drugs:helllboy smokes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byNapkap August 8, 2009

A Good Comic Book Movie

While it's not identical to the comic, it does do a good job of adapting it and delivers very good action and horror.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 22, 2009

hellboy review by critic07

Now im a big fan of comic book movies, HELLBOY kicked ass! I think you can probaly see it if you want to. It was no worse than my favorite movie spider-man. It was intense and had scary images, but they were'nt that scary. So tell your mom that critic07 said you can see HELLBOY!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 8, 2009
Adult Written bychainsawman2005 April 9, 2008

Very cool action horror flick for 13+

I didn't see anything wrong, besides the fact that alot of demon resurrection and satan stuff (not like you've seen in the end of days or exorcist, but it is pretty scary). Good moral stuff besides hellboy smoking a cigar all the time which is not a good lesson for kids. Besides that, great movie!
Teen, 15 years old Written byThehorrorflic April 9, 2008

OK interesting but still a little zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Hellboy is great. The beginning matches with the end and the main characters' favorite word is extremely............non apropriate for little kids because of language.
Adult Written byfritzsky April 9, 2008
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
Adult Written byjackg April 9, 2008
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008

Fun!

A fun and entertaining superhero/action movie, pretty forgettable but great while it lasts.
Teen, 14 years old Written bypatthetrick April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

Good Movie

Do not be fooled by the name HELLboy. The movie was no worse than Spiderman when it came to violence. Sexual activity was barely even an issue. Mild kissing was all that was included. If your children are 8+ I would say they could see it. Hellboy is fine for kids.

Pages