Common Sense Media says

Great movie respects its audience's intelligence.

Users say

(out of 78 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Adult Written bytjdavison April 9, 2008

Very Faithful Adaption of a Great Book for Kids (and Adults)

It is surprising to me how passionate many 10 - 13 year old boys are for the book. There has been a great deal of anticipation since they became aware that the movie was being made. Now that it has arrived, they won't be disappointed. Louis Sacher wrote quite a cinematic book and also the screenplay and it is obvious he knows his characters and his audience. I was very impressed with how "clean" the movie is. I can imagine the justification to add stronger language because "that's the way boys talk to each other." Instead the "bad words" are very few and very mild. The cast is excellent. Very good work from all the principals. Great lessons about tolerence, poverty, friendship, and responsibility told in subtle, appealing ways.
Teen, 14 years old Written byHemingway October 26, 2009

Best Movie

This is good movie if you want to learn how to stay out of trouble.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBloodeka January 21, 2011

Gr8 4 All Ages!!

i liked this movie.... it thought it had a nice (but not very exiting) story to it, and all ages should be aloud to watch it unless your a complete sook.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byJoey123 June 22, 2009

Preview for youger viewers...

I loved this movie. Unfortunatly, there is quite a bit of language for a kids movie. a--, h-ll, d--n, crap, etc... The Lord's name is also taken in vain multiple times. The violence of the movie is slightly disturbing, even though there is never any gore.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byspongebobrocks22 April 9, 2008

bad for young kids

this is a movie that has lots of bad words and violence
Kid, 10 years old July 10, 2014

AWESOME SCENES IN HOLES!

very good just the flashbacks of deaths can course swearing but very briefly said and it's very mild. theres some drinking. and theres one scene with a lady walking around in her bra.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old February 29, 2016

A friendship story

I think that Holes had a good message. The back story had some death. I thought the actors were good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo January 8, 2012

Some themes may not be okay for younger kids.

My stepdaughter has nightmares about this movie. It is definitely geared toward a little older audience. The thing that got her was the snake bite, how the lady let the snake bite her so she would die. This really affected her. It's not off for age 8, it's just pause. You really need to know your child. Some kids are really affected by death, and this movie has a more realistic feel. It's not just silly violence, it's really more of an intelligent movie, so it feels real. There's a lot of bodies in coffins and stuff, so it could be scary. Just beware.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 5, 2015

Good movie. But PG-13 is beter

It was a pretty good movie. but there were some bad parts. (spoilers coming) at one point the Warden calls the boys A--'s and Mr sir smokes at the end, Zero barfs, and the Warden scratches Mr sir in the face. The reason I think it should be rated PG-13 is because of all that. Overall the movie is pretty good, but not the best I've ever seen. If your thinking of seeing this movie, see Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black pearl instead. Its better!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written byWorkmanbsa May 27, 2014

Make the Older Kiddos Think

This is a challenging film. It has a rather extensive plot that it explains very well, a pretty dark look into racial tensions, and a reminder that not everyone in law enforcement is on your side. That said for an older child (8+) this movie is still easy enough to follow. As long as you go in ready to explain why they are being so mean to the black man, or what is a family curse, you will be just fine. The only complaint I have is that for a kids movie there is a bit of curses muttered. Nothing too obscene but that's probably what got it the PG rating.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 8, 2013

very good

i like it because it is fun.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byroad December 18, 2010

evil warden

i love this movie. the warden is EVIL. when stanley's lawyer was angry at her for imprisoning stanley, i thought "go morengo"
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byspidervscorp October 28, 2009
This is an exellent movie that has great messages about friendships, poverty, responsibility, and great lessons on adult/child comunication issues. Unfortunatly it does deal with issues such as suicide, racism, shooting, language, and children being treated like garbage. This is really a movie that you need to know your kid. Some 8 year olds might be able to deal with the content in the movie others wont.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 17 and 17 year old Written bypoppinsfan August 14, 2015
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySFDad April 9, 2008

Graet Movie for kids and parents.

This movie is based on a great book, and my kids loved it...as well as the book. It really typifies the kind of family movies that should be made far more often. check it out with your kids.
Adult Written byclarence August 5, 2015
Kid, 11 years old February 28, 2015

Great Story Line!

Amazing story line and plot! Love it! Some scary parts (blood, guns) This movie is where a boy is accused for stealing shoes and goes to a camp where they have to dig holes. This is a really tense movie, but good for tweens. Kids under 12 might not understand the story line and might think its boring. Some intense violence small kids (under 10) can't handle. Some language and drinking and smoking. Lots of violence and some good role models and messages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2011

great film!

This movie is one of my favorites. Lots of good role models (but a few bad ones), positive messages, and plain old enterteinment. It has some iffy content. Language includes "cow t--ds", "jacka--es", and more that is stated above. It is a bit violent, with deaths and fights. A beloved character is killed and threatened to be lynched. Another, after her love interest dies, becomes an outlaw who will murder someone and then kiss them. She is also shown committing suicide, but not a graphic one. Drunkness and peril also are portrayed throughout the film. But in the end, the messages are positive and everyone's happy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 17, 2010
I hated this movie!! In my opinion it was really boring and some of the things there could scare your children and will also set a bad influence. A few not the everyday nice kind of words. So I beg you, do not watch this movie!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 9, 2010
Very creative movie.

Pages