All member reviews for Holes

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 47 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old December 3, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Really good movie

One use of jackass but it's fine.The kids push each other and a lizard gets shot by a gun.But like I said it's fine.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 10, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

AWESOME SCENES IN HOLES!

very good just the flashbacks of deaths can course swearing but very briefly said and it's very mild. theres some drinking. and theres one scene with a lady walking around in her bra.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bynarrator reviews April 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
The characters says a couple of bad words and the movie has an interesting storyline and characters. One part of the movie has one person smoking and there are fights.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old November 8, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

very good

i like it because it is fun.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 10, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

love this movie its awesome

This is the best movie I have ever seen I read the book and it was awesome but I would not recommend it for 8 year olds the lizards will terrifie them besides they would be running into their parents room screaming. But the movie will entertain older children so that's what I think of holes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 19, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A bit scary at parts, overall OK

I'm a fan of the holes book, and I enjoyed this. You need to know that there are guns and yes, people (and a lizard) are shot (most humans are shot by a female outlaw, who kisses every men she killed).Language Is mild, including "cr*p","Jacka*ses", and "d* nm". That's it, hope this was helpful.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 1, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very good, talk about it with the children

I've seen the movie, one of my favorites :) There is very brief smoking, like five seconds and he mentions "I quit smoking, but I didn't say it didn't work" which isn't a big deal. I recommend to read the book first to get a good feel of it. Some racial problems though. There's a tad bit of kissing, and a few "Jack ass" sayings, but overall, I would say its for 10 and up. There are some violent scenes, but no red or anything unbearable. I would talk about the matters in this movie with you child after the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 27, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

This is a good 3 star movie

This movie has swearing rarely with jacka_sses and h_ll.violence inludes scrapes, lizards biting,guns, and rattlesnakes.The only blood is a scrape on mr. sirs face.Mr.sir tried to quit smoking and at the end of the movie is smoking like crazy.language is very rare for a prison camp. warden gets upset cause she wants gold.nodity not shown but people are naked when taking showers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 2, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's okay....

I watched this movie at my school. I'm surprised they didn't give us a permission slip for this, as a character kills herself by letting a poisonous lizard bite her. Also there is a lot of bad language. However, there are some good things about it. Stanley (a character) saves another character's life and teaches him how to read.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Little iffy

OK. kind of got bored.
Teen, 13 years old Written bytonii xx February 2, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

holes :)

it was a brilliantly written book .I read this book with my class it was a really enjoyable read
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 26, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

iffy for ages 11-12. but would be rated PG-13 for the amount of violence

this movie is really good. my teacher from 4th grade showed me this movie. but some language and violence. there is alot of violence for a Disney movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great film!

This movie is one of my favorites. Lots of good role models (but a few bad ones), positive messages, and plain old enterteinment. It has some iffy content. Language includes "cow t--ds", "jacka--es", and more that is stated above. It is a bit violent, with deaths and fights. A beloved character is killed and threatened to be lynched. Another, after her love interest dies, becomes an outlaw who will murder someone and then kiss them. She is also shown committing suicide, but not a graphic one. Drunkness and peril also are portrayed throughout the film. But in the end, the messages are positive and everyone's happy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 25, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

8 and up wont hurt

its not that bad. bad words i barly heard there are one f word and thats about it there was a fist fight in a sence but it was like 30 seconds and there is da*ns
Kid, 12 years old September 4, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!!!!!

this is an awesome movie ive seen it like 10 times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kid, 12 years old July 15, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good family movie!

Really good but the reptiles in the movie might scare the little ones!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 21, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

awesome

very awesome
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 2, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Holes is good.

Holes may have holes, but it almost never stumbles. The acting is good, it stays faithful to the book, and flashbacks are dealt with well.
Teen, 15 years old Written byShinjo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This fun exciting adventure is a great movie for kids!

This movie is a tense extravaganza that really pulls you into the plot. Most movies aren't as good as the book, but this one comes pretty close...
Teen, 14 years old Written bykaratedude April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Okay...

Pretty good movie... some violence and strong language but good movie... I can't say too much because I haven't seen this movie in a long time.

Pages