All member reviews for Home Alone

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 82 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 7 years old April 26, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A good movie with some innapropriate language

This is my favorite movie it's so funny Violence: The booby traps are violent. Language: Ass hell and one use of s--t
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byleftbehindcrazed8 January 5, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

sooo cute!

Although lots of slapstick falls and trips, this is a family-friendly movie with lots of comedy!! Kevin is very resourceful and smart, but that's the only reason I marked role models. There might be some iffy content for anyone under 8.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byNory Ryan October 17, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

overall pretty good

This is an okay movie good for older kids but definately not younger than seven.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old December 26, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
this is the coolest movie ever!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebma97 September 17, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Funny for kids

Home Alone is kind of funny, but I don't love it as much as I used to. There is sole slapstick violence, but it's a bit realistic (although there is no blood). Kevin uses several household objects (doors, toys) in order to hit the criminals that break into his house. Some people use curse words like, "h*ll" and "d*mn". One thing that I think I should warn you is that Kevin gets away with doing mischevious/dangerous things.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
The only funny parts were the traps that the kids set up at the end.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A GREAT FILM FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY!!!!!!

This is one of my favorite holiday family films!!!!!!!! It's funny,amusing,and awsome!!!!! But the reason i say it's IFFY for age 8 is because there is strong language and over the top vilonce including a scene that show a man shout another man in FULL display.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 25, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Makes Me Laugh

Harry mumbles some words under his breath that you might be able to hear, but I love this movie for a great family holiday.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

"inappropriate" but well-done

A good classic slapstick comedy movie that makes kids take a hit, since there is some sexual innuendo such as old Playboy magazines, and there is some salty language. A good tween movie if they can take violent, sexual, and potty-mouthed hits.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 1, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

perfect for family

I love this movie!! it is the best movie to get you into the christmas spirit!!
Kid, 8 years old July 3, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

okay movie for okay kids

language. mild language.violence very strong
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bydavstern1500 October 10, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

One of the greatest family comedies

Family comedy, great one. In reality, the traps would've caused lots more damage. But hey, it's a kid's movie. For more information, contact me on YouTube - davstern1500
Kid, 11 years old May 9, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

WICKED MOVIE

home alone is sooooo funny and i love the traps that Kevin makes and the only thing that's a bit worrying is the language but overall it's a defenite rcommendation to all
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byBieberFreakinFever December 21, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great holiday movie

Home Alone is a Christmas classic! I love it, but i woulden't recomend it to kids under 8 de to constant violence of some sort and some bad language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bybibliophile April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Well...

This was an okay movie, and I gave it a pause because there were about four or five swear words (I'm a real stickler for profanity). Other than that, just about nothing is wrong. Lots, and I mean LOTS of namecalling, including moron, idiot, jerk, and so on. Violence is minimal: some blowtorch action, a man gets serious burns on his head and hands. Some glass in the foot. All is made to be humorous, though. That, and a PlayBoy magazine is shown, but nothing inappropriate.
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old September 16, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
really funny comedy classic
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old March 21, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood

Great movie language is iffy.no use of the s word or this would be a PG-13 MOVIE.ITS FUNNY WHERE SHE IS LIKE KEVIN.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old May 5, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

I love this movie!

I love this movie! I've been watching the Home Alone movies since I was little, and still do!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 2, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

MY MOVIE TITLE

EVEN THOUGH I LOVED THAT MOVIE DOESNT MEAN IT IS APPROPRIATE FOR 5 YEAR OLDS IT HAS SOME BAD SCENES BUT I BET IT WASNT THE BADDEST MOVIE EVER
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value

Pages