All member reviews for Home Alone

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Slapstick family holiday comedy brings the pain.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 115 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old May 16, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Violence: Kevin stops two burglurs from taking over his house using violent and scary things. The burglurs may seem scary to younger kids. Sexual Content: Kevin finds an old Playboy magazine. Language: "D--n" "a-s" "hell"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Kid, 7 years old February 21, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Iffy for ages 7 to 9

Good. But lots of violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysumiyah January 14, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

good for all ages

i liked the movie it was very funny i watched it with my family alot i did not like the messages though
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written byI LOVE BOATS January 7, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

LOVE IS AWEOME

I LOVE GIRLS, THEY LOVE TO WATCH THE SAME MOVIES I DO
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist December 19, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great family movie

Might be too scary for young kids. But it's a great slapstick comedy
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 5, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Taught me Alot

How else is he Supposed to fend off the bad guys.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBellaCullen1120 November 13, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie!!!!!!!!

i luv this movie it's awesome i watch it every day during christmas time it's amazingly funny
Kid, 12 years old November 7, 2008
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Pretty good

It was pretty good nothin bad in it
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good Old Movie!

yup yep yep
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bybigaztec April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Holiday Classic

Kids love the sense of empowerment it gives them to take a situation in their own hands. While the situation would normally be very scary, I think the physical comedy really works here.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byTsion April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent Written byHans_L February 28, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Funny flick for older children

I remember watching this as a teenager and I found it very funny... I don't remember laughing that hard at a movie ever. I recently tried to flashback to this experience and watch this with my kids and my six year old son was wrecked. Reality check for me. My son was bummed that the kid was forgotten by his parents, kid shoplifts, freaky old guys trying to break-in... we stopped it about 20-ish minutes in. It's funny if you're older and understand it's comedy but I didn't want to try to convince my kids this was funny. I was too bummed seeing this movie through my six year old's eyes. They'll 'get it' when they're older. For now, we'll leave this on the shelf.
Kid, 11 years old February 27, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good Holiday Movie, but Mild Violence.

Mild violence. Good holiday family movie. Some bloody stuff and bandits get beat up while trying to rob a house, with a kid alone in it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew February 24, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Really funny beginning of the series

My rating:PG for rude humor and language
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Language Not So Good

I think the language is horrible for little kids the whole entire way. The violence is way too much for a sensitive kid to take for sure let alone the language. I say to know your 9 year old well, and make the choice based on maturity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybtoc007 December 28, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Retard kid misses plane

The only bad thing in this movie is the violence. The kid was being a idiot so his parents forgot to bring him on vacation. So some robbers try to get in the house. But the kid is so smart that he beats fully grown men.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 10, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byjonnyb7800 November 25, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous October 10, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Classic John Hughes "family comedy without the family" is perfect for kids

This is a fan-spanking-tastic movie but it does have some brief violence (Kevin watches a movie where a guy shoots a another guy, the old man whacks the burglars in the head with a shovel, some comic violence) but the language is surprisingly not bad. (sucks, hell, jerk(s), frickin') All in all, it's perfect for kids and anyone who wants to enjoy a classic John Hughes movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence

Pages